This is the "Home" page of the "Zhawar, 2nd Battle of, Soviet Afghan War, 1986" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Zhawar, 2nd Battle of, Soviet Afghan War, 1986  

Last Updated: Dec 30, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/zhawartwo Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books - Print and Ebook

DTIC offers access to professional papers, monographs that discuss the Soviet-Afghan War.

 

 

Cover Art
Afghanistan Cave Complexes, 1979-2004: mountain strongholds of the Mujahideen, Taliban & Al Qaeda - Mir Bahmanyar; Ian Palmer (Illustrator)
Call Number: 958.1047 Bahmanyar
ISBN: 9781841767765
Publication Date: 2004-10-22

Cover Art
Conflict in Afghanistan - Frank A. Clements; Ludwig W. Adamec
Call Number: 958.1003 A197
ISBN: 1851094024
Publication Date: 2003-12-02
See pp. 281-282, "Zhawar, Battle of (1986)"

Mountain Warfare and Other Lofty Problems: Foreign Perspectives on High-Altitude Combat - Grau, Lester W ; Bartles, Charles K
Publication Date: 2011
See Chapter entitled: "The Campaign for the Caves:
The Battles for Zhawar in the Soviet Afghan War." -- This is the same article that appeared in the Journal of Slavic Military Studies, 2001.

The other side of the mountain : Mujahideen tactics in the Soviet-Afghan War - by Ali Ahmad Jalali and Lester W. Grau ; introduction by John E. Rhodes.
Call Number: 958.1045 J34
Publication Date: 1999
See Chapter 11: Defending Base Camps, vignettes 10 and 11.

Cover Art
The Soviet-Afghan War, 1979-89 - Gregory Barnes
Call Number: 958.1045 Fremont-Barnes 2012
ISBN: 1849088055
Publication Date: 2012-11-20

Cover Art
The Soviet-Afghan War: How a Superpower fought and lost - Lester W. Grau (Editor, Translator); Michael A. Gress (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: 958.1045 S7296
ISBN: 070061186x
Publication Date: 2002-02-05

Professional Papers

DTIC offers access to professional papers, monographs that discuss the Soviet-Afghan War.

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip