This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Ramadi, 2006" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Ramadi, 2006   Tags: 2003-2011., 2006. awakening. iraq war, battle of ramadi  

Resources to study the Iraq War and Battle of Ramadi, 2006
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/ramadi Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Interviews -- Operational Leadership Experiences

Journal Articles and Professional Papers

 

Ebooks on Ramadi and Al Anbar Province

EBRARY -- SSI Collection.  Available at US Army Soldier Support Institute.

RAND publications -- open access.

Cover Art
A Tactical Ethic : moral conduct in the insurgent battlespace - Dick Couch
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 1591141370
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Following the success of his recent book on Navy SEALs in Iraq, The Sheriff of Ramadi, bestselling author and combat veteran Dick Couch now examines the importance of battlefield ethics in effectively combating terrorists without losing the battle for the hearts of the local population. A former SEAL who led one of the only successful POW rescue operations in Vietnam, Couch warns that the mistakes made in Vietnam forty years ago are being repeated in Iraq and Afghanistan, and that the stakes are even higher now. His book takes a critical look at the battlefield conduct of U.S. ground-combat

Cover Art
Awakening Victory : how Iraqi tribes and American troops reclaimed Al Anbar Province and defeated Al Qaeda in Iraq - Michael E. Silverman
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9781612000626
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
"[The book] tells the story of this ... campaign through the eyes of the commander of the 3rd Battalion, who was right in the thick of the fight. The book also provides a description of the Iraqi insurgency-- particularly al Qaeda in Iraq ... The author uses the actions of his battalion to describe a paradigm shift that occurred, while in a totally foreign culture, which allowed for a move from a war of bombs and bullets to one of partnership and ideas"--Jacket.

Cover Art
Confronting Al Qaeda - Martha L. Cottam; Joe W. Huseby; Bruno Baltodano (As told to)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 1442264853
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Based on in-depth interviews with tribal Sheiks involved in the Awakening and their American military counterparts, Confronting al Qaeda is a study of decision-making processes and the political psychology of the Sunni Awakening in al Anbar. It traces the change in American military strategy that made the Awakening collaboration between the Sunni tribes and the U.S. forces possible.

Cover Art
Counterinsurgency in Iraq (2003-2006) - Bruce Pirnie; Edward O'Connell
Call Number: ONLINE RAND
ISBN: 0833045849
Publication Date: 2008-01-25

Cover Art
From Insurgency to Stability - Angel Rabasa
Call Number: ONLINE RAND
ISBN: 0833053175
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This book examines six case studies of insurgencies from around the world to determine the key factors in the successful transition from counterinsurgency toward stability.

Cover Art
Hearts and Mines : with the Marines in Al Anbar : a story of psychological warfare in Iraq. - Russell Snyder
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9781612001050
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
"These are my memories of life as a member of one of the United States Army's three-man Tactical Psychological Operations Teams (TPTs). While attached in support of the U.S. Marine Corps' Third Battalion, Second Marines, and Third Battalion, Twenty-Fifth Marines, operating along the Euphrates river valley in western Iraq's Anbar desert during the spring and summer of 2005, I witnessed what was at the time some of the most vicious counterinsurgency fighting of Operation Iraqi Freedom since Fallujah. I do not claim to be a historian, or even to have been privy to the big picture of the war reserved for the generals and their staff. Nothing I did was heroic or changed the course of history or any battle. Mine was the perspective of a low-ranking sergeant, isolated from the media's reports and influenced by the stresses of fatigue, fear, and moral uncertainty. ... But as for the memories of one soldier who was there, what follows is what really happened."--Preface, p. 12.

Cover Art
Innovation, Transformation, and War : counterinsurgency operations in Anbar and Ninewa, Iraq, 2005-2007 - James A. Russell
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9780804773102
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Theories of military innovation -- Wartime innovation in western Anbar, Fall 05-Summer 06 -- Wartime innovation in Anbar : the battle for Ramadi, July 2005-March 2007 -- Wartime innovation in Ninewa Province : COIN operations in northern Iraq, September 2005-July 2006.

Cover Art
Rage Company : a Marine's baptism by fire - Thomas P. Daly
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9780470444306
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
One Marine's gripping story of the bloody battles, the Surge, and the Awakening of Sunni tribes that changed the tide in Iraq's Anbar province.

Cover Art
Saber's Edge : a combat medic in Ramadi, Iraq - Thomas A. Middleton
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9781584657477
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
A combat medic reconciles his roles as a soldier, healer, and man of faith in a time of war.

Cover Art
The Marines Take Anbar : the four-year fight against al Qaeda - Richard H. Shultz
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9781612511405
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
This book brings to light all the decisive details of how the Marines, between 2004 and 2008, adapted and improvised as they applied the hard lessons of past mistakes. In March 2004, when part of the 1st Marine Expeditionary Force (I MEF) was deployed to Anbar Province in the heart of the Sunni triangle, the Marines quickly found themselves locked in a bloody test of wills with al Qaeda, and a burgeoning violent insurgency. By the spring of 2006, according to all accounts, enemy violence was skyrocketing, while predictions for any U.S. success were plummeting. But at that same time new counterinsurgency initiatives were put in place when I MEF returned for its second tour in Anbar, and the Marines began to gain control. By September 2008 the fight was over. Richard Shultz, a well-known author and international security studies expert, has thoroughly researched this subject. His book effectively argues the case for the Marines changing the course of the war at Anbar, which is contrary to the conventional wisdom that the Surge was the turning point.

Cover Art
The Sheriff of Ramadi : Navy SEALs and the winning of al-Anbar - Dick Couch; John McCain (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 1591141478
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
Anbar Province between 2005 and 2007. When he began his research, the author thought he would be writing about the SEALs courage in the face of a losing cause. Instead, he discovered a startling success story whose importance has gone unrecognized in the war against al-Qaeda. Couch argues that the lessons of Ramadi, with SEALs fighting alongside regular forces in an urban war zone, call for using this strategy more widely

Cover Art
Why We Lost: A General's Inside Account of the Iraq and Afghanistan Wars - Daniel P. Bolger
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI COLLECTION
ISBN: 9780544370487
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Over a thirty-five year career, Daniel Bolger rose through the army infantry to become a three-star general, commanding in both theaters of the U.S. campaigns in Iraq and Afghanistan. He participated in meetings with top level military and civilian players, where strategy was made and managed. At the same time, he regularly carried a rifle alongside rank-and-file soldiers in combat actions, unusual for a general. Now, as a witness to all levels of military command, Bolger offers a unique assessment of these wars, from 9/11 to the final withdrawal from the region. Writing with hard-won experience and unflinching honesty, Bolger makes the firm case that in Iraq and in Afghanistan, we lost -- but we didn't have to. Intelligence was garbled. Key decision makers were blinded by spreadsheets or theories. And, at the root of our failure, we never really understood our enemy. Why We Lost is a timely, forceful, and compulsively readable account of these wars from a fresh and authoritative perspective.

 

Print Books : Iraq War, 2003-2011 & Ramadi and Al Anbar Province

Cover Art
Beating Goliath : Why Insurgencies Win - Jeffrey Record
Call Number: 355.0218 Record
ISBN: 9781597970907
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
"Beating Goliath examines the phenomenon of victories by the weak over the strong -- more specifically, insurgencies that succeeded against great powers. Jeffrey Record reviews eleven insurgent wars from 1775 to the present and determines why the seemingly weaker side won. He concludes that external assistance correlates more consistently with insurgent success than any other explanation." -- from the book cover.

Cover Art
Cobra II : the inside story of the invasion and occupation of Iraq - Michael R. Gordon; Bernard E. Trainor
Call Number: 956.70443 G6643
ISBN: 0375422625
Publication Date: 2006-03-14
This is the definitive chronicle of America's invasion and occupation of Iraq--a conflict that could not be lost but one that the United States failed to win decisively. From the Pentagon to the White House to the American command centers in the field, the book reveals the inside story of how the war was actually planned and fought. Drawing on classified United States government intelligence, it traces the interactions among the generals, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld, and President George W. Bush; provides an account of how Saddam Hussein and his high command developed and prosecuted their war strategy; reconstructs the principal battles from interviews with those who fought them; and documents with precision the failures of American intelligence and the mistakes in administering postwar Iraq. --From publisher description.

Cover Art
The Endgame : The inside story of Struggle for Irqa, from George W. Bush to Barack Obama - Michael R. Gordon; Bernard E. Trainor
Call Number: 956.70443 Gordon 2012
ISBN: 9780307388940
Publication Date: 2013-03-12
This book is a work of investigative journalism and historical recreation ranging from 2003 to 2012, giving a comprehensive, inside account of arguably the most widely reported yet least understood war in American history, from the occupation of Iraq to the withdrawal of American troops. Provides a blow-by-blow chronicle of the fighting, but also deftly pieces together the puzzle of the prosecution of American, Iraqi, and Iranian objectives, and the diplomatic intrigue and political struggle within Iraq since the American invasion.

Cover Art
Surge : my journey with General David Petraeus and the remaking of the Iraq War - Peter R. Mansoor; David H. Petraeus (Foreword by)
Call Number: 956.7044340973 Mansoor 2013
ISBN: 0300172354
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Finalist for the 2013 Guggenheim Prize in Military History; runner-up for the 2013 SOuthern California Book Festival; honorable mention for the 2014 Los Angeles Book Festival in the General Non-Fiction Category.

Cover Art
The Gamble : General David Petraeus and the American military adventure in Iraq, 2006-2008 - Thomas E. Ricks
Call Number: 956.7044 R539
ISBN: 1594201978
Publication Date: 2009-02-10
Thomas E. Ricks uses hundreds of hours of exclusive interviews with top officers in Iraq and extraordinary on-the-ground reportage to document the inside story of the Iraq War since late 2005 as only he can, examining the events that took place as the military was forced to reckon with itself, the surge was launched, and a very different war began. Since early 2007 a new military order has directed American strategy. Some top U.S. officials now in Iraq actually opposed the 2003 invasion, and almost all are severely critical of how the war was fought from then through 2006. Publisher Description

Cover Art
Great Powers, Small Wars : Asymmetric conflict since 1945 - Larisa Deriglazova
Call Number: 355.0218 Deriglazova 2014
ISBN: 1421414120
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
see Chapter 4: The US War in Iraq, 2003-2011.
The War's objectives and the legitimation of the War's Cause -- The Course of the War and the Evolution of Strategies -- The War's Outcomes -- Discussion of the War's Outcome in the United states. Conclusions.

Cover Art
The Iraq War - John Keegan
Call Number: 956.70443 K262
ISBN: 1400079209
Publication Date: 2005-05-24
In exclusive interviews with Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld and General Tommy Franks, Keegan has gathered information about the war that adds immeasurably to our grasp of its causes, complications, costs and consequences. He probes the reasons for the invasion and delineates the strategy of the American and British forces in capturing Baghdad; he examines the quick victory over the Republican Guard and the more tenacious and deadly opposition that has taken its place. He then analyzes the intelligence information with which the Bush and Blair administrations convinced their respective governments of the need to go to war, and which has since been strongly challenged in both countries.

Cover Art
Ramadi Declassified : a roadmap - Anthony Deane; Kevin Dockery (Editor); Douglas Niles (Assisted by); Patricia Saxton (Cover Design by, Designed by)
Call Number: 956.7044342 Deane
ISBN: 9781943052073
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
"The Battle of Ramadi is widely considered the Gettysburg of the Iraq War, and Ramadi Declassified puts the reader into the middle of the fighting. Colonel Deane tells the powerful story of his troops' sacrifice and innovation in raw, gripping detail as he outlines both the path to success in defeating Al Qaeda, and the causes of the unraveling chaos now choking the life out of present day Iraq."

Cover Art
The Sheriff of Ramadi - Dick Couch; John McCain (Foreword by)
Call Number: 956.7044345 Couch 2008
ISBN: 9781591141471
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
The Ramadi SEALs : evolution of the warrior -- The terrain -- The first SEAL task unit in Ramadi -- The second task unit and the battle for Ramadi -- The battle turns -- The last Ramadi task unit -- Epilogue : the lesson of Ramadi.

Cover Art
A Soldier's Dream : Captain Travis Patriquin and the Awakening of Iraq - William Doyle
Call Number: 956.7044342 Doyle 2011
ISBN: 9780451236852
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Tells the story of U.S. Army captain and Arab linguist Travis Patriquin, who rallied support for a tribal revolt by Sunni Arab sheiks of Anbar province against Al Qaeda, creating a turning point that dramatically lowered area violence.

Cover Art
Why We Lost : a general's inside account of the Iraq and Afghanistan Wars - Daniel P. Bolger
Call Number: 956.70443 Bolger 2014
ISBN: 0544370481
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Over a thirty-five year career, Daniel Bolger rose through the army infantry to become a three-star general, commanding in both theaters of the U.S. campaigns in Iraq and Afghanistan. He participated in meetings with top level military and civilian players, where strategy was made and managed. At the same time, he regularly carried a rifle alongside rank-and-file soldiers in combat actions, unusual for a general. Now, as a witness to all levels of military command, Bolger offers a unique assessment of these wars, from 9/11 to the final withdrawal from the region. Writing with hard-won experience and unflinching honesty, Bolger makes the firm case that in Iraq and in Afghanistan, we lost -- but we didn't have to. Intelligence was garbled. Key decision makers were blinded by spreadsheets or theories. And, at the root of our failure, we never really understood our enemy. Why We Lost is a timely, forceful, and compulsively readable account of these wars from a fresh and authoritative perspective.

Cover Art
Wrong Turn : America's deadly embrace of counter-insurgency - Gian Gentile
Call Number: 355.02180973 Gentile 2013
ISBN: 1595588744
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
"Colonel Gian Gentile's 2008 article "Misreading the Surge" in World Politics Review first exposed a growing rift among military intellectuals that has since been playing out in strategy sessions at the Pentagon, in classrooms at military academies, and on the pages of the New York Times. While the past years of U.S. strategy in Afghanistan have been dominated by the doctrine of counterinsurgency (COIN), Gentile and a small group of dissident officers and defense analysts have questioned the necessity and efficacy of COIN--essentially armed nation-building--in achieving the United States' limited core policy objective in Afghanistan: the destruction of Al Qaeda. Drawing both on the author's experiences as a combat battalion commander in the Iraq War and his research into the application of counterinsurgency in a variety of historical contexts, Wrong Turn is a brilliant summation of Gentile's views of the failures of COIN, as well as a searing reevaluation of the current state of affairs in Afghanistan. As the issue of America's withdrawal from Afghanistan inevitably rises to the top of the national agenda, Wrong Turn will be a major new touchstone for what went wrong and a vital new guide to the way forward. Note: the ideas in this book are the author's alone, not the Department of Defense's."-- Provided by publisher.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip