This is the "Home" page of the "Talent Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Talent Management  

Resources to help military HR professionals study talent and talent management
Last Updated: Feb 25, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/talent Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

US Army Publications and Professional Papers

Search online directly at the Strategic Studies Institute, US Army War College site: http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil/pubs/

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
     

    Ebooks, print and audio books

    EBSCOhost SSI Collection.

    For Books 24x7, login through Army E-Learning:

    Cover Art
    The Age of Insight: the quest to understand the unconscious in art, mind, and brain : from Vienna 1900 to the present - Eric Kandel
    Call Number: 154.2 Kandel
    ISBN: 1400068711
    Publication Date: 2012-03-27
    See chapter: Talent, creativity, and brain development -- .

    Cover Art
    Aha Moments in Talent Management - Mark Allen
    Call Number: ONLINE -- Books 24x7
    ISBN: 9781562869168
    Publication Date: 2014-08-07
    Using a business fable highlighting 13 talent management principles, this book provides assessment questions to evaluate the status of your organization’s talent practices and reflection questions to help YOU make a difference in your organization, regardless of your position.

    Cover Art
    The Alliance: managing talent in the networked age - Reid Hoffman; Ben Casnocha; Chris Yeh
    Call Number: Audio CD 658.3 Hoffman 2014
    ISBN: 9781483014616
    Publication Date: 2014-07-08
    The employer-employee relationship is broken, and managers face a seemingly impossible dilemma: the old model of guaranteed long-term employment no longer works in a business environment defined by continuous change, but neither does a system in which every employee acts as a free agent. The solution? Stop thinking of employees as either family or free agents. Think of them instead as allies. As a manager, you want your employees to help transform the company for the future, and your employees want the firm to help transform their careers. But this win-win scenario will only happen if both sides trust each other. Sadly, trust in the business world is hovering at an all-time low--but you can rebuild it. Coauthored by the founder of LinkedIn, this bold, practical guide for managers and executives will give you the tools you need to recruit, manage, and retain the kind of employees who will make your company thrive

    Cover Art
    The AMA Handbook of Leadership - Marshall Goldsmith; John Baldoni; Sarah McArthur
    Call Number: 658.4092 AMA
    ISBN: 081441513X
    Publication Date: 2010-01-13
    Marc Effron and Miriam Ort on the trouble with talent management, along with ideas for radically overhauling the TM and HR functions.

    Cover Art
    Bleeding Talent: how the US military mismanages great leaders and why it's time for a revolution - Tim Kane
    Call Number: 5.680973 Kane 2012
    ISBN: 0230391273
    Publication Date: 2012-12-11
    "This book will shape the debate on how to save the military from itself. The first part recognizes, indeed celebrates, what the military has done well in attracting and developing leadership talent. The book then examines the causes and consequences of the modern military's stifling personnel system, with a close look at strategic failures in Iraq and Afghanistan. The book also reports a new survey of active duty officers (done by the author) that reports what is driving the best and brightest to leave the service in frustration. Solutions round out the book, grounded in an economic emphasis on market forces"-- Provided by publisher.

    Cover Art
    Common Sense Talent Management: using strategic human resources to improve company performance. - Steven T. Hunt
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
    ISBN: 1118220234
    Publication Date: 2014-01-22
    "This book explains what strategic human resources means, how it differs from other HR activities, and why it is critical to business performance. It walks through key questions for designing, deploying and integrating different strategic HR processes including staffing, performance management, compensation, succession management, and development. The book also addresses the role of technology in strategic HR, and discusses how to get companies to support, adopt, and maintain effective strategic HR processes. The book includes dozens of illustrative examples of effective and ineffective strategic HR using stories drawn from a range of companies and industries."--Summary from book.

    Cover Art
    The Future of Work: attract new talent, build better leaders, and create a competitive organization - Jacob Morgan
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
    ISBN: 111887725X
    Publication Date: 2014-08-25
    Throughout the history of business employees had to adapt to managers and managers had to adapt to organizations. In the future this is reversed with managers and organizations adapting to employees. This means that in order to succeed and thrive, organizations must rethink and challenge everything they know about work. The demographics of employees are changing and so are employee expectations, values, attitudes, and styles of working. Conventional management models must be replaced with leadership approaches adapted to the future employee. Organizations must also rethink their traditional structure, how they empower employees, and what they need to do to remain competitive in a rapidly changing world. This is a book about how employees of the future will work, how managers will lead, and what organizations of the future will look like. --

    Cover Art
    Grit to Great: how perseverance, passion, and pluck take you from ordinary to extraordinary - Linda Kaplan Thaler; Robin Koval
    Call Number: 650.1 Thaler
    ISBN: 0804139121
    Publication Date: 2015-09-08
    And Linda and Robin should know--they are two girls from the Bronx who had no special advantages or privileges and rose up through their own hard work and relentless drive to succeed to the top of their highly competitive profession. In a book illustrated with a cornucopia of stories and the latest research on success, the authors reveal the strategies that helped them, and countless others, succeed at the highest levels in their careers and professions, and in their personal lives.

    Cover Art
    How Google Works - Eric Schmidt; Jonathan Rosenberg; Larry Page (Foreword by); Alan Eagle (As told to)
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
    ISBN: 1455582344
    Publication Date: 2014-09-23
    The authors explain how technology has shifted the balance of power from companies to consumers, and that the only way to succeed in this ever-changing landscape is to create superior products and attract a new breed of multifaceted employees whom Eric and Jonathan dub "smart creatives." Covering topics including corporate culture, strategy, talent, decision-making, communication, innovation, and dealing with disruption, the authors illustrate management maxims ("Consensus requires dissension," "Exile knaves but fight for divas," "Think 10X, not 10%") with numerous insider anecdotes from Google's history, many of which are shared here for the first time.

    Cover Art
    The Innovators - Walter Isaacson
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
    ISBN: 1410474976
    Publication Date: 2015-01-07
    Following his blockbuster biography of Steve Jobs, The Innovators is Walter Isaacson's revealing story of the people who created the computer and the Internet. It is destined to be the standard history of the digital revolution and an indispensable guide to how innovation really happens.What were the talents that allowed certain inventors and entrepreneurs to turn their visionary ideas into disruptive realities? This is the story of how their minds worked and what made them so inventive. It's also a narrative of how their ability to collaborate and master the art of teamwork made them even more creative. For an era that seeks to foster innovation, creativity, and teamwork, The Innovators shows how they happen.

    Cover Art
    Managing Generation X: how to bring out the best in young talent - Bruce Tulgan
    Call Number: 658.3 T917
    ISBN: 1563431114
    Publication Date: 1995-07-01

    Cover Art
    The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey - Ken Blanchard
    Call Number: 658.4092 B639
    ISBN: 0688067670
    Publication Date: 1989-11-28
    One simple idea can set you free: Don't take on a problem if it isn't yours! One of the most liberating books in the extraordinary One Minute Manager Library teaches managers an unforgettable lesson: how to have time to do what they want and need to do. The authors tell why managers who accept every problem given them by their staffs become hopeless bottlenecks. With a vivid, humorous, and too-familar scenario they show a manager loaded down by all the monkeys that have jumped from their rightful owners onto his back. Then step by step they show how managers can free themselves from doing everyone else's job and ensure that every problem is handled by the proper staff person. By using Oncken's Four Rules of Monkey Management managers will learn to become effective supervisors of time, energy, and talent -- especially their own. If you have ever wondered why you are in the office on the weekends and your staff is on the golf course, The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey is for you. It's priceless!

    Cover Art
    Outliers: The Story of Success - Malcolm Gladwell
    Call Number: 302 G543
    ISBN: 9780316017923
    Publication Date: 2008-11-18

    Cover Art
    Practical Genius: the real smarts you need to get your talents and passions working for you - Gina Amaro Rudan; Joyce Bean (Narrated by)
    Call Number: Audio CD 158.1 Rudan
    ISBN: 1452634467
    Publication Date: 2011-10-17
    Gina Rudan presents a guide for each of us to tap into our hidden capacity for genius and put it to work for extraordinary success.

    Cover Art
    Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking - Susan Cain
    Call Number: 155.232 Cain 2012
    ISBN: 0307352153
    Publication Date: 2013-01-29
    This book demonstrates how introverted people are misunderstood and undervalued in modern culture, charting the rise of extrovert ideology while sharing anecdotal examples of how to use introvert talents to adapt to various situations. At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled "quiet," it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society, from van Gogh's sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer. Filled with indelible stories of real people, this book shows how dramatically we undervalue introverts, and how much we lose in doing so.

    Cover Art
    The rise of HR : wisdom from 73 thought leaders - editors Dave Ulrich, William A. Schiemann and Libby Sartain
    Call Number: 658.3 Ulrich
    ISBN: 9781329018310
    Publication Date: Alexandria, Va. HR Certification Institute, [2015]
    Context to Strategy -- Organization -- Talent Supply -- Talent Optimization -- Information and Analytics -- HR Governance -- HR Professionals -- Conclusion.

    Cover Art
    Sons of the Father: George Washington and his Protégés - Robert M. S. McDonald (Editor)
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
    ISBN: 0813934389
    Publication Date: 2013-09-24
    Afterword : unanticipated challenges and unexpected talents : leadership and the colonial matrix / Jack P. Greene.

    Cover Art
    Staffing Organizations - Herbert G. Heneman; Timothy A. Judge; John Kammeyer-Mueller
    Call Number: 658.311 Heneman
    ISBN: 0077862414
    Publication Date: 2014-02-12

    Cover Art
    Strategy-Driven Talent Management: a leadership imperative - Robert F. Silzer; Ben E. Dowell (Editor); Rob Silzer (Editor)
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
    ISBN: 0787988472
    Publication Date: 2009-11-23
    A Publication of the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology. "Talent is the key to successful execution of a winning business strategy."

    Cover Art
    StrengthsFinder 2.0 - Tom Rath
    Call Number: 658.409 Rath 2007
    ISBN: 159562015X
    Publication Date: 2007-02-01
    To help people uncover their talents, Gallup introduced the first version of its online assessment, StrengthsFinder, in the 2001 management book Now, Discover Your Strengths. The book has spent more than five years on bestseller lists and ignited a global conversation, while StrengthsFinder has helped millions discover their top five talents. In StrengthsFinder 2.0, Gallup unveils the new and improved version of its popular assessment and much more. Loaded with hundreds of strategies for applying your strengths, this new book and accompanying website will change the way you look at yourself-- and the world around you--forever

    Cover Art
    Superforecasting: the art and science of prediction - Philip E. Tetlock; Dan Gardner
    Call Number: 303.49 Tetlock
    ISBN: 9780804136693
    Publication Date: 2015-09-29
    However, an important and underreported conclusion of that study was that some experts do have real foresight, and Tetlock has spent the past decade trying to figure out why. What makes some people so good? And can this talent be taught? In Superforecasting, Tetlock and coauthor Dan Gardner offer a masterwork on prediction, drawing on decades of research and the results of a massive, government-funded forecasting tournament.

    Cover Art
    The Talent Management Handbook - Dorothy Berger; Lance A. Berger
    Call Number: ONLINE -- Books 24x7
    ISBN: 9780071739054
    Publication Date: 2010-12-01
    Filled with key insights from renowned HR thought leaders and CEOs, this definitive all-in-one guide is designed to help you place the best people in the most critical jobs to assemble the building blocks of organizational excellence and create value--one person at a time.

    Cover Art
    Talent Management: Strategies for Success from Six Leading Companies - Larry Israelite
    Call Number: ONLINE - Books 24x7
    ISBN: 9781562866778
    Publication Date: 2009-12-16

    Cover Art
    Team of Rivals - Doris Kearns Goodwin
    Call Number: 973.7092 G6561
    ISBN: 9780684824901
    Publication Date: 2005-10-25
    That Lincoln succeeded, Goodwin demonstrates, was because of his extraordinary ability to put himself in the place of other men, to experience what they were feeling, to understand their motives and desires. It was this that enabled Lincoln to bring his disgruntled opponents together, create the most unusual cabinet in history, and marshal their talents to the task of preserving the Union.

    Cover Art
    The Value of Talent: Promoting Talent Management Across the Organization - Janice Caplan
    Call Number: ONLINE -- Books 24x7
    ISBN: 9780749459840
    Publication Date: 2011-01-15
    Providing a clear explanation of what talent management is and how it benefits companies, this book covers the key areas crucial to implementing effective talent management, including: succession planning, creating talent pools, working globally, and measuring and evaluating strategies.

    Cover Art
    What Millennials Want from Work: how to maximize engagement in today's workforce - Jennifer J. Deal; Alec Levenson
    Call Number: 658.3 Deal
    ISBN: 0071842675
    Publication Date: 2016-01-01
    Millennials are the future of your business. How can managers and leaders of organizations better engage them to gain a competitive advantage? This book explains who Millennials really are, and offers practical advice to help those who manage, lead, and work with Millennials to improve teamwork, increase productivity, strengthen organizational culture, and build a robust talent pipeline.--book jacket

    Cover Art
    What the Dog Saw - Malcolm Gladwell
    Call Number: 814.6222 Gladwell 2009 and Audio CD 814.6222 Gladwell 2009
    ISBN: 0316075841
    Publication Date: 2009-10-20
    See chapter: The talent myth : are smart people overrated?

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip