This is the "Home" page of the "New Books, SSI Library, September 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books, SSI Library, September 2014  

Newly acquired books: print and ebooks and audiobooks.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2014 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/newbooks092014 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Audiobooks & Ebooks -- EBSCOhost

Audiobooks and Ebooks are available for authorized patrons of the US Army Soldier Support Institute. EBSCOhost SSI Collection.

Cover Art
12 Years a Slave - Solomon Northup; Ira Berlin (Introduction by); Henry Louis Gates (Afterword by, Editor); Steve McQueen (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection. 306.362092 Northup
ISBN: 9780143106708
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Published in 1853, this true story was a bombshell in the national debate over slavery leading up to the Civil War and helped tilt public opinion in favor of abolition. Solomon captures the reality of slavery in stunning detail as we learn about the characters that populate plantation society and the intrigues of the bayou--from the collapse of a slave rebellion resulting in mass hangings due to traitorous slave Lew Cheney to the tragic end of his slave friend Patsey because of her master's jealous wife. Finally, a friend from New York attempts a courageous rescue that could either result in Solomon's greater suffering or death, or get him back to the arms of his family.

Cover Art
Africa in the World - Frederick Cooper
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection. 960.32 Cooper
ISBN: 9780674281394
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
"The origins of this book lie in an invitation to deliver the McMillan-Stewart Lectures at the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute of Harvard University. The three lectures that became the book's core chapters were presented in February 2012."

Cover Art
Battle Story - El Alamein 1942 - Pier Paolo Battistelli
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780752468488
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
The Second Battle of El Alamein marked a major turning point in the Western Desert Campaign of the Second World War. El Alamein saw tow of the greatest generals of the war pitted against each other: Rommel and Montgomery. Through key profiles and a chapter devoted to 'The Armies' Battle Story: El Alamein explores what made these men inspired leaders and what led to their respective defeat and victory.

Cover Art
Battle Story: Somme 1916 - Andrew Robertshaw (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780750957342
Publication Date: 2014-06-15
"The Battle of the Somme raged from July 1 to November 18, 1916, and was one of the bloodiest fought in military history. It has come to signify for many the waste and bloodshed of World War I as hundreds of thousands of men on all sides lost their lives fighting over small gains in land. Yet, this battle also marked a turning point in the war and was witness to new methods of warfare, such as all-arms integrated attacks, with infantry units and the new Tank Corps fighting alongside each other. Complete with detailed maps and photographs, as well as fascinating facts and profiles of the leaders, this is the best introduction to this legendary battle."

Cover Art
The Bonfire: the siege and burning of Atlanta / Marc Wortman. - Marc Wortman; Anthony Heald (Narrated by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHOST SSI Collection. 973.736 Wortman
ISBN: 1433279800
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
A narrative history of the destruction of Atlanta told through the points of view of key participants, both the Confederate and Union and how from its ashes and new South would arise.

Cover Art
The Chaplain's Assistant: God, Country, and Vietnam: a Novel - J. Timothy Caldwell
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 813.6 Caldwell
ISBN: 9780984196401
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
In a conventional war, support troops stay safely behind the lines. But in Vietnam, there were no lines: no place was completely safe. The war in Vietnam changed America and every soldier who served in-country. This is the story of just one support soldier, Ted Bertson, a chaplain's assistant, and the experiences that forever changed him and his love for his country. Drafted in 1969, recent college graduate Ted hopes that by becoming a chaplain's assistant he might escape the fighting in Vietnam. It does not work. By the end of 1970 he discovers what every veteran knows: war changes the soldiers who fight and the families who wait for them.

Cover Art
A Disease in the Public Mind - Thomas Fleming
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection. 973.711 Fleming
ISBN: 0306821265
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
By the time his body hung from the gallows for his crimes at Harper's Ferry, abolitionists had made John Brown a "holy martyr" in the fight against Southern slave owners. But Northern hatred for Southerners had been long in the making. Northern rage was born of the conviction that New England, whose spokesmen and militia had begun the American Revolution, should have been the leader of the new nation. Instead, they had been displaced by Southern "slavocrats" like Thomas Jefferson. And Northern envy only exacerbated the South's greatest fear: race war. In the sixty years preceding the outbreak of civil war, Northern and Southern fanatics ramped up the struggle over slavery. By the time they had become intractable enemies, only the tragedy of a bloody civil war could save the Union.

Cover Art
Ethics in Finance - Boatright
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781118615829
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
The third edition of Ethics in Finance presents an authoritative and wide-ranging examination of the major ethical issues in finance. This new edition has been expanded and thoroughly updated with extensive coverage of the recent financial crisis and the very latest developments within the financial world

Cover Art
The Future of Work: : Attract New Talent, Build Better Leaders, and Create a Competitive Organization - Jacob Morgan
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781118877241
Publication Date: 2014-08-25
Five trends shaping the world of work -- The Cog: Today's employee -- Seven principles of the future employee -- Freelancer economy -- Zookeeper: today's manager -- Ten principles of the future manager -- Managerless company -- Organization of today -- Fourteen principles of the future organization -- Technology as the central nervous system -- Six-step process for adapting to the future of work -- Rethinking work

Cover Art
Last in Their Class: Custer, Pickett and the Goats of West Point - James Robbins
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781594033841
Publication Date: 2006-03-09
"Today's Goat, the West Point cadet finishing at the bottom of his class, is temporary celebrity among his classmates. But in the 19th century, he was something of a cult figure. Custer's contemporaries at the Academy believed that the same spirit of adventure that led him to carouse at local taverns motivated his dramatic cavalry attacks in the Civil War and afterwards. And the same willingness to accept punishment from Academy authorities also sent George Pickett into the teeth of the Union guns at Gettsyburg. The story James S. Robbins tells goes from the beginnings of West Point through the carnage of the Civil War to the grassy bluffs over the Little Big Horn. The Goats he profiles tell us much about the soul of the American solider, his daring, imagination and desire to prove himself against high odds."

Cover Art
The Other Side of Paradise: Life in the new Cuba. - Julia Cooke
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection. 972.91 Cooke
ISBN: 9781580055314
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
"Over a period of five years, beginning when Fidel Castro stepped down from his presidency after almost a half-century of reign, journalist Julia Cooke embedded herself in Cuba, gaining access to a dynamic Havana--one that she found populated with twenty-five-year-old Marxist philosophy students, baby-faced anarchists, children of the whiskey-drinking elite, Santerâia trainees, pregnant prostitutes, and more. Combining intimate storytelling with in-depth reportage, The Other Side of Paradise weaves together stories of the Cubans whom Cooke encountered, providing a vivid and unprecedented look into the daily lives and future prospects of young people in Cuba today."

Cover Art
Padres in No Man's Land: Canadian Chaplains and the Great War - Duff Crerar
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection 940.4 Crerar
ISBN: 9780773544413
Publication Date: 2014-08-15
Padres in No Man’s Land -- Adventurers: Days of Preparation -- Beginners: Turmoil in the Service -- Officers: The Almond Reforms -- Pilgrims: The Padre 's Progress -- Soldiers: The Service in the Field -- Comrades: To Touch the Face of Battle -- Preachers: The Voice of Consolation and Prophecy -- Veterans: A Peace Endured. Appendix 1: Nominal List of Canadian Great War Chaplains -- Appendix 2: Chaplain Service Questionnaire, 1918 --Appendix 3: Canadian Militia Chaplaincy Growth, 1896–1914.

Cover Art
Passchendaele: The Hollow Victory - Martin Evans
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781783409624
Publication Date: 2006-06-19
Passchendaele is one of the most evocative names associated with the Great War. For over 80 years, the battle has epitomized pointless slaughter on an unimaginable scale. The bare statistics are shocking in themselves - the British, French and German armies suffered over half a million casualties between July and November 1917. Ever since, the image of hapless soldiers struggling through the mud and the shellfire has come to represent the futility of trench warfare and the incompetence of their commanders.

Cover Art
The Power of Latino Leadership - Juana Bordas
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection. 973.0468 Bordas
ISBN: 9781609948870
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
What does it take to lead such a varied and vibrant people who hail from twenty-two different countries and are a blend of different races? And what can leaders of all cultures and ethnicities learn from how Latinos lead? Juana Bordas takes us on a journey to the very heart and soul of Latino leadership. She offers ten principles that richly illustrate the inclusive, people-oriented, socially responsible, and life-affirming way Latinos have led their communities. Bordas includes the voices and experiences of other distinguished Latino leaders and vivid dichos (traditional sayings) that illustrate positive aspects of the Latino culture.

Cover Art
This Kind of War: The Classic Military History of the Korean War - T. R. Fehrenbach
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 951.9 F296
ISBN: 9781497603752
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
THIS KIND OF WAR is the most comprehensive single-volume history of the Korean-American conflict that began in 1950 and is still affecting United States' foreign policy. Fifty years later, not only does this enlightening account give details of the tactics, infantrymen and equipment, but also chronicles the story of military and political unpreparedness that led to a profligate loss of American lives in Korea. The author, T.R. Fehrenbach, an officer in the conflict, provides us with accounts of the combat situation that could only have been written by an eyewitness in the thick of the action. But what truly sets this book apart from other military memoirs is the piercing analysis of the global political maneuverings behind the brutal ground warfare that marked this bloody period of history, one which has been all but forgotten

Cover Art
Understanding Central America - John A. Booth; Christine J. Wade; Thomas W. Walker
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection. 972.8 Booth
ISBN: 9780813349589
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
This text offers an authoritative, comprehensive analysis of Central America's political evolution including revolution, rebellion, regime changes, and democratic consolidation.

Cover Art
William Henry Harrison and the Conquest of the Ohio Country - David Curtis Skaggs
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781421405469
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Skaggs focuses on Harrison’s early life and military exploits, especially his role on Major General Anthony Wayne's staff during the Fallen Timbers campaign and Harrison's leadership of the Tippecanoe campaign. He explores how the military and its leaders performed in the age of a small standing army and part-time, Cincinnatus-like forces. This richly detailed work reveals how the military and Indian policies of the early republic played out on the frontier, freshly revisiting a subject central to American history: how white settlers tamed the west—and at what cost.

Cover Art
Year of No Sugar - Eve O. Schaub
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection --613.28332 Schaub 2014 --
ISBN: 9781402295881
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
With her eyes open by the work of obesity expert Dr. Robert Lustig and others, Eve challenged her husband and two school-age daughters to join her on a quest to eat no added sugar for an entire year. Along the way, Eve uncovered the real costs of our sugar-heavy American diet--including diabetes, obesity, and increased incidences of health problems such as heart disease and cancer. The stories, tips, and recipes she shares throw fresh light on questionable nutritional advice we've been following for years and show that it is possible to eat at restaurants and go grocery shopping--with less and even no added sugar.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
After the Music Stopped: After the Financial Crisis, the Response and the Work Ahead - Alan S. Blinder
Call Number: 330.973 Blinder 2013
ISBN: 9781594205309
Publication Date: 2013-01-24
Many fine books on the financial crisis were first drafts of history--books written quickly to fill the need for immediate understanding. Alan S. Blinder, former vice chairman of the Federal Reserve Board, held off, taking the time to understand the crisis and create a truly comprehensive and coherent narrative of how the worst economic crisis in postwar American history happened, what the government did to fight it, and what we must do from here--mired as we still are in its wreckage. Blinder shows how the U.S. financial system, grown far too complex for its own good--and too unregulated for the public good--experienced a perfect storm beginning in 2007. When America's financial structure crumbled, the damage proved to be not only deep, but wide. It took the crisis for the world to discover, to its horror, just how truly interconnected--and fragile--the global financial system is. Blinder offers clear-eyed answers to the questions still before us, even if some of the choices ahead are as divisive as they are unavoidable.--From publisher description

Cover Art
America's Economic Way of War - Hugh Rockoff
Call Number: 330.973091 Rockoff 2012
ISBN: 0521859409
Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Ranging from the Spanish-American War to the Gulf War, Hugh Rockoff explores the ways in which war can provide unique opportunities for understanding the basic principles of economics as wars produce immense changes in monetary and fiscal policy and so provide a wealth of information about how these policies actually work. He shows that wars have been more costly to the United States than most Americans realize as a substantial reliance on borrowing from the public, money creation and other strategies to finance America's war efforts have hidden the true cost of war"--

Cover Art
American Arsenal - Patrick Coffey
Call Number: 355.80973 Coffey 2014
ISBN: 9780199959747
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
"Gripping page-turning narrative that elegantly combines popular science with a serious history of science." Chemistry World

Cover Art
The Battle of Kennesaw Mountain - Daniel J. Vermilya
Call Number: 973.7371 Vermilya
ISBN: 9781626193888
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
The war in 1864 -- The campaign begins -- June 1864 -- The Kennesaw line -- The Army of the Tennessee attacks -- The Army of the Cumberland attacks -- A failed assault -- On to the Chattahoochee -- "But the war goes steadily on."

Cover Art
The Biology of Beating Stress - Jeanne Ricks
Call Number: 155.9042 Ricks 2014
ISBN: 9781601633309
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
The Biology of Beating Stress is a powerful book that gets major points about stress across in a casual way. With quick and easily digestible reference points, each page is something readers will want to return to again and again. In addition to breathing and relaxation techniques, The Biology of Beating Stress shows readers how to make the mental shift toward not merely managing their stress, but actually using stress to their advantage! The way we interpret our stress and its effects directly affects our health and wellness. This book: Explains epigenetics to show how much more control you have over your health than you thought. Describes the amazing benefits of brain wave entrainment for drug-free stress relief.

Cover Art
Book of Ages - Jill Lepore
Call Number: 973.3092 Lepore 2014
ISBN: 9780307948830
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
"From one of our most accomplished and widely admired historians--a revelatory portrait of Benjamin Franklin's youngest sister, Jane, whose obscurity and poverty were matched only by her brother's fame and wealth but who, like him, was a passionate reader, a gifted writer, and an astonishingly shrewd political commentator. Making use of an astonishing cache of little-studied material, including documents, objects, and portraits only just discovered, Jill Lepore brings Jane Franklin to life in a way that illuminates not only this one extraordinary woman but an entire world."-- Publisher's description.

Cover Art
Brothers at War: the unending conflict in Korea - Sheila Miyoshi Jager
Call Number: 940.5318082 Lower 2013
ISBN: 9780393348859
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
"More than sixty years after North Korean troops crossed the 38th parallel into South Korea, the Korean War is still not over--yet it has become a forgotten episode in American history. Now, Sheila Miyoshi Jager combines international events with previously unknown personal accounts to create a comprehensive new history of that war. From American, Korean, Soviet and Chinese perspectives, she explores its origins, development and global implications. The epic story begins in mid-World War II, when Roosevelt, Stalin, and Churchill fiercely debated the possibility of Korean independence, and ends in the present day as North Korea, with China's aid, starves its population as it stockpiles nuclear weapons. Drawing on newly available diplomatic archives in several nations, this is the first account to examine both the military and the social, cultural, and political aspect of the war and its impact."--From publisher description

Cover Art
Catastrophe 1914: Europe goes to War - Max Hastings
Call Number: 940.311 Hastings 2013
ISBN: 9780307743831
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
In Catastrophe 1914, Max Hastings re-creates this dramatic year, from the diplomatic crisis to the fighting in Belgium and France on the Western front, and Serbia and Galicia to the east. He gives vivid accounts of the battles and frank assessments of generals and political leaders, and shows why it was inevitable that this first war among modern industrial nations could not produce a decisive victory, making a war of attrition inevitable. Throughout we encounter high officials and average soldiers, as well as civilians on the homefront, giving us a vivid portrait of how a continent became embroiled in a war that would change everything"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Course of Andean History - Peter V. N. Henderson
Call Number: 980 Henderson 2013
ISBN: 9780826353368
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
"A student-friendly text that tells the story of the development of the Andean republics and their people by emphasizing the themes of continuity and change over time. Henderson presents a succinct, narrative approach to Andean history that limits details about political coups and instead focuses on broader comparative social and culture aspects"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Eat Move Sleep - Tom Rath
Call Number: 613 Rath
ISBN: 9781939714008
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Quietly managing a serious illness for more than 20 years, Rath has assembled a wide range of information on the impact of eating, moving, and sleeping. He offers advice that will help you make good decisions automatically, in all three of these interconnected areas. With every bite you take, you will make better choices

Cover Art
The Great Persuasion: Reinventing Free Markets since the Depression - Angus Burgin
Call Number: 330.122 Burgin 2012
ISBN: 9780674058132
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
Just as today's observers struggle to justify the workings of the free market in the wake of a global economic crisis, an earlier generation of economists revisited their worldviews following the Great Depression. The Great Persuasion is an intellectual history of that project. Angus Burgin traces the evolution of postwar economic thought in order to reconsider many of the most basic assumptions of our market-centered world. Conservatives often point to Friedrich Hayek as the most influential defender of the free market. By examining the work of such organizations as the Mont Páelerin Society, an international association founded by Hayek in 1947 and later led by Milton Friedman, Burgin reveals that Hayek and his colleagues were deeply conflicted about many of the enduring problems of capitalism. Burgin's brilliant inquiry uncovers both the origins of the contemporary enthusiasm for the free market and the moral quandaries it has left behind."--Jacket.

Cover Art
Hard Choices - Hillary Rodham Clinton
Call Number: 328.73092 Clinton
ISBN: 9781476751443
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Part one: A fresh start. 2008: team of rivals ; Foggy bottom: smart power -- Part two: Across the Pacific. Asia: the pivot ; China: uncharted waters ; Beijing: the dissident ; Burma: the lady and the generals -- Part three: War and peace. Af-Pak: surge ; Afghanistan: to end a war ; Pakistan: national honor -- Part four: Between hope and history. Europe: ties that bind ; Russia: reset and regression ; Latin America: democrats and demagogues ; Africa: guns or growth? -- Part five: Upheaval. The Middle East: the rocky path of peace ; The Arab Spring: revolution ; Libya: all necessary measures ; Benghazi: under attack ; Iran: sanctions and secrets ; Syria: a wicked problem ; Gaza: anatomy of a cease-fire -- Part six: The future we want. Climate change: we're all in this together ; Jobs and energy: a level playing field ; Haiti: disaster and development ; 21st-Century statecraft: digital diplomacy in a networked world ; Human rights: unfinished business

Cover Art
Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields - Wendy Lower
Call Number: 940.5318082 Lower 2013
ISBN: 9780547863382
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
"This account of the role of German women on the World War II Nazi eastern front powerfully revises history, proving that we have ignored the reality of women' s participation in the Holocaust, including as brutal killers. The long-held picture of German women holding down the home front during the war, as loyal wives and cheerleaders for the Fuhrer, pales in comparison to the author's incisive case for the massive complicity, and worse, of the 500,000 young German women she places, for the first time, directly in the killing fields of the expanding Reich. She presents evidence that these women were more than "desk murderers", or comforters of murderous German men; they went on plundering sprees and brutalized Jews in the ghettos of Poland, Ukraine, and Belarus. The author draws on twenty years of archival and field work on the Holocaust, access to post-Soviet documents, and interviews with German witnesses to uncover evidence that has been hidden for 70 years." -- From book jacket.

Cover Art
Hundred Days: The Campaign that ended World War I - Nick Lloyd
Call Number: 940.434 Lloyd 2014
ISBN: 9780465074921
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Describes the difficult and bloody four-month battle that tipped the stalemate on the Western Front in favor of the Allies in 1918 and drove back the Germans, bringing World War I to an end.

Cover Art
The Internal Enemy - Alan Taylor
Call Number: 975.503 Taylor 2013
ISBN: 9780393349733
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Drawn from new sources, a Pulitzer Prize-winning historian presents a narrative that recreates the events that inspired hundreds of slaves to pressure British admirals into becoming liberators by using their intimate knowledge of the countryside to transform the war.

Cover Art
Invasion 1914: The Schelieffen Plan to the Battle of the Marne - Ian Senior
Call Number: 940.4 Senior 2012
ISBN: 1472803353
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
Published to coincide with the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the Great War, Invasion 1914 examines how the German invasion of France and Belgium came agonizingly close to defeating the French armies, capturing Paris and ending the First World War before the end of the year. Ian Senior reveals how the initial German strategy revolved around, and in part depended on, rapid victory over the French, and how the failure to achieve this resulted in the surprisingly fluid battles of the early days of the war deteriorating into the trench-based warfare which was to see the war drag on for another four years of unprecedented slaughter. Weaving together strategic analysis, diary entries, eyewitness accounts and interview transcripts from soldiers on the ground with consummate skill, this narrative is a timely investigation into the dramatic early months of the war, as the fate of Europe hung in the balance.

Cover Art
Killing Patton: The strange death of World War II's most audacious general - Bill O'Reilly; Martin Dugard
Call Number: 355.0092 O'Reilly 2014
ISBN: 080509668X
Publication Date: 2014-09-23
Killing Patton takes readers inside the final year of the war and recounts the events surrounding Patton's tragic demise, naming names of the many powerful individuals who wanted him silenced.

Cover Art
Leading at the Edge - Dennis N. T. Perkins; Margaret P. Holtman (As told to); Paul R. Kessler; Catherine McCarthy (As told to); Jillian B. Murphy (As told to)
Call Number: 658.4092 Perkins 2012
ISBN: 9780814431948
Publication Date: 2012-03-28
Tools for leading at the edge -- Expedition toolkit -- Critical leadership skills survey -- Your leadership expedition : a personal development plan -- Your leadership expedition map -- Identifying hidden conflicts : conducting a moose round-up -- Resolving conflicts : lessons from the martial arts.

Cover Art
Leaders Eat Last: Why some teams pull together and others don't - Simon Sinek
Call Number: 658.4092 Sinek 2014
ISBN: 9781591845324
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
"Sinek is back to reveal the next step in creating happier and healthier organizations. He helps us understand, in simple terms, the biology of trust and cooperation and why they're essential to our success and fulfillment. Organizations that create environments in which trust and cooperation thrive vastly out perform their competition. And, not coincidentally, their employees love working there. But "truly human" cultures don't just happen; they are intentionally created by great leaders. Leaders who, in hard times, would sooner sacrifice their numbers to protect their people, rather than sacrifice people to protect their numbers, are rewarded with deeply loyal teams that consistently contribute their best efforts, ideas and passion. As he did in Start With Why, Sinek illustrates his points with fascinating true stories from many fields. He implores us to act sooner rather than later, because our stressful jobs are literally killing us. And he offers surprisingly simple steps for building a truly human organization"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead - Sheryl Sandberg
Call Number: 658.4092082 Sandberg 2013
ISBN: 0385349947
Publication Date: 2013-03-11
In this book the author examines why women's progress in achieving leadership roles has stalled, explains the root causes, and offers solutions that can empower women to achieve their full potential. She is the chief operating officer of Facebook and is ranked on Fortune magazine's list of the 50 Most Powerful Women in Business and as one of Time magazine's 100 Most Influential People in the World. In 2010, she gave an electrifying TEDTalk in which she described how women unintentionally hold themselves back in their careers. Her talk, which became a phenomenon and has been viewed more than two million times, encouraged women to "sit at the table," seek challenges, take risks, and pursue their goals with gusto.

Cover Art
Living with Honor - Salvatore A. Giunta; Joe Layden
Call Number: 958.104742 Giunta 2013
ISBN: 9781451691467
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
A Medal of Honor recipient shares the story of his military career, recounting his deployment to Afghanistan's volatile Korengal Valley and his life-risking efforts to provide medical aid to wounded fellow soldiers during an October 2007 Taliban ambush.

Cover Art
No End Save Victory: How FDR Led the Nation into War - David Kaiser
Call Number: 973.917092 Kaiser 2014
ISBN: 9780465019823
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Describes the challenges faced by Franklin Delano Roosevelt in the first 100 days of his presidency as well as highlights the preparations he put into place, including military expansions, that ultimately enabled the United States to be victorious in World War II.

Cover Art
Marketing to Millennials: Reach the Largest and Most Influential Generation of Consumers Ever - Jeff Fromm; Christie Garton
Call Number: 658.8340842 Fromm 2013
ISBN: 0814433227
Publication Date: 2013-07-02
They aren't shy about sharing their opinions. They're quick to spot a faker and believe in "cause marketing." They are highly influential, have an expansive network of contacts, and they expect to actively participate in the creation and development of new products. Based on groundbreaking proprietary research and one-on-one interviews with top brand executives and Millennials, Marketing to Millennials identifies specific behaviors and attitudes common to this revolutionary group of consumers. It will show you how to: Build a listening and participation strategy that will help you connect with your brand advocates; Engage these early adopters of new technologies and social tools; Incorporate a sense of adventure and fun into your brand experience; Help make them look good among their peers; and Retain their loyalty by giving them no reason to cheat on you. From start-ups to Goliaths, this book takes a serious and fascinating look at the companies and brands that are getting it right when it comes to engaging the Millennial consumer. Featuring examples and case studies of organizations including Ford, Sephora, Android, Victoria's Secret, PepsiCo/Frito Lay, Facebook, DoSomething.org, TOMS Shoes, and more, the book reveals "The New Rules" of marketing to Gen Y.

Cover Art
The Power of No: because one little word can bring health, abundance, and happiness. - James Altucher; Claudia Azula Altucher
Call Number: 158.1 Altucher 2014
ISBN: 1401945872
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Every time you say yes to something you don't want to do you can experience a spate of negative outcomes: resenting people, doing poor quality work, having less energy for the things you actually love, making less money, and so on. But the worst part is that yet another small percentage of your life is used up by something you don't want. We need the power of no so we can set proper boundaries around the things that hurt us directly. We need it to curb the relationships that drain us of our energy, creativity, and expression, to protect us from those people who put us down, hurt us emotionally, and leave us barren and depressed. And in the larger picture, we need the power of no to understand what we truly believe in, rather than the stories we take at face value because we've been conditioned to think them as the truth. With the power of no we can refocus our energies toward living an abundant, healthy, and wealthy life.

Cover Art
Wargames: From Gladiators to Gigabytes - Martin van Creveld
Call Number: 793.92 Van Creveld 2013
ISBN: 9781107036956
Publication Date: 2013-04-04
Starting with the combat of David versus Goliath, passing through the gladiatorial games, tournaments, trials by battle, duels, and board games such as chess, all the way to the latest simulations and computer games, this unique book traces the subject in all its splendid richness. As it does so, it provides new and occasionally surprising insights into human nature.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip