This is the "Home" page of the "New Books, SSI Library, March - April 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books, SSI Library, March - April 2015  

Last Updated: Aug 3, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/newtitles042015 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ebooks -- EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost Ebooks are available for authorized patrons of the US Army Soldier Support Institute Library.

Cover Art
The Amish Way: patient faith in a perilous world - Donald B. Kraybill; Steven M. Nolt; David L. Weaver-Zercher
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0470520698
Publication Date: 2010-09-28
The Amish continue to be a source of curiosity for millions of people who are fascinated by, and sometimes attracted to, their steadfast ways. The 2006 shootings at the schoolhouse in Nickel Mines, Pennsylvania, heightened public interest in this unique people, and their extraordinary acts of compassion in the wake of that tragedy both inspired and puzzled many observers. The Amish themselves do little to satisfy this curiosity, and they trust very few outsiders to do it for them. In this follow-up to the bestselling Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy, Donald Kraybill, Steven Nolt, and DavidWeaver-Zercher shed further light on Amish life, this time on their faith and spiritual practices. The Amish Way interprets the distinctive practices of Amish spirituality in their cultural context and explores their relevance for the wider world. Drawing on interviews with Amish people, Amish publications, and firsthand experience in Amish communities, the authors tell the story of Amish religious experience with Amish voices and through their cultural lenses. In this thoughtful and sensitive book, the authors explain how Amish faith is intertwined with community and commitment, child rearing, home life, material possessions, the natural world, evil, and sorrow. The authors explore the complicated question, "Is there anything the Amish can teach the rest of us about living meaningfully in the modern world?" Written in a lively and engaging style, The Amish Way holds appeal for anyone who wants to learn more about the spiritual and religious impulse that energizes the Amish way of life.

Cover Art
Forging Freedom: Black women and the pursuit of liberty in antebellum Charleston - Amrita Chakrabarti Myers
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0807835056
Publication Date: 2011-11-14
For black women in antebellum Charleston, freedom was not a static legal category but a fragile and contingent experience. In this deeply researched social history, Amrita Chakrabarti Myers analyzes the ways in which black women in Charleston acquired, defined, and defended their own vision of freedom. Drawing on legislative and judicial materials, probate data, tax lists, church records, family papers, and more, Myers creates detailed portraits of individual women while exploring how black female Charlestonians sought to create a fuller freedom by improving their financial, social, and legal standing. Examining both those who were officially manumitted and those who lived as free persons but lacked official documentation, Myers reveals that free black women filed lawsuits and petitions, acquired property (including slaves), entered into contracts, paid taxes, earned wages, attended schools, and formed familial alliances with wealthy and powerful men, black and white--all in an effort to solidify and expand their freedom. Never fully free, black women had to depend on their skills of negotiation in a society dedicated to upholding both slavery and patriarchy. Forging Freedom examines the many ways in which Charleston's black women crafted a freedom of their own design instead of accepting the limited existence imagined for them by white Southerners"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
God in the Stadium - Robert J. Higgs
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0813158060
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
From the worship of Michael Jordan to the downfall of O.J. Simpson, it has become clear that sports and sports heroes have assumed a role in American society far out of proportion to their traditional value. In this powerful critique of present-day American popular culture, Robert J. Higgs examines the complex and increasingly pervasive control that sports wield in shaping the national self-image. He provides a thoughtful history and analysis of how sports and religion have become intertwined and offers a stinging indictment of the sports-religion-media-education complex. Beginning with the place of sports in Puritan life, Higgs traces the contributions of various individuals and institutions to the present circumstances in which sports and religion are joined. He discusses the transfer of the Puritan ideal to the New World and then moves to the revolutionary period of the national hero and manifest destiny, through the classic period of education for a sound mind in a sound body, to the imperial phase of American supremacy. In brief, sports and Christianity have followed similar paths. In the beginning they were nationalized, then Hellenized, then Romanized, and, in our own time, televised. It is a call for recognition and reevaluation of our present situation that will concern anyone interested in the future of American culture.

Cover Art
Handbook of Religion: a Christian engagement with traditions, teachings, and practices - Terry C. Muck (Editor); Harold A. Netland (Editor); Gerald R. McDermott (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 080103776X
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Overview

This comprehensive handbook provides a Christian perspective on religion and its many manifestations around the world. Written by top religion scholars from a broad spectrum of Christianity, it introduces world religions, indigenous religious traditions, and new religious movements. Articles explore the relationship of other religions to Christianity, providing historical perspective on past encounters and highlighting current issues. The book also contains articles by adherents of non-Christian religions, offering readers an insider's perspective on various religions and their encounters with Christianity. Maps, timelines, and sidebars are included.

Cover Art
A History of Russia and Its Empire: from Mikhail Romanov to Vladimir Putin - Kees Boterbloem; Steven A. Usitalo; William Benton Whisenhunt
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0742568385
Publication Date: 2013-08-28
The author assesses the tremendous price paid by those who made Russia and the Soviet Union into such a hegemonic power, both locally and globally. He considers the complex and varied interactions between Russians and non-Russians and investigates the reasons for the remarkable longevity of this last of the colonial powers, whose dependencies were not granted independence until 1991. He explores the ongoing legacies of this fraught decolonization process on the Russian Federation itself and on the other states that succeeded the Soviet Union. The only text designed and written specifically for a one-semester course on this four-hundred-year period, it will appeal to all readers interested in learning more about the history of the people who have inhabited one-sixth of the earth's landmass for centuries.

Cover Art
Learning to Forget: US Army counterinsurgency doctrine and practice from Vietnam to Iraq / David Fitzgerald. - David Fitzgerald
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0804785813
Publication Date: 2013-06-26
This book studies the impact of the lessons and legacies of the Vietnam War on the formulation of US counterinsurgency doctrine in the post Vietnam years, with particular reference to the interplay of the 'lessons of history' with doctrine.

Cover Art
Military Chaplains and Religious Diversity - Kim Philip Hansen
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781137025159
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
The book is about the way military chaplains handle religious diversity among the enlisted they serve and within their own corps. It is based on extensive in-depth interviews with more than 30 active duty chaplains, so their successes, failures and conflicts are described in their own words. The book will be of interest to military chaplains, chaplain candidates, seminarians exploring career options, and other clergy and counselors who perform institutional ministry (e.g. hospital chaplains). It will appeal to sociologists who study multiculturalism and pluralism, as well as to people with scholarly or professional interest in church/state issues, such as equal opportunity officers. It will be interesting to readers concerned with the rise of the 'religious right', the status of Islam in America, and general interest in military history and American culture.

Cover Art
Peace Be Still: modern black America from World War II to Barack Obama - Matthew C. Whitaker
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780803246935
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
"A concise, engaging, and provocative history of African Americans since World War II, Peace Be Still is also nothing less than an alternate history of the United States in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Organizing this history around culture, politics, and resistance, Matthew C. Whitaker takes us from World War II as a galvanizing force for African American activism and the modern civil rights movement to the culmination of generations of struggle in the election of Barack Obama. From the promise of the post-World War II era to the black power movement of the 1960s, the economic and political struggles of the 1970s, and the major ideological realignment of political culture during the 1980s, 1990s, and early 2000s, this book chronicles a people fighting oppression while fashioning a dynamic culture of artistic and religious expression along with a program of educational and professional advancement. A resurgence of rigid conservative right-wing policies, the politics of poverty, racial profiling, and police brutality are ongoing counterpoints to African Americans rising to political prominence and securing positions once denied them. A history of African Americans for a new generation, Peace Be Still demonstrates how dramatically African American history illuminates the promise, conflicts, contradictions, hopes, and victories that all Americans share. "-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Politics, Faith, and the Making of American Judaism - Peter Adams
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780472052059
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
"In 1862, in the only instance of a Jewish expulsion in America, General Ulysses S. Grant banished Jewish citizens from the region under his military command. Although the order was quickly revoked by President Lincoln, it represented growing anti-Semitism in America. Convinced that assimilation was their best defense, Jews sought to Americanize by shedding distinctive dress, occupations, and religious rituals. American Jews recognized the benefit and urgency of bridging the divide between Reform and Orthodox Judaism to create a stronger alliance to face the challenges ahead. With Grant's 1868 presidential campaign, they also realized they could no longer remain aloof from partisan politics. As they became a growing influence in American politics, both political parties courted the new Jewish vote. Once in office, Grant took notice of the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and he appointed more Jews to office than any president before him. Indeed, Simon Wolf, a Washington lawyer who became one of Grant's closest advisers, was part of a new generation of Jewish leaders to emerge in the post-Civil War era--thoroughly Americanized, politically mature, and committed to the modernized Judaism of the Reform movement"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Psychology of Organizational Change - Shaul Oreg (Editor); Alexandra Michel (Editor); Rune Todnem By (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781107020092
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
In a rapidly changing world, with constantly shifting dynamics, organizational change may prove essential if businesses are to continue to succeed. The majority of research on organizational change adopts a macro outlook, focusing on strategic issues from the perspective of the organization and its management. This volume presents a micro perspective, focusing on the individual and, more specifically, the importance of the employees and their reactions to organizational change, and expanding on the understanding of why change initiatives frequently fail. This book constitutes an essential resource for scholars, students, and practitioners in the field of organizational change and development who strive to understand how to make change work not only for the organization, but also for its members.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the Mountain West - Jan Shipps (Editor); Mark Silk (Editor); Philip A. Deloria (Contribution by); Kathleen Flake (Contribution by); Walter Nugent (Contribution by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780759106277
Publication Date: 2004-05-19
Huge mountain ranges and vast uninhabited areas characterize the Mountain West. Arizona and New Mexico's religious public life is still dominated by the Catholic church which was in place three centuries before these areas became U.S. states. The region is home to several dense urban centers, but there is enough space between cities for three very distinct religious cultures to develop. Religion and Public Life in the Mountain West explores these three distinct religious regions but then goes on to see how they work together and what they have in common.

Cover Art
That Religion in Which All Men Agree: Freemasonry in American Culture - David G. Hackett
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0520281675
Publication Date: 2014-01-31
This powerful study weaves the story of Freemasonry into the narrative of American religious history. Freighted with the mythical legacies of stonemasons' guilds and the Newtonian revolution, English Freemasonry arrived in colonial America with a vast array of cultural baggage, which was drawn on, added to, and transformed during its sojourn through American culture. David G. Hackett argues that from the 1730s through the early twentieth century the religious worlds of an evolving American social order broadly appropriated the beliefs and initiatory practices of this all-male society.

Cover Art
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America - Bret E. Carroll
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780415921374
Publication Date: 2000-12-28
Charting the history and geographic development of the major American religions, this atlas displays in vibrant visual detail the intimate relationship between American religion and the events that formed the nation.

Cover Art
Spirits Rejoice!: jazz and American religion / Jason C. Bivins. - Jason C Bivins
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780190230913
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Bivins examines themes such as musical creativity as related to specific religious traditions, jazz as a form of ritual and healing, and jazz cosmologies and metaphysics. Spirits Rejoice! connects Religious Studies to Jazz Studies through thematic portraits, and a vast number of interviews to propose a new, improvisationally fluid archive for thinking about religion, race, and sound in the United States. Bivins's conclusions explore how the sound of spirits rejoicing challenges not only prevailing understandings of race and music, but also the way we think about religion. Spirits Rejoice! is an essential volume for any student of jazz, American religion, or American culture.

Cover Art
Under the Eagle: Samuel Holiday, Navajo code talker - Samuel Holiday; Robert S. McPherson
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0806143894
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Samuel Holiday was one of a small group of Navajo men enlisted by the Marine Corps during World War II to use their native language to transmit secret communications on the battlefield. Based on extensive interviews with Robert S. McPherson, Under the Eagle is Holiday’s vivid account of his own story. It is the only book-length oral history of a Navajo code talker in which the narrator relates his experiences in his own voice and words. Under the Eagle carries the reader from Holiday’s childhood years in rural Monument Valley, Utah, into the world of the United States’s Pacific campaign against Japan—to such places as Kwajalein, Saipan, Tinian, and Iwo Jima. Central to Holiday’s story is his Navajo worldview, which shapes how he views his upbringing in Utah, his time at an Indian boarding school, and his experiences during World War II. Holiday’s story, coupled with historical and cultural commentary by McPherson, shows how traditional Navajo practices gave strength and healing to soldiers facing danger and hardship and to veterans during their difficult readjustment to life after the war.

Cover Art
Venezuela: what everyone needs to know / Miguel Tinker Salas. - Miguel Tinker Salas
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0199783284
Publication Date: 2015-05-04
In this concise, accessible introduction, Miguel Tinker-Salas--a native of Venezuela who has written extensively about the country--takes a broadly chronological approach to the history of Venezuela, but keeps oil and its effects on the country's politics, economy, culture, and international relations a central focus. After an introductory section that discusses the legacy of Spanish colonialism, Tinker-Salas explores the "The Era of the Gusher," a period which began with the discovery of oil in the early 1910s, encompassed the mid-century development and nationalization of the industry, and ended with a change of government in 1989 in response to widespread protests. Tinker-Salas also provides a detailed discussion of Hugo Chavez--his rise to power, his domestic, political and economic policies, and his high-profile forays into international relations. Arranged in helpful question-and-answer format that allows readers to search topics of particular interest. Convenient, engaging, and written by a leading expert on the country, Venezuela: What Everyone Needs to Know offers a lively look at an increasingly important player on the world stage.

Cover Art
The World of the New Testament: cultural, social, and historical contexts / edited by Joel B. Green and Lee Martin McDonald. - Joel B. Green (Editor); Lee Martin McDonald (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0801039622
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
"A team of distinguished specialists introduces the Jewish, Hellenistic, and Roman backgrounds necessary for understanding the New Testament and the early church"--Publisher's summary.

Cover Art
World Religions in America - Jacob Neusner
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0664258395
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Native Americans and their religions / Sam Gill -- Protestant Christianity in the world and in America / Martin E. Marty -- The religious world of African Americans / Peter J. Paris -- The Catholics in the world and in America / Andrew M. Greeley -- The religious world of Hispanic Americans / Justo L. Gonzãaalez -- Orthodox Christianity in the world and in America / Jaroslav Pelikan -- Judaism in the world and in America / Jacob Neusner -- Hinduism in India and in America / Gerald James Larson -- Buddhism in the world and in America / Malcolm David Eckel -- East Asian religions in today's America / Robert S. Ellwood -- Islam in the world and in America / John L. Esposito -- Religion and women in America / Elizabeth Fox-Genovese -- Religion and politics in America / Andrew M. Greeley -- Religion and society in America / William Scott Green.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Age of Ambition: chasing fortune, truth, and faith in the new China - Evan Osnos
Call Number: 951.06 Osnos 2014
ISBN: 9780374280741
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
A vibrant, colorful, and revelatory inner history of China during a moment of profound transformation. As the Beijing correspondent for The New Yorker, Evan Osnos was on the ground in China for years, witness to profound political, economic, and cultural upheaval. Writing with great narrative verve and a keen sense of irony, Osnos follows the moving stories of everyday people and reveals life in the new China to be a battleground between aspiration and authoritarianism, in which only one can prevail"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Castles, Battles, and Bombs: how economics explains military history - Jurgen Brauer; Hubert van Tuyll
Call Number: 355.0273 Brauer 2008
ISBN: 0226071634
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Castles, Battles, and Bombs reconsiders key episodes of military history from the point of view of economics-with dramatically insightful results. For example, when looked at as a question of sheer cost, the building of castles in the High Middle Ages seems almost inevitable: though stunningly expensive, a strong castle was far cheaper to maintain than a standing army. The authors also reexamine the strategic bombing of Germany in World War II and provide new insights into France's decision to develop nuclear weapons. Drawing on these examples and more, Brauer and Van Tuyll suggest lessons for today's military, from counterterrorist strategy and military manpower planning to the use of private military companies in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Cover Art
The Direction of War - Hew Strachan
Call Number: 355.4 Strachan 2013
ISBN: 9781107654235
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
"The wars since 9/11, both in Iraq and Afghanistan, have generated frustration and an increasing sense of failure in the West. Much of the blame has been attributed to poor strategy. In both the United States and the United Kingdom, public enquiries and defence think tanks have detected a lack of consistent direction, of effective communication, and of governmental coordination"-- Provided by publisher

Cover Art
Economic Interdependence and War - Dale C. Copeland
Call Number: 355.0273 Copeland 2015
ISBN: 9780691161594
Publication Date: 2014-11-02
"Taking a broad look at cases spanning two centuries, from the Napoleonic and Crimean wars to the more recent Cold War crises, Dale Copeland demonstrates that when leaders have positive expectations of the future trade environment, they want to remain at peace in order to secure the economic benefits that enhance long-term power. When, however, these expectations turn negative, leaders are likely to fear a loss of access to raw materials and markets, giving them more incentive to initiate crises to protect their commercial interests. The theory of trade expectations holds important implications for the understanding of Sino-American relations since 1985 and for the direction these relations will likely take over the next two decades. Economic Interdependence and War offers sweeping new insights into historical and contemporary global politics and the actual nature of democratic versus economic peace"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Employer's Legal Handbook: manage your employees & workplace effectively - Attorney, Fred S Steingold
Call Number: 344.7301 Steingold 2013
ISBN: 9781413318883
Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Hiring -- Personnel practices -- Wages and hours -- Employee benefits -- Taxes -- Family and medical leave -- Health and safety -- Illegal discrimination -- Workers with disabilities -- Termination -- Employee privacy -- Independent contractors -- Unions -- Lawyers and legal research.

Cover Art
Essentialism: the disciplined pursuit of less. - Greg McKeown
Call Number: 153.83 McKeown 2014
ISBN: 9780804137386
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Discusses a systematic discipline for discerning what is absolutely essential, then eliminating everything that is not, so you can make the highest possible contribution towards the things that really matter.

Cover Art
Fire: how fast, inexpensive, restrained, and elegant methods ignite innovation - Dan Ward
Call Number: 658.5752 Ward 2014
ISBN: 9780062301901
Publication Date: 2014-04-29
Why do some projects deliver under budget and ahead of schedule, while others cost more and take longer than expected? More important, which products work better: the quick and thrifty or the slow and expensive? In a story-filled blend of quirky pop culture and practical engineering insight, Dan Ward's F.I.R.E. answers those questions and more. Ward's extensive research and firsthand experience show how the world's top technologists consistently deliver best-in-class results on shoestring budgets and cannonball schedules, and using skeleton crews.

Cover Art
Going Big by Getting Small: the application of operational art by special operations in phase zero - Brian S. Petit
Call Number: 355.409 Petit 2013
ISBN: 9781478703853
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Going Big by Getting Small examines how the United States Special Operations Forces apply operational art, the link between tactics and strategy, in the non-wartime, steady-state environments called Phase Zero. With revised and innovative operational art constructs, US Special Operations offer scalable and differentiated strategic options for US foreign policy goals. This book analyzes light footprint special operations approaches in Yemen, Indonesia, Thailand, and Colombia.

Cover Art
Happiness: the art of livine with peace, confidence and joy - Douglas Smith; Robinlee Allen (Editor); Summerfield Advertising (Cover Design by)
Call Number: 170.44 Smith 2014
ISBN: 9780986070808
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
The author recounts his journey to better understand and practice the skills of happiness : Forgiveness, gratitude, faith, optimism, flexibility, openness, doing now what I am doing now, honoring mind/body/spirit, being altruistic, thinking with abundance, mastering our stories, finding purpose/meaning, and cherishing relationships.

Cover Art
Level Zero Heroes: a the story of U.S. Marine Special Operations in Bala Murghab, Afghanistan - Michael Golembesky; John R. Bruning
Call Number: 958.104745 Golembesky 2014
ISBN: 9781250030405
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
The author follows the members of U.S. Marine Special Operations Team 8222 on their assignment to the remote and isolated Taliban stronghold known as Bala Murghab as they conduct special operations in an effort to break the Taliban's grip on the Valley.

Cover Art
The Military's Business - Mikkel Vedby Rasmussen
Call Number: 355.020973 Rasmussen 2014
ISBN: 9781107477353
Publication Date: 2015-03-05
"If the military were a business would you buy shares? Over recent years, Western armed forces, particularly the US, have been costing more yet achieving less. At the same time, austerity measures are reducing defence budgets. This book uses defence data to examine the workings of modern Western militaries and explore what kind of strategies can overcome this gap between input and output. Instead of focusing on military strategy, Mikkel Vedby Rasmussen seeks to draw on the ideas of business strategy to assess alternative business cases - reforming military HR to combat instability in the 'Global South' or utilising new technologies to overcome the prohibitive costs of current systems. Analysing the philosophical, strategic and budgetary underpinnings of these alternatives, he concludes that a more radical break from current military organisational practices is needed which would allow them to fit within a nation's overall national security system without ever-increasing budgets"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
No Greater Valor - Jerome R. Corsi
Call Number: 940.5421 Corsi 2014
ISBN: 1595555218
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
In December of 1944, an outmanned, outgunned, and surrounded US force fought Hitler's overwhelming Panzer divisions to a miraculous standstill at Bastogne. The underdogs had saved the war for the Allies. It was nothing short of miraculous. Corsi's analysis is based on a record of oral histories along with original field maps used by field commanders, battle orders, and other documentation made at the time of the military command. With a perspective gleaned from newspapers, periodicals, and newsreels of the day, Corsi paints a riveting portrait of one of the most important battles in world history.

Cover Art
One Million Steps: A Marine platoon at war - Bing West
Call Number: 958.104745 West 2014
ISBN: 9781400068746
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Battalion 3/5 suffered the highest number of casualties in the war in Afghanistan. This is the story of one platoon in that distinguished battalion. Aware of U.S. plans to withdraw from the country, knowing their efforts were only a footprint in the sand, the fifty Marines of 3rd Platoon fought in Sangin, the most dangerous district in all of Afghanistan. So heavy were the casualties that the Secretary of Defense offered to pull the Marines out. Instead, they pushed forward. Each Marine in 3rd Platoon patrolled two and a half miles a day for six months--a total of one million steps--in search of a ghostlike enemy that struck without warning. Every day brought a new skirmish. Each footfall might trigger an IED. Half the Marines in 3rd Platoon didn't make it intact to the end of the tour. This is the story of the fifty brave men who faced these grim odds and refused to back down.--From publisher description.

Cover Art
The Organized Mind: thinking straight in the age of information overload - Daniel J. Levitin
Call Number: 153.42 Levitin 2014
ISBN: 9780525954187
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
The information age is drowning us with an unprecedented deluge of data. At the same time, we're expected to make more -- and faster -- decisions about our lives than ever before. No wonder, then, that the average American reports frequently losing car keys or reading glasses, missing appointments, and feeling worn out by the effort required just to keep up. But somehow some people become quite accomplished at managing information flow. In The Organized Mind, Daniel J. Levitin, PhD, uses the latest brain science to demonstrate how those people excel -- and how readers can use their methods to regain a sense of mastery over the way they organize their homes, workplaces, and time.

Cover Art
Religion in the Military Worldwide - Ron E. Hassner (Editor)
Call Number: 355.347 Hassner 2014
ISBN: 9781107613645
Publication Date: 2013-12-30
Part I. Rituals, beliefs, and practices. Japan / Aaron Skabelund and Akito Ishikawa -- Canada / Joanne Benham Rennick -- United Kingdom / Victor Dobbin and Stephen Deakin -- Part II. Religious demographics in the Armed Forces. Pakistan / C. Christine Fair -- Israel / Stuart A. Cohen -- Part III. Religion and military operations. Iran / Mahsa Rouhi -- India / Amit Ahuja -- Part IV. Constitutional challenges. United States I / Martin L. Cook -- United States II / Pauletta Otis -- Turkey / Ayðsegèul Komsuoæglu and Gèul M. Kurtoæglu Eskiðsar -- Conclusion: Promising themes, future approaches / Eric Patterson.

Cover Art
The Rise of Islamic State: ISIS and the new Sunni revolution - Patrick Cockburn
Call Number: 956.054 Cockburn 2015
ISBN: 9781784780401
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
"Out of the failures of Iraq and Afghanistan, the Arab Spring and Syria, a new threat emerges. While Al Qaeda is weakened, new jihadi movements, especially ISIS, are starting to emerge. In military operations in June 2014 they were far more successful than Al Qaeda ever were, taking territory that reaches across borders and includes the city of Mosul. The reports of their military coordination and brutality are chilling. While they call for the formation of a new caliphate once again the West becomes a target. How could things have gone so badly wrong? In THE RISE OF ISLAMIC STATE, Cockburn analyzes the reasons for the unfolding of US and the West's greatest foreign policy debacle and the impact that it has on the war-torn and volatile Middle East"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Russians: the people behind the power - Gregory Feifer
Call Number: 947.086 Feifer 2014
ISBN: 9781455509645
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Traversing the world's largest country, Feifer conducted hundreds of intimate conversations about everything from sex and vodka to Russia's complex relationship with the world. What emerges is a rare portrait of a unique land of extremes whose forbidding geography, merciless climate, and crushing corruption has nevertheless produced some of the world's greatest art and some of its most remarkable scientific advances.--From publisher description.

Cover Art
Saudi Arabia in Transition: insights on social, political, economic and religious change - Bernard Haykel (Editor); Thomas Hegghammer (Editor); Stéphane Lacroix (Editor)
Call Number: 306.09538 Haykel 2015
ISBN: 9780521185097
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
"Making sense of Saudi Arabia is crucially important today. The kingdom's western province contains the heart of Islam, and it is the United States' closest Arab ally and the largest producer of oil in the world. However, the country is undergoing rapid change: its aged leadership is ceding power to a new generation, and its society, dominated by young people, is restive. Saudi Arabia has long remained closed to foreign scholars, with a select few academics allowed into the kingdom over the past decade. This book presents the fruits of their research as well as those of the most prominent Saudi academics in the field. This volume focuses on different sectors of Saudi society and examines how the changes of the past few decades have affected each. It reflects new insights and provides the most up-to-date research on the country's social, cultural, economic and political dynamics"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Snow and Steel - Peter Caddick-Adams
Call Number: 940.5421 Caddick-Adams 2015
ISBN: 0199335141
Publication Date: 2014-11-28
It was Hitler's last gamble. Codenamed Herbstnebel--"Autumn Mist"--the operation was a massive counter-offensive involving half a million German soldiers in an attempt to recapture Antwerp, encircle the four Allied armies, and force a treaty that would allow Hitler to turn his attention to the Eastern front. Planned in complete secrecy and playing out between December 16, 1944 and January 15, 1945, the Battle of the Bulge, as it has come to be known, was ultimately the bloodiest battle fought by U.S. forces in World War II, and indeed the largest land battle in American history. Fighting amid freezing temperatures, deep snow, and dense fog, some 89,000 of the 610,000 American servicemen committed to the campaign were wounded or killed. The legacies of Bastogne and Malmedy--heroism and horror--continue to reverberate in the imagination of generations.-- From cover.

Cover Art
The South China Sea - Bill Hayton
Call Number: 327.59 Hayton 2014
ISBN: 9780300186833
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
China's rise has upset the global balance of power, and the first place to feel the strain is Beijing's back yard: the South China Sea. For decades tensions have smoldered in the region, but today the threat of a direct confrontation among superpowers grows ever more likely. This important book is the first to make clear sense of the South Sea disputes. Bill Hayton, a journalist with extensive experience in the region, examines the high stakes involved for rival nations that include Vietnam, India, Taiwan, the Philippines, and China, as well as the United States, Russia, and others. Hayton also lays out the daunting obstacles that stand in the way of peaceful resolution.

Cover Art
Syria: a history of the last hundred years - John McHugo
Call Number: 956.9104 McHugo 2015
ISBN: 9781620970454
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
The collapse of Syria into civil war over the past several years has spawned a regional crisis whose reverberations grow louder with each passing month. In this timely account, John McHugo seeks to contextualize the headlines by providing broad historical perspective and a richly layered analysis of a country few in the United States know or understand. The result is a rigorous narrative that explains both the creation and the unraveling of the current regime and the roots of the broader Middle East conflict.

Cover Art
There's Always Work at the Post Office: African American postal workers and the fight for jobs, justice, and equality. - Philip F. Rubio
Call Number: 331.6396073 Rubio 2010
ISBN: 9780807859865
Publication Date: 2010-05-15
Rubio, a former postal worker, brings to life the important but neglected story of African American postal workers and the critical role they played in the U.S. labor and black freedom movements. Having fought their way into postal positions and unions, black postal workers--often college-educated military veterans--became a critical force for social change. Centered on New York City and Washington, D.C., the book chronicles a struggle of national significance through its examination of the post office, a workplace with facilities and unions serving every city and town in the U.S.

Cover Art
Transforming Military Power since the Cold War - Theo Farrell; Sten Rynning; Terry Terriff
Call Number: 355.3 Farrell 2013
ISBN: 9781107621442
Publication Date: 2013-10-17
This book provides an authoritative account of how the US, British, and French armies have transformed since the end of the Cold War. Drawing on extensive archival research, hundreds of interviews, and unprecedented access to official documents, the authors examine both the process and the outcomes of army transformation, and ask how organizational interests, emerging ideas, and key entrepreneurial leaders interact in shaping the direction of military change. They also explore how programs of army transformation change over time, as new technologies moved from research to development, and as lessons from operations were absorbed. In framing these issues, they draw on military innovation scholarship and, in addressing them, produce findings with general relevance for the study of how militaries innovate.

Cover Art
The Twilight War - David Crist
Call Number: 327.73055 Crist 2012
ISBN: 9780143123675
Publication Date: 2013-07-02
Reveals the covert operations that have brought the United States and Iran to the brink of open war, including Iran's proposal for peace after 9/11, which was rejected by President Bush, and Iran's secret army in post-U.S. invasion Iraq.

Cover Art
US. Department of Defense contract spending and the industrial base, 2000-2013 / Jesse Ellman, Gregory Sanders, Rhys McCormick. - Ellman Mccor Sanders
Call Number: 355.622973 Berteau 2014
ISBN: 1442240431
Publication Date: 2014-10-16
This report analyzes contracting for products, services, and research & development (R&D) by the Department of Defense (DoD) and its key components. In provides an in-depth look at trends in DoD contracting since 2000, and provides an initial picture of the impact that sequestration has had on DoD contracting and the supporting industrial base. This fourth edition of the DoD report updates reports from previous years and provides greater breadth of analysis. The report examines trends in DoD contracting, breaking down DoD contract spending by a variety of contract and vendor characteristics. The report then uses this data to address key policy questions related to DoD contracting.

Cover Art
Whole: rethinking the science of nutrition - T. Colin Campbell; Howard Jacobson (As told to)
Call Number: 613.2 Campbell 2013
ISBN: 9781939529848
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
"The China Study" revealed what we should eat and provided the powerful empirical support for this answer. "Whole" answers the question of why. Why does a whole-food, plant-based diet provide optimal nutrition? "Whole" demonstrates how far the scientific reductionism of the nutrition orthodoxy has gotten offtrack and reveals the elegant wonders of the true holistic workings of nutrition, from the cellular level to the operation of the entire organism.

Cover Art
Writing for Museums - Margot Wallace
Call Number: 069.1 Wallace 2014
ISBN: 1442227648
Publication Date: 2014-10-06
"Whether written by administrators, staffers, freelancers, or interns, words are delivered by people in your museums with the knowledge, to be interpreted by strangers. Your story is told everywhere, and with each narration it reinforces your brand; hopefully every single word reflects your brand. If you ever wished for a good writer, right on staff, ready to take on project, major or routine, here's the help you're looking for. Writing for Museums will help all staff who write better--and result in clearer communication with and education for--all your visitors"--Provided by publisher.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip