This is the "Home" page of the "New Books, SSI Library, October 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books, SSI Library, October 2014  

Recent acquisitions, print, ebooks and audiobooks to the US Army Soldier Support Institute Library
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2014 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/newbooks102014 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ebooks and Audiobooks

EBSCOhost Ebooks are available for authorized patrons of the US Army Soldier Support Institute Library. EBSCOhost SSI Collection.

Cover Art
The Accidental Admiral: A Sailor Takes Command at NATO - A. D. M. James G. Stavridis USN (Ret.)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 359.0092 Stavridis 2014
ISBN: 9781612517049
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
After he was selected to be NATO's sixteenth Supreme Allied Commander, The New York Times described Jim Stavridis as a "Renaissance admiral." A U. S. Naval Academy graduate with a master's degree and doctorate from The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University, conversant in both French and Spanish, this author of numerous books and articles impressed the Navy's leaders and senior Pentagon civilians with his wide range of interests, educational background, keen understanding of strategic doctrine, mastery of long-range planning, and command of international affairs.

Cover Art
Armor and Blood: The Battle of Kursk: the Turning Point of World War II - Dennis E. Showalter
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 940.5421735 Showalter 2013
ISBN: 9781400066773
Publication Date: 2013-08-27
While the Battle of Kursk has long captivated World War II aficionados, it has been unjustly overlooked by historians. Drawing on the masses of new information made available by the opening of the Russian military archives, Dennis E. Showalter at last corrects that error. This battle was the critical turning point on World War II's Eastern Front. In the aftermath of the Red Army's brutal repulse of the Germans at Stalingrad, the stakes could not have been higher. More than three million men and eight thousand tanks met in the heart of the Soviet Union, some four hundred miles south of Moscow, in an encounter that both sides knew would reshape the war. The adversaries were at the peak of their respective powers. On both sides, the generals and the dictators they served were in agreement on where, why, and how to fight. The result was a furious death grapple between two of history's most formidable fighting forces--a battle that might possibly have been the greatest of all time. In Armor and Blood, Showalter re-creates every aspect of this dramatic struggle. He offers expert perspective on strategy and tactics at the highest levels, from the halls of power in Moscow and Berlin to the battlefield command posts on both sides. But it is the author's exploration of the human dimension of armored combat that truly distinguishes this book. In the classic tradition of John Keegan's The Face of Battle, Showalter's narrative crackles with insight into the unique dynamics of tank warfare--its effect on men's minds as well as their bodies. Scrupulously researched, exhaustively documented, and vividly illustrated, this book is a chilling testament to man's ability to build and to destroy. When the dust settled, the field at Kursk was nothing more than a wasteland of steel carcasses, dead soldiers, and smoking debris. The Soviet victory ended German hopes of restoring their position on the Eastern Front, and put the Red Army on the road to Berlin. Armor and Blood presents listeners with what will likely be the authoritative study of Kursk for decades to come.

Cover Art
Commanding the Storm: Civil War Battles in the words of the Generals who Fought them - John Richard Stephens
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.784 Stephens 2012
ISBN: 9780762782239
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
From Beauregard and Custer to Lee and Sherman, twelve commanders from each side vividly describe what they and their men experienced at twelve of the war's most legendary battles from Fort Sumter to Appomattox Court House in accounts gathered from letters, memoirs, reports, and testimonies. They relate noted incidents and personal triumphs and tragedies while covering strategies and explaining battlefield decisions. Trench warfare at Petersburg and Sherman's scorched earth policy in Georgia foreshadowed the world wars to come, and technological advancements-.

Cover Art
The Empire of Value: a new foundation for economics - André Orléan; M. B. DeBevoise (Translator)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 338.521 Orlean 2014
ISBN: 026202697X
Publication Date: 2014-05-30
"André Orléan challenges the neoclassical paradigm in this book, with a new way of thinking about perhaps its most fundamental concept, economic value. Orléan argues that value is not bound up with labor, or utility, or any other property that preexists market exchange. Economic value, he contends, is a social force whose vast sphere of influence, amounting to a kind of empire, extends to every aspect of economic life. Markets are based on the identification of value with money, and exchange value can only be regarded as a social institution. Financial markets, for example, instead of defining an extrinsic, objective value for securities, act as a mechanism for arriving at a reference price that will be accepted by all investors. What economists must therefore study, Orléan urges, is the hold that value has over individuals and how it shapes their perceptions and behavior."--book jacket

Cover Art
Generals of the Army: Marshall, MacArthur, Eisenhower, Arnold, Bradley - James H. Willbanks (Editor); USA (Ret.), Gordon R Sullivan (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 940.5412730922 Willbanks 2013
ISBN: 9780813142135
Publication Date: 2013-04-11
"Formally titled "General of the Army," the five-star general is the highest possible rank awarded in the U.S. Army in modern times and has been awarded to only five men in the nation's history: George C. Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Henry H. Arnold, and Omar N. Bradley. In addition to their rank, these distinguished soldiers all shared the experience of serving or studying at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, where they gained the knowledge that would prepare them for command during World War II and the Korean War. In Generals of the Army, James H. Willbanks assembles top military historians to examine the connection between the institution and the success of these exceptional men. Historically known as the "intellectual center of the Army," Fort Leavenworth is the oldest active Army post west of Washington, D.C., and one of the most important military installations in the United States. Though there are many biographies of the five-star generals, this innovative study offers a fresh perspective by illuminating the ways in which these legendary figures influenced and were influenced by Leavenworth. Coinciding with the U.S. Mint's release of a series of special commemorative coins honoring these soldiers and the fort where they were based, this concise volume offers an intriguing look at the lives of these remarkable men and the contributions they made to the defense of the nation."--Publisher's website

Cover Art
Go Wild: Free Your Body and Mind From the Afflictions of Civilization: Eat Fat, Run Free, Be Social, and Follow Evolution's Other Rules for Total Health and Well-being - John J. Ratey; Richard Manning; David Perlmutter (Foreword by); Dan Woren (Read by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 153 Ratey 2014
ISBN: 9781478930839
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
The scientific evidence behind why maintaining a lifestyle more like that of our ancestors will restore our health and well-being. In GO WILD, Harvard Medical School Professor John Ratey, MD, and journalist Richard Manning reveal that although civilization has rapidly evolved, our bodies have not kept pace. This mismatch affects every area of our lives, from our general physical health to our emotional wellbeing. Investigating the power of living according to our genes in the areas of diet, exercise, sleep, nature, mindfulness and more, GO WILD examines how tapping into our core DNA combats modern disease and psychological afflictions, from Autism and Depression to Diabetes and Heart Disease. By focusing on the ways of the past, it is possible to secure a healthier and happier future, and GO WILD will show you how.

Cover Art
The Half Has Never Been Told - Edward E. Baptist
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 306.3620973 Baptist 2014
ISBN: 9780465002962
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Americans tend to assume that modern historiography has produced a full and complete understanding of slavery in the United States, as a shameful pre-modern institution, existing in isolation from America's later success. But while we have long since rejected the idealistic depiction of happy slaves and paternalistic masters, we have not yet begun to grapple with the full extent of slavery's horrors?or its link to the expansion of the country, the political battles that caused the Civil War, or the growth of our modern capitalist economy... Until the Civil War, Baptist explains, the most important American economic innovations were ways to make slavery ever more profitable. Through forced migration and torture, slave owners extracted continual increases in efficiency from enslaved African Americans. Thus the United States seized control of the world market for cotton, the key raw material of the Industrial Revolution, and became a wealthy nation with global influence. Told through intimate slave narratives, plantation records, newspapers, and the words of politicians, entrepreneurs, and escaped slaves, The Half Has Never Been Told offers a radical new interpretation of American history. It forces readers to reckon with the violence at the root of American supremacy, but also with the survival and resistance that brought about slavery’s end—and created a culture that sustains America’s deepest dreams of freedom.

Cover Art
How Google Works - Eric Schmidt; Jonathan Rosenberg; Larry Page (Foreword by); Alan Eagle (As told to)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 338.76102504 Schmidt 2014
ISBN: 9781455582341
Publication Date: 2014-09-23
Today, Google is a global icon that regularly pushes the boundaries of innovation in a variety of fields. HOW GOOGLE WORKS is an entertaining, page-turning primer containing lessons that Eric and Jonathan learned as they helped build the company. The authors explain how technology has shifted the balance of power from companies to consumers, and that the only way to succeed in this ever-changing landscape is to create superior products and attract a new breed of multifaceted employees whom Eric and Jonathan dub "smart creatives." Covering topics including corporate culture, strategy, talent, decision-making, communication, innovation, and dealing with disruption, the authors illustrate management maxims ("Consensus requires dissension," "Exile knaves but fight for divas," "Think 10X, not 10%") with numerous insider anecdotes from Google's history, many of which are shared here for the first time.In an era when everything is speeding up, the best way for businesses to succeed is to attract smart-creative people and give them an environment where they can thrive at scale. HOW GOOGLE WORKS explains how to do just that.

Cover Art
The Innovators: How a Group of Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution - Walter Isaacson
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 004.0922 Isaacson 2014
ISBN: 9781476708690
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Following his blockbuster biography of Steve Jobs, The Innovators is Walter Isaacson's biographical story of the pioneers of the computer and the Internet. It is destined to be the standard history of the digital revolution and a guide to how innovation really works. The computer and the Internet are among the most important inventions of our era, but few people know who created them. They were not conjured up in a garret or garage by solo inventors...

Cover Art
Kindred Souls: The Friendship of Eleanor Roosevelt and David Gurewitsch - Edna P. Gurewitsch
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.9170922 Gurewitsch 2006
ISBN: 9780786131525
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
For fifteen years, Eleanor Roosevelt and her handsome doctor, David Gurewitsch, were friends, traveling, entertaining, and eventually buying a townhouse together in Manhattan. Their friendship has always intrigued historians, but not much is known about it. David kept detailed journals and took thousands of photos, but he never publicly discussed their time together. For the first time Edna Gurewitsch, David's wife, is opening up and revealing their story--and hers--after she married into their complicated relationship.

Cover Art
Lee and His Generals: Essays in honor of T. Harry Williams - Lawrence Lee Hewitt (Editor); Thomas E. Schott (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 355.0092 Hewitt 2012
ISBN: 1572338865
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
A legendary professor at Louisiana State University, T. Harry Williams not only produced such acclaimed works as Lincoln and the Radicals, Lincoln and His Generals, and a biography of Huey Long that won both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, but he also mentored generations of students who became distinguished historians in their own right. In this collection, ten of those former students, along with one author greatly inspired by Williams' example, offer incisive essays that honor both Williams and his career-long dedication to sound, imaginative scholarship.

Cover Art
My Men Are My Heroes: The Brad Kasal Story - Nathaniel R. Helms
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 956.70443092 Kasal 2012
ISBN: 9781612511368
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
My Men Are My Heroes introduces its readers to a living standard of Marine Corps esprit de corps and military decorum. Sergeant Major Bradley Kasal, the pride of Iowa, is a small town boy who wanted to be a United States Marine even before a poster perfect Marine recruiter marched into his high school gym and offered him a challenge Kasal couldn't resist. Two decades later Kasal stood stiffly at attention, one leg literally shot in half, while the Navy Cross was pinned to his chest. Kasal is currently the Sergeant Major of the Infantry School at Camp Pendleton, CA until he retires

Cover Art
One Second After - William R. Forstchen; Newt Gingrich; Joe Barrett (Narrated by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 813.54 Forstchen 2009
ISBN: 1433257025
Publication Date: 2012-01-20
A post-apocalyptic, dire and frightening all-too-possible future for humankind. When an Electro-Magnetic Pulse weapon sends the United States into chaotic ruin, one man battles to save his family and their small North Carolina town.

Cover Art
Seizing the Enigma - David Kahn
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 940.5485 Kahn 2012
ISBN: 9781591148074
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
For almost four desperate years, from 1939 to mid-1943, the British and American navies fought a savage, losing battle against German submarine wolfpacks. The Allies might never have turned the tide of that historic battle without an intelligence coup, and the race to break the German U-boat codes is one of the last great untold stories of World War II. Seizing the Enigma provides the definitive account of how British and American code breakers fought a war of wits against Nazi naval communications and helped lead the Allies to victory in the crucial Battle of the Atlantic.

Cover Art
South Asia Regional Dynamics and Strategic Concerns - Robert A. Lamb; Sadika Hameed; Kathryn Mixon
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 341.247 Lamb 2014
ISBN: 9781442228191
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
The authors of this report propose a framework for U.S. policy in South Asia centered around that cluster rather than the more common cluster of Afghanistan, Pakistan, and India. The report includes an analysis of U.S. policy priorities, contingencies, and regional dynamics in South Asia

Cover Art
Strategy: a History. - Lawrence Freedman
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 320.6 Freedom 2013
ISBN: 9780199325153
Publication Date: 2013-10-02
A History, Sir Lawrence Freedman, one of the world's leading authorities on war and international politics, captures the vast history of strategic thinking, in a consistently engaging and insightful account of how strategy came to pervade every aspect of our lives. The range of Freedman's narrative is extraordinary, moving from the surprisingly advanced strategy practiced in primate groups, to the opposing strategies of Achilles and Odysseus in The Iliad, the strategic advice of Sun Tzu and Machiavelli, the great military innovations of Baron Henri de Jomini and Carl von Clausewitz.

Cover Art
Stuff Matters: exploring the marvelous materials that shape our man-made world - Mark Miodownik
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 620.11 Miodownik 2014
ISBN: 9780544236042
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
An eye-opening adventure deep inside the everyday materials that surround us, packed with surprising stories and fascinating science

Cover Art
War Trauma and Its Wake: Expanding the Circle of Healing - Raymond Monsour Scurfield (Editor); Katherine Theresa Platoni (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 616.8521 Scurfield 2013
ISBN: 9780415506823
Publication Date: 2012-08-30
Decades after Charles Figley’s landmark Trauma and Its Wake was published, our understanding of trauma has grown and deepened, but we still face considerable challenges when treating trauma survivors. This is especially the case for professionals who work with veterans and active-duty military personnel. War Trauma and Its Wake, then, is a vital book. The editors—one a Vietnam veteran who wrote the overview chapter on treatment for Trauma and Its Wake, the other an Army Reserve psychologist with four deployments—have produced a book that addresses both the specific needs of particular warrior communities as well as wider issues such as battlemind, guilt, suicide, and much, much more. The editors’ and contributors’ deep understanding of the issues that warriors face makes War Trauma and Its Wake a crucial book for understanding the military experience, and the lessons contained in its pages are essential for anyone committed to healing war trauma.

Cover Art
The Whiskey Rebellion: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, and the frontier rebels who challenged America's newfound sovereignty - William Hogeland
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.43 Hogeland 2009
ISBN: 0743254910
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
A tale of violence, alcohol, and taxes, this story pits President George Washington and Secretary of the Treasury Alexander Hamilton against angry, armed settlers across the Appalachians. Unearthing a pungent segment of early American history, journalist and popular historian Hogeland brings to life the rebellion that decisively contributed to the establishment of federal authority. In 1791, frontier gangs with blackened faces began to attack federal officials, beating and torturing the collectors who plagued them with the first federal tax ever laid on an American product--whiskey. In only a few years, those attacks snowballed into an organized regional movement dedicated to resisting the fledgling government's power and threatening secession, even civil war. With an unsparing look at both Hamilton and Washington--and at lesser-known, equally determined frontier leaders, Hogeland offers a fast-paced account of the remarkable characters who perpetrated this forgotten revolution, and those who suppressed it.--From publisher description.

Cover Art
Will War Ever End?: a Soldier's Vision of Peace for the 21st Century - Paul K. Chappell; Dave Grossman (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 327.172 Chappell 2011
ISBN: 1935212230
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
"Captain Paul K. Chappell has given us a crucial look at war and peace from the unique perspective of a soldier, and his new ideas show us why world peace is both necessary and possible in the 21st century." Nobel Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Cover Art
Virtual Freedom: how to work with virtual staff to buy more time, become more productive, and build your dream business - Chris Ducker; Gildart Jackson (Narrated by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 658.4022 Ducker 2014
ISBN: 1494504189
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Entrepreneurs often suffer from "superhero syndrome"-the misconception that to be successful, they must do everything themselves. They are not only the boss but also the salesperson, HR manager, copywriter, operations manager, online marketing guru, and so much more. It's no wonder so many people give up the dream of starting a business-it's just too much for one person to handle. But outsourcing expert and "Virtual CEO" Chris Ducker knows how you can get the help you need with resources you can afford. Virtual Freedom is the step-by-step guide every entrepreneur needs to build his or her business with the asset of working with virtual employees. Focusing on business growth, Ducker explains every detail you need to grasp, from figuring out which jobs you should outsource to finding, hiring, training, motivating, and managing virtual assistants.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
All the Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
Call Number: 813.6 Doerr 2014
ISBN: 1476746583
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
"From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, a stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II. Marie Laure lives with her father in Paris within walking distance of the Museum of Natural History where he works as the master of the locks (there are thousands of locks in the museum). When she is six, she goes blind, and her father builds her a model of their neighborhood, every house, every manhole, so she can memorize it with her fingers and navigate the real streets with her feet and cane. When the Germans occupy Paris, father and daughter flee to Saint-Malo on the Brittany coast, where Marie-Laure's agoraphobic great uncle lives in a tall, narrow house by the sea wall. In another world in Germany, an orphan boy, Werner, grows up with his younger sister, Jutta, both enchanted by a crude radio Werner finds. He becomes a master at building and fixing radios, a talent that wins him a place at an elite and brutal military academy and, ultimately, makes him a highly specialized tracker of the Resistance. Werner travels through the heart of Hitler Youth to the far-flung outskirts of Russia, and finally into Saint-Malo, where his path converges with Marie-Laure. Doerr's gorgeous combination of soaring imagination with observation is electric. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, Doerr illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another. Ten years in the writing, All the Light We Cannot See is his most ambitious and dazzling work"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea - Mark Blyth
Call Number: 336 Blyth 2013
ISBN: 9780199828302
Publication Date: 2013-04-25
The problem, according to political economist Mark Blyth, is that austerity is a very dangerous idea. First of all, it doesn't work. As the past four years and countless historical examples from the last 100 years show, while it makes sense for any one state to try and cut its way to growth, it simply cannot work when all states try it simultaneously: all we do is shrink the economy. In the worst case, austerity policies worsened the Great Depression and created the conditions for seizures of power by the forces responsible for the Second World War: the Nazis and the Japanese military establishment. As Blyth amply demonstrates, the arguments for austerity are tenuous and the evidence thin. Rather than expanding growth and opportunity, the repeated revival of this dead economic idea has almost always led to low growth along with increases in wealth and income inequality. Austerity demolishes the conventional wisdom, marshaling an army of facts to demand that we recognize austerity for what it is, and what it costs us.

Cover Art
The Battle of Brice's Crossroads - Stewart Bennett
Call Number: 3.736 Bennett 2012
ISBN: 1609495020
Publication Date: 2012-06-19
Blue Mountain College professor Stewart Bennett retells the day's saga through a wealth of first-person soldier accounts.

Cover Art
Bleeding Talent: how the US military mismanages great leaders and why it's time for a revolution. - Tim Kane
Call Number: 355.680973 Kane 2012
ISBN: 9780230391277
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
"This book will shape the debate on how to save the military from itself. The first part recognizes, indeed celebrates, what the military has done well in attracting and developing leadership talent. The book then examines the causes and consequences of the modern military's stifling personnel system, with a close look at strategic failures in Iraq and Afghanistan. The book also reports a new survey of active duty officers (done by the author) that reports what is driving the best and brightest to leave the service in frustration. Solutions round out the book, grounded in an economic emphasis on market forces"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Church According to Paul: Rediscovering the Community Conformed to Christ - James W. Thompson
Call Number: 262 Thompson 2014
ISBN: 9780801048821
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Amid conflicting ideas about what the church should be and do in a post-Christian climate, the missing voice is that of Paul. The New Testament's most prolific church planter, Paul faced diverse challenges as he worked to form congregations. Leading biblical scholar James Thompson examines Paul's ministry of planting and nurturing churches in the pre-Christian world to offer guidance for the contemporary church. The church today, as then, must define itself and its mission among people who have been shaped by other experiences of community. Thompson shows that Paul offers an unprecedented vision of the community that is being conformed to the image of Christ. He also addresses contemporary (mis)understandings of words like missional, megachurch, and formation.

Cover Art
Destiny Disrupted: a History of the World through Islamic Eyes - Tamim Ansary
Call Number: 909.09767 Ansary 2009
ISBN: 9781586488130
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
"We in the West share a common narrative of world history: It runs from ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia, through Greece and Rome, through the rise of Christianity and the Dark Ages, through the Renaissance, the Reformation, and the Enlightenment, to industrialism, the secular state, and the triumph of democracy. As a young history buff growing up in Muslim Afghanistan, Tamim Ansary absorbed this narrative but also knew that it sidelined an entire civilization, one that had seen itself at the center of the global narrative for over a thousand years."

Cover Art
Facing Sherman in South Carolina: March through the Swamps - Christopher G. Crabb
Call Number: 975.703 Crabb 2010
ISBN: 9781609490157
Publication Date: 2010-12-10
Will they invade us? Where is their army? -- You'd better get out; we are the Fifteenth Corps -- There goes your old gospel shop -- They are South Carolinians, not Americans -- Here began a carnival of destruction -- Men gasping in death -- Yanks, you better leave this country -- Build them strong, Catterson -- Those fellows are trying to stop us -- Nothing in South Carolina was held sacred -- A hasty visit to Mr. Simms -- The plantations now looked desolate -- The most complete rout I have ever witnessed -- Only those who were there could tell -- As if a knife was cutting the flesh -- The men of this army surprise me every day -- A conqueror through the streets of Columbia -- Forests filled with flames and pitch-black smoke -- The language would create consternation -- Conclusion: The army marched triumphantly into humiliated Columbia.

Cover Art
How Full Is Your Bucket? - Tom Rath; Donald O. Clifton
Call Number: 158.1 Rath 2004, 2009
ISBN: 9781595620033
Publication Date: 2004-07-06
In an inspirational handbook, the discoveries of Donald O. Clifton, the grandfather of positive psychology, show how the briefest interactions affect people's relationships, productivity, health, and longevity

Cover Art
How Wars End: Why we always fight the last battle - Gideon Rose
Call Number: 355.00973 Rose 2010
ISBN: 1416590536
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Rose argues that the failure of the United States to create successful peace settlements when ending the major wars of the twentieth century has only led to subsequent conflicts and new wars which attempt to resolve the issues of the previous war.

Cover Art
Implementing Analytics: A Blueprint for Design, Development, and Adoption - Nauman Sheikh
Call Number: 003 Sheikh 2013
ISBN: 9780124016965
Publication Date: 2013-05-30
Simplifies the understanding of analytics from a technical and functional perspective and shows a wide array of problems that can be tackled using existing technology. Provides a detailed step by step approach to identify opportunities, extract requirements, design variables and build and test models. It further explains the business decision strategies to use analytics models and provides an overview for governance and tuning. Helps formalize analytics projects from staffing, technology and implementation perspectives. Emphasizes machine learning and data mining over statistics and shows how the role of a Data Scientist can be broken down and still deliver the value by building a robust development process

Cover Art
Indispensable: When Leaders Really Matter - Gautam Mukunda
Call Number: 658.4092 Mukunda 2012
ISBN: 9781422186701
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Profiling a mix of historic and modern figures--from Thomas Jefferson and Abraham Lincoln to Winston Churchill and Judah Folkman--and telling the stories of how they came to power and how they made the most important decisions of their lives, Indispensable reveals how, when, and where a single individual in the right place at the right time can save or destroy the organization they lead, and even change the course of history. Indispensable will also help you understand this new model so you can use it in your own life--whether you're a citizen casting a ballot, an executive choosing your next CEO, or a leader trying to make your mark.

Cover Art
Khe Sanh 1967-68: Marines Battle for Vietnam's Vital Hilltop Base - Peter Dennis (Illustrator); Gordon L. Rottman; H. Gerrard (Illustrator)
Call Number: 959.704342 Rottman 2005
ISBN: 9781841768632
Publication Date: 2005-05-08
Khe Sanh was a small village in northwest South Vietnam that sat astride key North Vietnamese infiltration routes. In September 1966 a Marine battalion deployed into the area. Action gradually increased as the NVA attempted to destroy Free World Forces bases, and the siege of Khe Sanh proper began in October 1967. The bitter fight lasted into July 1968 when, with the changing strategic and tactical situation, the base was finally closed. This book details the siege and explains how, although the NVA successfully overran a Special Forces camp nearby, it was unable to drive US forces from Khe Sanh.

Cover Art
Killing Bin Laden - Operation Neptune Spear 2011 - Peter Panzeri
Call Number: 359.984 Panzeri 2013
ISBN: 9781472804082
Publication Date: 2014-09-23
On May 2, 2011 a ten-year manhunt drew to a deadly end as the men of the US Naval Special Warfare Development Group (a.k.a. SEAL Team Six) closed in on their prey, Osama Bin Laden, the fanatical mastermind of the terrible attack on the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Flown from Afghanistan by Army Special Operations Command’s 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne) and evading detection by the Pakistani military, two US helicopters flew towards the compound where they believed Bin Laden to be. Forty minutes later one helicopter had crashed and five men were dead, including the al-Qaeda leader, whose body was taken away and quietly buried at sea. In this book the story of the raid is told, from start to finish, using specially commissioned full-colour artwork, photographs and maps. The operation, codenamed Neptune Spear, is expertly analysed and the events are told in a concise and clear account of its build-up, execution and aftermath, demonstrating the skill and courage of the men who carried it out.

Cover Art
The Military Advantage 2013 - Terry Howell; Salvatore A. Giunta (Foreword by)
Call Number: 362.860973 Howell 2013
ISBN: 9780870210334
Publication Date: 2013-05-15

Cover Art
The Narrow Road to the Deep North - Richard Flanagan
Call Number: 823.914 Flanagan 2014
ISBN: 9780385352857
Publication Date: 2014-08-12
"A novel of love and war that traces the life of one man--an Australian surgeon--from a prisoner-of-war camp on the Thai-Burma Death Railway during World War II, up to the present"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Operation Anaconda - Lester W. Grau; Dodge Billingsley
Call Number: 958.104742 Grau 2011
ISBN: 9780700618019
Publication Date: 2011-11-25
Long before it became 'Obama's War, ' the long-running conflict in Afghanistan was launched by President George W. Bush in retaliation for the 9/11 attacks on the United States. Only a few months later, Operation Anaconda sent American-led coalition forces into their most intensely brutal confrontation with Al Qaeda and their Taliban hosts in the Shar-i Kot Valley near the Pakistan border. The result was an unexpected set piece of conventional fighting in what has become an era of guerrilla warfare. Drawing upon previously unavailable or neglected sources, Lester Grau and Dodge Billingsley give us the most complete and accurate account of this thirteen-day firefight waged in mountainous terrain nearly two miles above sea level. They describe how allied troops fought a fierce and well-entrenched enemy to a standstill, close to an old Soviet battlefield, and then drove them completely out of Afghanistan. Grau and Billingsley's account also highlights problems encountered in Anaconda and the lessons we should learn from their in-depth study.

Cover Art
Senior Officer Talent Management: Fostering Institutional Adaptability - Colarusso, Michael J.
Call Number: 355.3320973 Colarusso 2014
ISBN: 1496056485
Publication Date: 2014
The Army has for years been successful at creating senior leaders adept in the art and science of land combat after honing their leadership at the direct and organizational levels. While those experiences remain invaluable, undue reliance upon them to create the Army's future institutional leaders is increasingly risky in today's rapidly changing world. The contemporary and future operating environments demand an innovative and highly Institutional Army, capable of rapidly responding to operational demands. Incremental adjustments to current senior officer management practices will not create that adaptability. An entirely new approach is required, one that unleashes the unique potential of each person -- full-career officer talent management.

Cover Art
The Raft - Robert Trumbull; John M. Waters (Introduction by)
Call Number: 940.548173 Trumbell 1992
ISBN: 9781557508270
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
A gripping account of three naval airmen adrift in the Pacific for 34 days.

Cover Art
The Reason I Jump - Naoki Higashida; K. A. Yoshida (Translator); David Mitchell (Translator, Introduction by)
Call Number: 616.858820092 Higashida 2013
ISBN: 9780812994865
Publication Date: 2013-08-27
Written by a very smart, very self-aware, and very charming thirteen-year-old boy with autism, this memoir demonstrates how an autistic mind thinks, feels, perceives, and responds in ways few of us can imagine. Using an alphabet grid to painstakingly construct words, sentences, and thoughts that he is unable to speak out loud, Naoki answers even the most delicate questions that people want to know. Parents and family members who never thought they could get inside the head of their autistic loved one at last have a way to break through to the curious, subtle, and complex life within. Naoki shares his unique point of view on not only autism but life itself. His insights, into the mystery of words, the wonders of laughter, and the elusiveness of memory, are so startling, so strange, and so powerful that you will never look at the world the same way again. In his introduction, novelist David Mitchell writes that Naoki's words allowed him to feel, for the first time, as if his own autistic child was explaining what was happening in his mind. This translation was a labor of love by David and his wife, KA Yoshida, so they would be able to share that feeling with friends, the wider autism community, and beyond.--Publisher information

Cover Art
Redeployment - Phil Klay
Call Number: 813.6 Klay 2014
ISBN: 1594204993
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
"Phil Klay's Redeployment takes readers to the frontlines of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, asking us to understand what happened there, and what happened to the soldiers who returned. Interwoven with themes of brutality and faith, guilt and fear, helplessness and survival, the characters in these stories struggle to make meaning out of chaos. In "Redeployment", a soldier who has had to shoot dogs because they were eating human corpses must learn what it is like to return to domestic life in suburbia, surrounded by people "who have no idea where Fallujah is, where three members of your platoon died." In "After Action Report", a Lance Corporal seeks expiation for a killing he didn't commit, in order that his best friend will be unburdened. A Mortuary Affairs Marine tells about his experiences collecting remains-of U.S. and Iraqi soldiers both. A chaplain sees his understanding of Christianity, and his ability to provide solace through religion, tested by the actions of a ferocious Colonel. And in the darkly comic "Money as a Weapons System", a young Foreign Service Officer is given the absurd task of helping Iraqis improve their lives by teaching them to play baseball. These stories reveal the intricate combination of monotony, bureaucracy, comradeship and violence that make up a soldier's daily life at war, and the isolation, remorse, and despair that can accompany a soldier's homecoming. Redeployment is poised to become a classic in the tradition of war writing. Across nations and continents, Klay sets in devastating relief the two worlds a soldier inhabits: one of extremes and one of loss. Written with a hard-eyed realism and stunning emotional depth, this work marks Phil Klay as one of the most talented new voices of his generation"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Savior Generals: How Five Great Commanders Saved Wars that Were Lost - Victor Davis Hanson
Call Number: 355.00922 Hanson 2014
ISBN: 9781608193424
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Traces the stories of Themistocles, Belisarius, William Tecumseh Sherman, Matthew Ridgway, and David Petraeus, evaluating their pivotal military roles and the controversies that marked their careers.

Cover Art
The Sustainment Battle Staff and Military Decision Making Process Guide - (Ret) John M. Menter
Call Number: 355.411 Mentor 2009
ISBN: 9781438970202
Publication Date: 2009-05-01

Cover Art
The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914 - Margaret MacMillan
Call Number: 940.311 MacMillan 2014
ISBN: 9780812980660
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
At the turn of the century, Europe was living through the most peaceful era it had known since the fall of the Roman Empire. But instead of continuing along a path of harmony and prosperity, the Continent exploded into a war that would change the world. The War that Ended Peace brings vividely to life the military leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers and the extended family of crowned heads who failed to stop to the descent into war, among them the mercurial Kaiser Wilhelm II, the hardworking Emperor Franz Joseph, and the doomed Tsar Nicholas II and his wife. Margaret MacMillan shows how the fateful decisions of a few powerful people changed the course of history.

Cover Art
Worthy Fights - Leon Panetta; Jim Newton
Call Number: 327.12730092 Panetta 2014
ISBN: 9781594205965
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
The man who led the intelligence war that killed Osama bin Laden traces a life of leadership in public service, from his tenure in Congress through his years as director of the CIA and Secretary of Defense.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip