This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Tippecanoe, 7 November 1811. " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Tippecanoe, 7 November 1811.  

Also called the Battle of Prophetstown.
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/tippecanoe Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journal Articles

Access Indiana Magazine of History, online journal, for journal articles describing the Battle of Tippecanoe. http://scholarworks.iu.edu/journals/index.php/imh/index

Staff Ride materials, CMH publications

 

Books - Print and Ebook

See Librarian for access options for Ebrary and EBSCOhost SSI Collections

Cover Art
100 Decisive Battles: from ancient times to the present - Paul K. Davis
Call Number: 904.7 D263
ISBN: 0195143663
Publication Date: 2001-06-14
see article: Prophetstown (Tippecanoe) (1811)

Cover Art
America's First Crisis: the War of 1812 - Robert Watson
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 1438451342
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
See Chapter: Tippecanoe and the Course of History

Cover Art
The American Indian Wars - John Trebbel and Keith Jennison
Call Number: 973 Tebbel
Publication Date: 1960
See chapter: Tecumseh and his war. Index: Tippecanoe.

Cover Art
At the headwaters fo the Maumee: a history of the forts of Fort Wayne - Paul Woehrmann with an introduction by Richard C. knopf
Call Number: 977.2 Woehrmann 1971
Publication Date: Indianapolis: Indiana Historical Society, 1971
for Tippecanoe, see p. 207, 208-210, 221. for contextual reading, see entries for The Prophet (Tenskwatawa) and Tecumseh.

Cover Art
Battle of Tippecanoe Historial Sketches - Reed Beard
Call Number: ONLINE - Indiana University
Publication Date: Chicago Donohue & Henneberry, 1889
From the Digital repository: Indiana Authors and their books. Indiana University

Cover Art
Battles That Changed American History: 100 of the greatest victories and defeats - Spencer C. Tucker
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781440828614
Publication Date: Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, 2014.
See page 79, the Battle of Tippecanoe.

Cover Art
An Encyclopedia of Battles: accounts of over 1560 battles from 1479 BC to the present - David Eggenberger
Call Number: 904.7 E29
ISBN: 0486249131
Publication Date: 1985-09-01
see p. 437 Tippecanoe Creek

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Battles in North America: 1517-1916 - L. Edward Purcell; Sarah J. Purcell
Call Number: 970 Purcell
ISBN: 0816033501
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
see Tippecanoe, p. 275;

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the War of 1812 - David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler (Editor)
Call Number: 973.5203 Heidler 1997
ISBN: 0874369681
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Encyclopedia contains articles covering Prophet's Town, Tecumseh and Tenskwatawa.

Cover Art
The Gods of Prophetstown: the Battle of Tippecanoe and the holy war for the American frontier - Adam Jortner
Call Number: 973.5 J67 2012 and ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780199765294
Publication Date: 2011-12-12
It began with an eclipse. In 1806, the Shawnee leader Tenskwatawa ("The Open Door") declared himself to be in direct contact with the Master of Life, and therefore, the supreme religious authority for all Native Americans. Those who disbelieved him, he warned, "would see darkness come over the sun." William Henry Harrison, governor of the Indiana Territory and future American president, scoffed at Tenskwatawa. If he was truly a prophet, Harrison taunted, let him perform a miracle. And Tenskwatawa did just that, making the sun go dark at midday.

Cover Art
Indiana to 1816; the colonial period. - by John D. Barnhart & Dorothy L. Riker.
Call Number: 977.2 Barnhart 1971
Publication Date: Indianapolis, Indiana Historical Bureau, 1971.
The History of Indiana, v. 1 provides information on the formative period of Indiana history.

Cover Art
Old Tippecanoe; William Henry Harrison and his time, - by Freeman Cleaves
Call Number: 973.58092 Cleaves 1939
Publication Date: New York, C. Scribner's Sons; London, C. Scribner's Sons, 1939.
see chapter: Tippecanoe

Cover Art
Tippecanoe 1811: the Prophet's battle - John F. Winkler; Peter Dennis (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.51 Winkler
ISBN: 9781472808844
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
"The Tippecanoe Campaign of 1811 was born out of tensions provoked by American settlement on the young nation's Northwest Frontier. After the 1795 Treaty of Greenville, which defined the border between Indian and American land, there were 16 years of peace. But later treaties, which expanded the settlement area, created intolerable pressures upon the frontier. Inspired by vision of the Shawnee shaman Tenskatawa, whom Americans called the Prophet and the speeches of his famous brother Tecumseh, Indians from many tribes defied their tribal chiefs and vowed to battle the Americans. They assembled at a site known as Prophetstown in the Indiana Territory, near the mouth of the Tippecanoe river on the Wabash. Alarmed at their presence, William Henry Harrison ordered the Indians to disperse. When they refused, he led an army of US Soldiers and the Indiana Territory militiamen to the town to enforce his demands." -- from the publisher description.

Cover Art
War for the West, 1790-1813 - Harrison Bird
Call Number: 970.5 Bir
ISBN: 0195014227
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
see chapter: Tippecanoe

Cover Art
William Henry Harrison and the Conquest of the Ohio Country: frontier fighting in the War of 1812 - David Curtis Skaggs
Call Number: 973.58092 Skaggs 2014
ISBN: 1421405466
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
See chapter 2: To Tippecanoe.

Perhaps best known for the Whig slogan in 1840 - "Tippecanoe and Tyler Too" - William Henry Harrison used his efforts to pacify Native Americans and defeat the British in the War of 1812 to promote a political career that eventually elevated him to the presidency. This book focuses on Harrison's early life and military exploits.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip