This is the "Home" page of the "New Books, SSI Library, February 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books, SSI Library, February 2015  

Last Updated: Aug 3, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/newbooks2015feb Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ebooks

EBRARY SSI COLLECTION -- available at SSI, Fort Jackson.

Cover Art
Battles That Changed American History: 100 of the Greatest Victories and Defeats - Spencer C. Tucker
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781440828614
Publication Date: January 2014
The Battle of Okinawa (April-June 1945) resulted in more U.S. Navy casualties than all of the navy's previous wars combined; these heavy casualties influenced the decision to employ the atomic bomb against Japan that August. This is just one of many instances in American military history when the outcome of a battle helped to establish the course of history--the focus of this latest encyclopedia from esteemed historian Spencer C. Tucker. The 100 battles spotlighted in this work--which include defeats as well as victories--are deemed to have had the greatest impact on American history. Spanning more than 500 years of military events, the book begins its coverage with the Battle of Mabila in 1540 during the Age of Discovery and ends with the Second Battle of Fallujah during the Iraq War/Insurgency in 2004. Expertly written, informative, and thoughtful, this analysis will be insightful and interesting for all high school, undergraduate, and general readers.

Cover Art
Military Power: Explaining Victory and Defeat in Modern Battle - Stephen Biddle
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780691128023
Publication Date: 2006-07-23
In war, do mass and materiel matter most? The answer is yes. But this is to overlook force employment, or the doctrine and tactics by which materiel is actually used. This book provides an account of how force employment interacts with materiel to produce real combat outcomes.

Cover Art
The Road to Safwan: The 1st Squadron, 4th Cavalry in the 1991 Persian Gulf War - Stephen A. Bourque; John W. Burdan; John W. Burdan
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781574412321
Publication Date: 2007-09-06
Presents the history of the 1st Infantry Division's cavalry unit fighting in Operation Desert Storm, showing how the unit deployed, went into combat, and adapted to changing circumstances. This work describes how the officers and men moved from the routine of cold war training to leading the Big Red One in battle through the Iraqi defenses.

Cover Art
The Psychology of Organizational Change: Viewing Change from the Employee's Perspective - Shaul Oreg (Editor); Alexandra Michel (Editor); Rune Todnem By (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection & 302.34 Oreg 2013
ISBN: 9781107020092
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
In a rapidly changing world, with constantly shifting dynamics, organizational change may prove essential if businesse are to continue to succeed. The majority of research on organizational change adopts a macro outlook, focusing on strategic issues from the perspective of the organization and its management. In this volume, we undetake a micro-perspective, focusing on the individual and more specifically, the importance of employees and their reactions to organizational change. This focus expands our understanding of why change initiatives frequently fail. The Psychology of Organizational Change constitutes an essential resources for scholars, students, and practioners in the field of organizational change and development who strive to understand how to make change work not only for the organization, but also for its members.

Cover Art
Warrior's Rage: The Great Tank Battle of 73 Easting - Douglas Macgregor
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781591145059
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
MacGregor, the controversial military veteran and author of "Transformation Under Fire," recounts the inspiring tale of the valiant American soldiers who led Cougar Squadron out of a sandstorm during Operation Desert Storm.

Cover Art
Why We Lost: a General's Inside Account of the Iraq and Afghanistan Wars - Daniel P. Bolger
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection & 956.70443 Bolger 2014
ISBN: 9780544370487
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Over a thirty-five year career, Daniel Bolger rose through the army infantry to become a three-star general, commanding in both theaters of the U.S. campaigns in Iraq and Afghanistan. He participated in meetings with top level military and civilian players, where strategy was made and managed. At the same time, he regularly carried a rifle alongside rank-and-file soldiers in combat actions, unusual for a general. Now, as a witness to all levels of military command, Bolger offers a unique assessment of these wars, from 9/11 to the final withdrawal from the region. Writing with hard-won experience and unflinching honesty, Bolger makes the firm case that in Iraq and in Afghanistan, we lost -- but we didn't have to. Intelligence was garbled. Key decision makers were blinded by spreadsheets or theories. And, at the root of our failure, we never really understood our enemy. Why We Lost is a timely, forceful, and compulsively readable account of these wars from a fresh and authoritative perspective.

Cover Art
The Lost Battalion of TET: The Breakout of 2/12th Cavalry at Hue - Charles A. Krohn
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781591144342
Publication Date: 2013-05-11
Tells the story of a near military disaster and the daring breakout of 2/12th Cav's break-out at Hue during the 1968 Tet offensive during the Vietnam war. This was one of the first engagements of the Tet offensive and signaled the potential of the larger Viet Cong/North Vietnamese offensive to come.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
A History of War in 100 Battles - Richard Overy
Call Number: 355.0209 Overy 2014
ISBN: 0199390711
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Their very names--Gettysburg, Waterloo, Stalingrad--evoke images of great triumph and equally great suffering, moments when history seemed to hang in the balance. Considered in relation to each other, such battles--and others of less immediate renown--offer insight into the changing nature of armed combat, advances in technology, shifts in strategy and thought, as well as altered geopolitical landscapes. The most significant military engagements in history define the very nature of war ... Rather than focusing on the question of victory or defeat, Overy examines what an engagement can tell us on a larger level about the history of warfare itself. New weapons and tactics can have a sudden impact on the outcome of a battle--but so too can leadership, or the effects of a clever deception, or raw courage. Overy offers a deft and visually captivating look at the engagements that have shaped the course of human history."

Cover Art
Accelerate: building strategic agility for a faster-moving world - John P. Kotter
Call Number: 658.4012 Kotter 2014
ISBN: 9781625271747
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Describes how organizations can learn to move swiftly to accommodate change while still providing the necessary structures that nurture employees and long-term success.

Cover Art
The Africana Bible: reading Israel's Scriptures from Africa and the African diaspora - Valerie Bridgeman; Hugh Page
Call Number: 221.7 Africana 2010
ISBN: 9780800621254
Publication Date: 2009-11-19
The Africana Bible features a critical commentary on every book of the Hebrew Bible, the Apocrypha, and Pseudepigrapha that are authoritative for many in African and African-diasporan communities worldwide. It highlights issues of concern to the global Black community (such as globalization and the colonial legacy) and the distinctive norms of interpretation in African and African Diasporan settings

Cover Art
Culture in Chaos: An Anthropology of the Social Condition in War - Stephen C. Lubkemann
Call Number: 303.66 Lub
ISBN: 0226496414
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
"Culture in Chaos calls for a new point of departure in the ethnography of war that investigates how the inhabitants of war zones live under trying new conditions and how culture and social relations are transformed as a result. Lubkemann focuses on how Ndau social networks were fragmented by wartime displacement and the profound effect this had on gender relations. Demonstrating how wartime migration and post-conflict return were shaped by social struggles and interests that had little to do with the larger political reasons for the war, Lubkemann contests the assumption that wartime migration is always involuntary. His critical reexamination of displacement and his engagement with broader theories of agency and social change will be of interest to anthropologists, political scientists, historians, and demographers, and to anyone who works in a war zone or with refugees and migrants."--P. [4] of cover.

Cover Art
Leaders in War: West Point remembers the 1991 Gulf War - Christian Kubik (Editor); Frederick W. Kagan (Editor)
Call Number: 956.704424 Kagan
ISBN: 9780415350167
Publication Date: 2005-07-12
"Leaders in War provides first-person perspectives across the spectrum of American combat operations during the 1991 Persian Gulf War. From division commanders to platoon leaders, the authors offer an insider's view of tough leadership challenges, tragic failures and triumphant victories. Leaders in War captures the essence of the post-cold war US Army: how an all-volunteer army, equipped with new weapons systems and adjusting to new battle doctrine, mounted one of history's most successful military campaigns. Described here are the details of the tremendous logistical challenges, innovations in intelligence, ground combat operations from platoon to division, and a wide range of combat support operations."--Jacket.

Cover Art
M1 Abrams vs T-72 Ural - Steven J. Zaloga; Howard Gerrard (Illustrator); Jim Laurier (Illustrator)
Call Number: 623.74752 Zaloga 2009
ISBN: 9781846034077
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
The Gulf War bore witness to a number of deadly encounters between these two great adversaries. Heavily armoured, highly mobile, and capable of killing at over 2500m, the M1 Abrams is, to this day, a veritable fighting machine. Superior to both Iraq's Soviet era T-55 and T-62 tanks. Nearly all sources claim that no Abrams tank has ever been destroyed by enemy fire. Despite entering service in 1980, the M1 Abrams remained untested in combat until the Gulf War in 1991, where it was to be confronted by its archenemy the Iraqi-assembled Soviet-designed T-72. Entering production in 1971, the T-72 arguably outstripped its contemporaries in a balance of mobility, protection and firepower. By the time of Operation Desert Storm, however, the tables had turned and the tank suffered due to low quality ammunition and poorly trained crews. In this fascinating study, Steven Zaloga pits these two great fighting machines against one another, plotting the development of the Cold War until both tanks met in combat in the deserts of Iraq and Kuwait.

Cover Art
Military Adaptation in War: With Fear of Change - Williamson Murray
Call Number: 355.3 Murray 2011
ISBN: 9781107006591
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
"Military Adaptation in War addresses one of the most persistent, yet rarely examined, problems that military organizations confront: namely, the problem of how to adapt under the trying, terrifying conditions of war. This work builds on the volume that Professor Williamson Murray edited with Allan Millett on military innovation (a quite different problem, though similar in some respects). In Clausewitzian terms, war is a contest, an interactive duel, which is of indeterminate length and presents a series of intractable problems at every level, from policy and strategy down to the tactical. Moreover, the fact that the enemy is adapting at the same time presents military organizations with an ever-changing set of conundrums that offer up no easy solutions. As the British general, James Wolfe, suggested before Quebec: "War is an option of difficulties." Dr. Murray provides an in-depth analysis of the problems that military forces confront in adapting to these difficulties"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Mission at Nuremberg: an American Army Chaplain and the Trial of the Nazis - Tim Townsend
Call Number: 341.690268 Townsend 2014
ISBN: 9780061997198
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
This is the gripping story of the American army chaplain sent to save the souls of the Nazis incarcerated at Nuremberg. As the drama leading to the court's final judgments unfolds, the author brings Henry Gerecke's impossible moral quandary to life: How, having risked his own life (and those of his sons) to eliminate the Nazi threat, could he now win the confidence of these men? In the months after the war ended, Gerecke had visited Dachau. He had touched the walls of the camp's crematorium. He had seen the consequences of the choices these men had made, the orders they had given and carried out. As he worked to form compassionate relationships with them, how could he preach the gospel of mercy, knowing full well the devastating nature of the atrocities they had committed? And as the day came nearer when he had to escort these men to the gallows, what comfort could he offer and what promises of salvation could he make "to evil itself" Detailed, harrowing, and emotionally charged, this is an incisive history of the Nuremberg trials as well as a nuanced reflection on the nature of morality and sin, the price of empathy, and the limits of forgiveness.

Cover Art
Moments of Impact: how to design strategic conversations that accelerate change - Chris Ertel; Lisa Kay Solomon
Call Number: 303.34 Ertal 2014
ISBN: 9781451697629
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
In our fast-changing world, leaders are increasingly confronted by messy, multifaceted challenges that require collaboration to resolve. But the standard methods for tackling these challenges--meetings packed with data-drenched presentations or brainstorming sessions that circle back to nowhere--just don't deliver. Great strategic conversations generate breakthrough insights by combining the best ideas of people with different backgrounds and perspectives. In this book, two experts "crack the code" on what it takes to design creative, collaborative problem-solving sessions that soar rather than sink. Drawing on decades of experience as innovation strategists--and supported by cutting-edge social science research, dozens of real-life examples, and interviews with well over 100 thought leaders, executives, and fellow practitioners--they unveil a simple, creative process that leaders and their teams can use to unlock solutions to their most vexing issues. The book also includes a "Starter Kit" full of tools and tips for putting the book's core principles into practice.

Cover Art
No Ordinary Men: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and Hans von Dohnanyi, resisters against Hitler in church and state - Fritz Stern; Elisabeth Sifton
Call Number: 943.0860922 Sifton 2013
ISBN: 9781590176818
Publication Date: 2013-09-17
During the twelve years of Hitler's Third Reich, very few Germans took the risk of actively opposing his tyranny and terror, and fewer still did so to protect the sanctity of law and faith. In No Ordinary Men, Elisabeth Sifton and Fritz Stern focus on two remarkable, courageous men who did - the pastor and theologian Dietrich Bonhoeffer and his close friend and brother-in-law Hans von Dohnanyi - and offer new insights into the fearsome difficulties that resistance entailed.

Cover Art
The Psychology of Organizational Change: Viewing Change from the Employee's Perspective - Shaul Oreg (Editor); Alexandra Michel (Editor); Rune Todnem By (Editor)
Call Number: 302.34 Oreg 2013
ISBN: 9781107020092
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
In a rapidly changing world, with constantly shifting dynamics, organizational change may prove essential if businesse are to continue to succeed. The majority of research on organizational change adopts a macro outlook, focusing on strategic issues from the perspective of the organization and its management. In this volume, we undetake a micro-perspective, focusing on the individual and more specifically, the importance of employees and their reactions to organizational change. This focus expands our understanding of why change initiatives frequently fail. The Psychology of Organizational Change constitutes an essential resources for scholars, students, and practioners in the field of organizational change and development who strive to understand how to make change work not only for the organization, but also for its members.

Cover Art
Strange Glory: a life of Dietrich Bonhoeffer - Charles Marsh
Call Number: 230.044092 Marsh 2014
ISBN: 9780307269812
Publication Date: 2014-04-29
A portrait of the German pastor-theologian draws on new research to cover the 1930 visit to America that shaped his perspectives on faith and moral responsibility, his achievements as an anti-Nazi activist, and the plot against Hitler that would result in his execution.

Cover Art
T-54 and T-55 Main Battle Tanks 1944-2004 - Steven J. Zaloga; Hugh Johnson (Illustrator)
Call Number: 623.747520 Zaloga 2004
ISBN: 9781841767925
Publication Date: 2004-07-25
The T-54 and T-55 tanks are the most widely manufactured tanks of all time. THey have become ubiquitous to wars around the globe since the 1950s, including the Arab-Israeli wars, the Vietnam War of 1967-75, the Iran-Iraq War of 1980-88, Operation Desert Storm, the Yugoslav Civil Wars, Afghanistan and Operation Iraqi Freedom. This book examines roots of this prolific tank family, starting with the Soviet Army's first attempts to replace the legendary T-34 during World War II and covering the T-43 and the T-44, the more successful T-54 and its ultimate evolution into the T-55.

Cover Art
Victory at Risk: restoring America's military power : a new war plan for the Pentagon - Michael W. Davidson
Call Number: 355.033573 Davidson 2009
ISBN: 9780760335574
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
In plain, accessible language, General Davidson argues that protecting our readiness to win future wars around the world will require a reconsideration not only of weapons and strategy but of the national interests and obligations that compel us to stand up for ourselves. He identifies what has brought the United States victory in the past and tracks how and why our country has drifted from these precepts.

Cover Art
Warrior's Rage: The great tank battle of 73 Easting - Douglas Macgregor
Call Number: 956.7044242 Macgregor 2009
ISBN: 1591145058
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The author, the man who trained and led Cougar Squadron (2nd Squadron of the 2nd Armored Cavalry Regiment) into battle, recounts two stories. One is the inspiring tale of the valiant American soldiers, sergeants, lieutenants, and captains who fought and won the battle. The other is a story of failed generalship, one that explains why Iraq's Republican Guard escaped, ensuring that Saddam Hussein's regime survived and America's war with Iraq dragged on. Its fast-moving battle narrative is told from the vantage point of Macgregor's Abrams tank, and it gives detailed portraits of American soldiers, along with vivid descriptions of the devastating technology of mounted warfare.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip