This is the "Home" page of the "SSI Commander’s 2013 Professional Reading Program " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SSI Commander’s 2013 Professional Reading Program   Tags: professional military reading program resources.  

The Program uses the ten (10) books listed below as the basis for the CY 2013 Commander’s Professional Reading Program. The entire list of ten is recommended for individual and/ or organizational professional development programs.
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/ssicgreadinglist Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Audio/Video presentations for CG Reading Program Titles

 

Reading Program Titles

Cover Art
The New American Militarism - Andrew J. Bacevich
Call Number: 355.02 B117 SSI Library
ISBN: 0195173384
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Online edition available at SSI through Ebrary ebook database.

Print copy available at Thomas Lee Hall Library:
355.02 BACEVICH 2005
Ft. Jackson Non-fiction

Cover Art
The Generals - Thomas E. Ricks
Call Number: 355.0922 R539g SSI Library
ISBN: 9781594204043
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
Print copy also available at Thomas Lee Hall Library.
355.0097 RICKS
Ft. Jackson Professional Military Reading

Audio copy available at OneClickDigital -- logon via AKO or Army Libraries Catalog.

Cover Art
1776 - David McCullough (Read by)
Call Number: 973.3 M4788 SSI Library
ISBN: 0743544234
Publication Date: 2005-05-24
Audio and print copies available at both SSI and Thomas Lee Hall Library.

For Thomas Lee Hall Library
973.3 MCCULLOUGH
Ft. Jackson Professional Military Reading
Ft. Jackson Kits

Cover Art
The Good Soldiers - David Finkel
Call Number: 956.7044 F4995 SSI Library
ISBN: 9780374165734
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Print copies also available at Thomas Lee Hall Library:
956.7044 FINKEL 2009
Ft. Jackson Professional Military Reading

Cover Art
The Fourth Star - Greg Jaffe; David Cloud
Call Number: 355.0092 C6471 SSI Library
ISBN: 9780307409065
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Print copy is also available at the Thomas Lee Hall Library:
920 CLOUD and 355.0092 CLOUD 2009
Ft. Jackson Professional Military Reading

Cover Art
Dereliction of Duty - H. R. McMaster
Call Number: 959.704 M167 SSI Library
ISBN: 0060187956
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Print copy is also available at the Thomas Lee Hall Library:
959.704 MCMASTER
Ft. Jackson Professional Military Reading

Cover Art
Nineteen Stars - Edgar F. Puryear; Forrest C. Pogue (Foreword by)
Call Number: 355.33041 P985 SSI Library
ISBN: 0891411488
Publication Date: 2003-10-07
Print copy is also available at Thomas Lee Hall Library:
355.33041 PURYEAR
Ft. Jackson Professional Military Reading

Cover Art
The Moral Warrior - Martin L. Cook
Call Number: 172.420973 C7711 SSI Library
ISBN: 0791462420
Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Cover Art
The Long Road Home - Martha Raddatz
Call Number: 956.7044 R125 SSI Library
ISBN: 0399153829
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Print copy also available at the Thomas Lee Hall Library:
956.7044 RADDATZ Ft. Jackson Non-fiction

Cover Art
That Used to Be Us - Thomas L. Friedman; Michael Mandelbaum
Call Number: 973.932 2012
ISBN: 0374288909
Publication Date: 2011-09-05
Print copy is also available at the Thomas Lee Hall post library.
973.932 FRIEDMAN Fort Jackson Professional Reading

Audio (Overdrive WMA) available from the Army Digital Media Library.

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip