This is the "Home" page of the "Tet Offensive, 1968, Vietnam War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tet Offensive, 1968, Vietnam War   Tags: tet offensive, vietnam war  

Bibliography designed to help analyze various facets and efforts of the TET Offensive, 1968.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/tet Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Center for Military History

The Center for Military History offers a comprehensive online collection of texts on the Vietnam War:

 

Vietnam War -- Economics and Business of War

Cover Art
Accounting at War :The Politics of Military Finance - Warwick Funnell; Michele Chwastiak
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHOST
ISBN: 9781138859791
Publication Date: 2015-04-06
See Chapter: The Vietnam War, performance measures and representations of reality

Cover Art
America's Economic Way of War : War and the US Economy from the Spanish-American War to the Persian Gulf War. - Hugh Rockoff
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHOST and print 330.973091 Rockoff
ISBN: 0521676738
Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Chapter 9. The Vietnam War

Cover Art
Financial Management of the Vietnam Conflict, 1962-1972. (Vietnam Studies) - Taylor, Leonard B.
Call Number: 353.62 Taylor
Publication Date: 1974
Provides an account of budgeting for the war in Vietnam, by Major General Leonard B. Taylor, who played a key role in the financial management of the U.S. Army's Vietnam war activities. From July 1966 to May 1971 he served as Assistant Director and subsequently Director of Army Budget in the Office of the Comptroller of the Army

Cover Art
Financial stability : fraud, confidence and the wealth of nations - Frederick L. Feldkamp and R. Christopher Whalen
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781118935798
Publication Date: 2014
"Describes the economic, political and legal antecedents of financial crises in the western market economies. By describing how these events developed in the past and how the markets can be used to gauge the threat of future contagion, the book provides a roadmap for how we can avoid financial disruptions and thereby maximize financial stability and economic prosperity"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Lessons of Vietnam - W. Scott Thompson (Editor); D. D. Frizzell (Editor)
Call Number: 959.7043 Thompson 1977
ISBN: 084480973x
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Chapter XII: Costing the War, pp. 199 ff.

Cover Art
The Military's Business : designing military power for the future - Mikkel Vedby Rasmussen
Call Number: 355.020973 Rasmussen 2014
ISBN: 1107477352
Publication Date: 2015-03-05
If the military were a business would you buy shares? Over recent years, Western armed forces, particularly the US, have been costing more yet achieving less. At the same time, austerity measures are reducing defence budgets. This book uses defence data to examine the workings of modern Western militaries and explore what kind of strategies can overcome this gap between input and output. Instead of focusing on military strategy, Mikkel Vedby Rasmussen seeks to draw on the ideas of business strategy to assess alternative business cases - reforming military HR to combat instability in the 'Global South' or utilising new technologies to overcome the prohibitive costs of current systems. Analysing the philosophical, strategic and budgetary underpinnings of these alternatives, he concludes that a more radical break from current military organisational practices is needed which would allow them to fit within a nation's overall national security system without ever-increasing budgets"-- Provided by publisher

Cover Art
Secretaries of Defense Historical Series, Volume VI: Mcnamara, Clifford, and the Burdens of Vietnam 1965-1969 - Edward J. Drea; Defense Dept. (U.S.) Staff (Editor)
Call Number: 353.609 History and ONLINE Department of Defense Historical Series
ISBN: 0160881358
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
VI. Secretaries of Defense Historical Series. Washington, D.C.: Historical Office, 2011. See Chapter IX. “Bills Come Do: Budgets and Supplements, 1968-1970.”

 

TET Offensive, 1968: histories: books, print and online

Cover Art
A History of War in 100 Battles - Richard Overy
Call Number: 355.0209 Overy 2014
ISBN: 0199390711
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Chapter 4, Deception. TET Offensive.

Cover Art
A Shau Valor : American Combat Operations in the Valley of Death, 1963-1971. - Thomas Yarborough
Call Number: 959.704342 Yar 2016
ISBN: 9781612003542
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Into the Valley of Death -- The rise and fall of Camp A Shau -- Project Delta invades the A Shau -- SOG: west of the A Shau -- Annus Horribilis: 1968 -- Operation Dewey Canyon -- Eleven times up Hamburger Hill -- Ripcord: valor in defeat -- A Shau fini: the ninth year -- A bard for the grunts.

Cover Art
A Soldier Reports - William C. Westmoreland
Call Number: 959.704 Wes
ISBN: 0385004346
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Chapter XVII: Tet Offensive, p. 310 ff.

Cover Art
Battle for Hue: Tet, 1968 - Keith W. Nolan
ISBN: 0891411984
Publication Date: 1984-04-01
Though the jungle fighting of the Vietnam War has been closely examined, the in-city, house-to-house combat characterized by the Battle for Hue during Tet 1968 had never been covered extensively before the publication of this debut by now-well-known Vietnam War chronicler Keith William Nolan. It was an agonizing struggle to wrest the entrenched and well-supplied enemy from the Imperial City. Block by block, house by house, United States Marines achieved that difficult objective, exhibiting the courage, daring, and camaraderie for which they are renowned. It was a brutal month-long fight, epitomizing the difficulties the "grunts" endured throughout the war. Nolan dismissed the negative stories and disparaging charges made against Vietnam veterans in general - drugs, desertion, unnecessary and wholesale slaughter - and set about interviewing veterans of the fighting at Hue, studying the available literature and researching the archives in order to present an accurate picture of "what the American grunt went through in Vietnam".

Cover Art
Fire in the Streets: the battle for Hue, Tet 1968 - Eric Hammel
Call Number: 959.704 H224f
ISBN: 9780935553574
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
The focus of the story is on small units and individual fighting men as they grapple with advancing through the unfamiliar terrain across an urban battlefield.

Cover Art
Illustrated History of the Vietnam War - Chris McNab; Andy Wiest
Call Number: 959.704 M169
ISBN: 1571452664
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
See Chapter 8: The Tet Offensive

Cover Art
Lyndon Johnson and Vietnam : Unmaking of a President - Herbert Y. Schandler
Call Number: 959.7043373 Schandler 1977
ISBN: 0691022224
Publication Date: 1983-09-21
Introduction -- The decision to intervene, 1964-1965 -- The search for a strategic concept, 1965-1967 -- The eve of Tet -- The Tet Offensive and United States reaction -- Emergency augmentation -- The troop request -- The Clifford task force: A-to-Z reassessment -- The President ponders -- The climate of opinion -- Politics and economics -- End of a strategy -- The wise men -- The President makes a decision -- Continuity or change? -- Explaining the decision-making process -- Appendixes.

Cover Art
Strategy for Defeat : Vietnam in Retrospect - U. S. G. Sharp
Call Number: 959.70433 Sharp 1978
ISBN: 0891412727
Publication Date: 1986-09-01
Ch. 23: TET Offensive Erodes US peace efforts

Cover Art
Summons of Trumpet: U.S. -- Vietnam in Perspective - Dave R. Palmer
Call Number: 959.704 P173
ISBN: 0891415505
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Part IV: the Climactic Year, 1968

Cover Art
Swords and Plowshares - Maxwell D. Taylor
Call Number: 355.3310924
ISBN: 0306804077
Publication Date: 1990-08-22
See chapter 32: The Climactic Year 1968.

Cover Art
Tet Offensive 1968 - Andrew Rawson
Call Number: 959.704342 Rawson 2013
ISBN: 0752487841
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
"By the end of January 1968 the American people thought their armed forces were winning in South Vietnam after three years of escalating conflict. Then the North Vietnamese Army and Viet Cong struck back, hitting military and political targets across the country. While the NVA and Viet Cong suffered a military defeat, they dealt a huge blow to US support for the war. If you want to understand what happened and why - read Battle Story." -- From the book cover.

Cover Art
Tet Offensive 1968 : Turning Point in Vietnam - James R. Arnold
Call Number: 959.70434 Arnold 1990
ISBN: 0850459605
Publication Date: 1990-05-24

Cover Art
Tet! : The story of a battle and its historic aftermath - OBERDORFER, DON.
Call Number: 959.704 Oberdorfer 1971
Publication Date: 1971

Cover Art
The Army and Vietnam - Andrew F. Krepinevich
Call Number: 959.704 KRE
ISBN: 0801828635
Publication Date: 1986-05-01
Part II. Years of Intervention, 1965-1968 - Fourty-four Battalions across the Rubicon - A strategy of tactics - Counterinsurgency American style - The "Other War" -- Part III. Years of withdrawal, 1968-1973 - Tet: Defeat into Victory - Paths untaken, paths forsaken. Notes. Index.

Cover Art
The Generals - Thomas E. Ricks
ISBN: 9781594204043
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
Part III, Chapter 18: The Collapse of Generalship in the 1960s. Chapter 19: Tet '68: The end of Westmoreland and the turning point of the war.

Cover Art
The Lost Battalion of Tet : breakout of the 2/12th Cavalry at Hue - Charles A. Krohn
Call Number: EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781612512075
Publication Date: 2013-05-11
Tells the story of a near military disaster and the daring breakout of 2/12th Cav's break-out at Hue during the 1968 Tet offensive during the Vietnam war. This was one of the first engagements of the Tet offensive and signaled the potential of the larger Viet Cong/North Vietnamese offensive to come.

Cover Art
The Rise and Fall of an American Army : US Ground Forces in Vietnam, 1965-1973. - Shelby L. Stanton; Harry G. Summers (Foreword by)
Call Number: 959.704 S792
ISBN: 0891412328
Publication Date: 1985-07-01
Part Four: 1968. Year of Crises; Battles of Tet-68; Siege and Breakthrough; Counteroffensive.

Cover Art
The Tet Offensive - Marc Jason Gilbert; William P. Head
Call Number: 959.704 T347
ISBN: 0275954803
Publication Date: 1996-08-30
The Tet Offensive / Larry Berman -- The Tet Offensive and Sino-Vietnamese relations / John Garver -- The NLF and the Tet Offensive / Robert Brigham -- Giap and Tet Mau Than 1968 : the year of the monkey / Cecil Currey -- The Tet Offensive and its aftermath / Ngo Vinh Long -- My recollections of the Tet Offensive / Bui Diem -- The Tet Offensive and Middletown : a study in contradiction / Anthony Edmonds -- The warning that left something to chance : intelligence at Tet / John Prados -- Don't bother me with the facts, I've made up my mind : the Tet Offensive in the context of intelligence and U.S. strategy / Larry Cable -- Tet beyond the wire : TCK/TKN, the general offensive/general uprising / Robert Nourse -- The battle of Khe Sanh, 1968 / Peter Brush -- President Johnson and the decision to curtail Rolling Thunder / Mark Jacobsen -- The myth of Tet : American failure and the politics of war / Robert Buzzanco.

Cover Art
The Tet Offensive : a concise history / - James H. Willbanks
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHOST SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 0231502354
Publication Date: 2007-01-05
Begins with a historical overview of the events leading up to the offensive, the attack itself, and the consequent battles of Saigon, Hue, and Khe Sahn. Continues with a critical assessment of the main themes and issues surrounding the offensive, and concludes with excerpts from American and Vietnamese documents, maps and chronologies, an annotated list of resources, and a short encyclopedia of key people, places, and events.

Cover Art
The Tet Offensive : Intelligence Failure in War - James J. Wirtz
Call Number: 959.70438 Wirtz 1991
ISBN: 0801424860
Publication Date: 1991-12-03

Cover Art
The Tet Offensive : politics, war, and public opinion - David F. Schmitz
Call Number: 959.704342 Schmitz 2005 and ONLINE EBSCOHOST SSI Collection
ISBN: 0742544869
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
"In this new work, Historian David F. Schmitz analyzes what is arguably the most important event in the history of the Vietnam conflict. Schmitz situates the Tet Offensive in the context of American foreign policy and the state of the war up to 1968, while carefully considering the impact of the media on American public opinion. Through his up-to-date analysis of recently available sources. Schmitz works to dispel myths and clarify the central debates surrounding this pivotal event that brought an end to American escalation of the war and led to Lyndon B. Johnson's decision to withdraw from the presidential race."--Jacket.

Cover Art
The Vietnam War : The TET Offensive 1968 - Anthony Tucker-Jones
Call Number: 959.704342 Tucker-Jones and ONLINE EBSCOHOST SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 1783463627
Publication Date: 2015-02-19
On 30 January 1968 the North Vietnamese communists launched a coordinated surprise attack - the Tet Offensive - across South Vietnam against the South Vietnamese and American armies. Superior firepower eventually crushed the offensive, but it proved to be a major psychological victory for the communists - a turning point in the Vietnam War.

Cover Art
This Time We Win : Revisiting the Tet Offensive. - James S. Robbins
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 1594036489
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
James S. Robbins provides an antidote to the flawed TET mythology still shaping the perceptions of American military conflicts against unconventional enemies and haunting our troops in combat. In his re-examination of the TET Offensive, Robbins analyzes the TET battles and their impact through the themes of terrorism, war crimes, intelligence failure, troop surges, leadership breakdown, and media bias.

Cover Art
Westmoreland's War : Reassessing American Strategy in Vietnam - Gregory Daddis
Call Number: 959.704340973 Daddis 2014 and ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780199316502
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
In a groundbreaking reassessment of American military strategy in Vietnam, Gregory Daddis overturns conventional wisdom and shows how Westmoreland did indeed develop a comprehensive campaign which included counterinsurgency, civic action, and the importance of gaining political support from the South Vietnamese population. Exploring the realities of a large, yet not wholly unconventional environment, Daddis reinterprets the complex political and military battlefields of Vietnam

Professional Papers

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip