This is the "Home" page of the "New Books, SSI Library, August 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books, SSI Library, August 2014  

Newly acquired books, during August 2014
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/newbooks082014 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ebooks: EBRARY and EBSCOhost

Ebooks are available for authorized patrons of the US Army Soldier Support Institute Library. EBSCOhost SSI Collection. EBRARY SSI Collection.

Cover Art
The AMA Handbook of Business Letters - Jeffrey L. Seglin; Edward Coleman
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 651.75 Seglin
ISBN: 9780814420126
Publication Date: 2012-07-11
Letter writing is crucial to professional success. But with everything you have to accomplish during the day, chances are you have little time to craft compelling business correspondence yourself. And if you’re one of the countless people who would like more confidence when it comes to writing a business memo or formal email, wouldn’t it be nice to have a compendium of already written, customizable letters at your fingertips?
Now with more than 25 percent new material and packed with model letters for even more situations than its classic predecessor, The AMA Handbook of Business Letters provides you with adaptable templates for any business circumstance.

Cover Art
America's First Crisis: The War of 1812 - Robert Watson
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.52 Watson
ISBN: 9781438451343
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
In America’s First Crisis Robert P. Watson tells the stories of the most intriguing battles and leaders and shares the most important blunders and victories of the war. What started out as an effort to invade Canada, fueled by anger over the harassment of American merchant ships by the Royal Navy, soon turned into an all-out effort to fend off an invasion by Britain. Armies marched across the Canadian border and sacked villages; navies battled on Lake Ontario, Lake Champlain, and the world’s oceans; both the American and Canadian capitals were burned; and, in a final irony, the United States won its greatest victory in New Orleans—after the peace treaty had been signed

Cover Art
Between Slavery and Freedom: Free People of Color in America from settlement to the Civil War. - Julie Winch
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.0496073 Winch
ISBN: 9780742551145
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
" In a concise narrative and selected primary documents, noted historian Julie Winch shows the struggle of black people to gain and maintain their liberty and lay claim to freedom in its fullest sense. Refusing to be relegated to the margins of American society and languish in poverty and ignorance, they repeatedly challenged their white neighbors to live up to the promises of 'life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness' enshrined in the Declaration of Independence"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Chancellorsville: The battle and its aftermath - Gary W. Gallagher (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection 973.734 Gallagher
ISBN: 9780807859704
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
A variety of important but lesser-known dimensions of the Chancellorsville campaign of spring 1863 are explored in this collection of eight original essays. Departing from the traditional focus on generalship and tactics, the contributors address the campaign's broad context and implications and revisit specific battlefield episodes that have in the past been poorly understood.

Cover Art
Corporate Finance: A practical approach - Michelle R. Clayman; Martin S. Fridson; George H. Troughton; Matthew Scanlan (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 658.15
ISBN: 9781118105375
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Corporate Finance: A Practical Approach is designed to help financial analysts, executives, and investors achieve this goal with a practice-oriented distillation of the most important tools and concepts of corporate finance. Updated for a post-financial crisis environment, the Second Edition provides coverage of the most important issues surrounding modern corporate finance for the new global economy: Preserves the hallmark conciseness of the first edition while offering expanded coverage of key topics

Cover Art
The Concise Handbook of Management: A practitioner's Approach - Jonathan T. Scott
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780789026477
Publication Date: 2005-10-05
Pt. 1. Building the management foundation -- pt. 2. Basic thoughts on and theories of management -- pt. 3. The basic skills of management -- pt. 4. The basics of business.

Cover Art
The Copyright Book: A practical guide - William S. Strong
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 346.7304 Strong
ISBN: 9780262027397
Publication Date: 2014-05-30
The subject matter of copyright -- Ownership -- Transfers and license of copyright -- Copyright notice -- Registration of a copyright claim -- Rights in copyrighted works -- The compulsory licenses -- Infringement -- Fair use -- Works created before 1978 -- Tax treatment of copyrights -- International copyright protection -- Copyright and the information society: a few parting thoughts, and a glimpse into the future.

Cover Art
Global Business Etiquette: A guide to international communication and customs - Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. Chaney
Call Number: Online EBRARY SSI Collection - 395.52 Martin
ISBN: 9780313397172
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Travel customs and tips -- Language, greetings, introductions, and business cards -- Socializing -- Gestures and other nonverbal communicators -- Dress and appearance -- Cultural attitudes, behaviors, and customs -- Dining and tipping customs -- Conversational customs and manners -- Oral and written communication customs and etiquette -- Etiquette for international businesswomen -- International negotiation etiquette

Cover Art
Handbook for Strategic HR: Best Practices in Organization Development from the OD Network - OD Network Staff; Practitioners Publishing Co. Staff; John Vogelsang (Editor); Maya Townsend (Editor); Matt Minahan (Editor); Lynne Valek (Editor); Annie Viets (Editor); Judy Vogel (Editor); David Jamieson (Editor); Cathy Royal (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 658.301 Vogelsang
ISBN: 9780814432495
Publication Date: 2012-11-28
Human Resource Management is changing. Moving beyond basic transactional functions, your role as an HR professional has now evolved to include working with executives and managers to set priorities and guide change for your organization. Drawing upon the research and practice of seasoned Organization Development professionals, the Handbook for Strategic HR collects articles found in the esteemed journal OD Practitioner to give you an overview of the core knowledge and skills you need to play a trusted advisory role in your organization.

Cover Art
Handbook of Military Social Work - Allen Rubin (Editor); Jose E. Coll (Editor); Eugenia L. Weiss (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 362.8 Rubin
ISBN: 9781118067833
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
A brief history of social work with the military and veterans / Allen Rubin and Helena Harvie -- Military culture and diversity / Jose E. Coll, Eugenia L. Weiss, and Michael Metal -- Women in the military / Eugenia L. Weiss and Tara DeBraber -- Ethical decision making in military social work / James G. Daley -- Secondary trauma in military social work / Allen Rubin and Eugenia L. Weiss -- Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in veterans / Jeffrey S. Yarvis -- The neurobiology of PTSD and cognitive processing therapy (CPT) / Jimmy Stehberg, David L. Albright, and Eugenia L. Weiss -- Treating combat-related PTSD with virtual reality exposure therapy / Suzanne Leaman.--Traumatic brain injury (TBI) and the military / Cynthia Boyd and Sarah Asmussen --The exceptional family member program: helping special needs children in military families / Barbara Yoshioka Wheeler, Deborah McGough, and Fran Goldfarb -- Grief, loss, and bereavement in military families / Jill Harrington-LaMorie -- The stress process model for supporting long-term family cargiving / Monica M. Matthieu and Angela B. Swensen.

Cover Art
HR at Your Service: Lessons From Benchmark Service Organizations - Gary P. Latham; Robert C. Ford
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 658.3 Latham
ISBN: 9781586442477
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Focusing on the day-to-day delivery of quality service that can drive a successful partnership between the Human Resources (HR) department and the rest of the company, this handbook demonstrates how HR managers can and must ensure that their teams develop the ability to anticipate and attend to the needs, wants, and expectations of managers and their employees. As it provides practical tools and guidance on building world-class HR departments, this guide aids HR leaders to plan for future client needs, conduct internal audits, and hire as well as reward customer-centric individuals. Lessons learned from thriving businesses, such as Walt Disney Co., Marriott International Inc., and Darden’s restaurants, are also applied and explained in the HR context.

Cover Art
Modern Japan: A historical survey. Fifth Edition. - Mikiso Hane; Louis G. Perez
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHost SSI Collection -- 952.03 Mikiso
ISBN: 9780813346946
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
This edition brings Japanese history up to date in the post 9/11 era, detailing current issues such as: the impact of the Gulf Wars on Japanese international relations, the March 2011 earthquake, tsunami, and subsequent nuclear accident, the recent tumultuous change of political leadership, and Japan’s current economic and global status. An updated chronological chart, list of prime ministers, and bibliography are also included.

Cover Art
Quantitative Risk Management: A practical guide to financial risk - Thomas S. Coleman; Bob Litterman (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 332.10681 Coleman
ISBN: 9781118222102
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
A guide to risk management for financial firms and managers in the post-crisis world, Quantitative Risk Management updates the techniques and tools used to measure and monitor risk. These are often mathematical and specialized, but the ideas are simple. The book starts with how we think about risk and uncertainty, then turns to a practical explanation of how risk is measured in today's complex financial markets. "-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting and Orienting New Employees - Diane Arthur
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 658.311 Arthur
ISBN: 9780814420249
Publication Date: 2012-06-27
A genuine classic, Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees has kept readers up to date on the latest in staffing since its original publication. A practical and user-friendly guide to the entire employment process, the book—now extensively revised—contains forms, guidelines, and ready-to-use interview questions as well as guidance on topics including reference-checking, interview methods, documentation issues, orientation programs, applicant testing, and much more. Pt. 1. Recruiting qualified people -- pt. 2. Interviewing applicants -- pt. 3. Selecting the best fit -- pt. 4. Orienting new employees.

Cover Art
Retaking Rationality: Cost-Benefit Analysis Can Better Protect the Environment and Our Health - Richard L. Revesz; Michael A. Livermore
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection 320.60973 Revesz
ISBN: 9780195368574
Publication Date: 2008-04-16
In Retaking Rationality, Richard L. Revesz and Michael A. Livermore argue convincingly that one of the least understood-and most important-causes of our failure to protect the environment has been a misguided rejection of reason. The authors show that environmentalists, labor unions, and other progressive groups have declined to participate in the key governmental proceedings concerning the cost-benefit analysis of federal regulations. As a result of this vacuum, industry groups have captured cost-benefit analysis and used it to further their anti-regulatory ends. Beginning in 1981, the federal Office of Management and Budget and the federal courts have used cost-benefit analysis extensively to determine which environmental, health, and safety regulations are approved and which are sent back to the drawing board. The resulting imbalance in political participation has profoundly affected the nation's regulatory and legal landscape. But Revesz and Livermore contend that economic analysis of regulations is necessary and that it needn't conflict with-and can in fact support-a more compassionate approach to environmental policy. Indeed, they show that we cannot give up on rationality if we truly want to protect our natural environment.

Cover Art
Washington: Lessons in Leadership. Great General Series. - Gerald M. Carbone
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.3 Carbone
ISBN: 9780230617070
Publication Date: 2009-12-22
George Washington influenced every phase of the Revolutionary war. His offenses were as brilliant as they were unpredictable, and it is this fearless but not reckless, spontaneous but calculated, offensive approach that Carbonne argues Washington should be remembered for - as a leader not of infallibility but of greatness.

Cover Art
William S. Rosecrans and the Union Victory - David G. Moore
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOHost SSI Collection -- 973.741092 Moore
ISBN: 9780786476244
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
This is the first biography of Union General William S. Rosecrans in more than fifty years. It tells the story of his military successes and the important results that led to the Union victory in the Civil War: winning the first major campaign of the war in West Virginia in 1861; victories in northeastern Mississippi that made the Vicksburg Campaign possible; gaining the victory without which Abraham Lincoln said the "nation could scarcely have lived over"; conducting two brilliant campaigns in Tennessee and fighting the battle of Chickamauga (giving permanent possession of Chattanooga to the federals); defending Missouri from an invasion in 1864. The book also attempts to explain why Rosecrans was removed four times despite his military successes and examines the important part politics played in the war. Additionally it reveals a man who promoted many advances in medical care, transportation and cartography; a man interested in engineering as well as theology.

Cover Art
The Winning Factor: Inspire Gold-Medal Performance in Your Employees - Peter Jensen
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection -- 658.314 Jensen
ISBN: 9780814431757
Publication Date: 2012-05-02
Passion. Fire. Dedication. Commitment. Imagine what your employees could accomplish if they exhibited the traits shared by world-class Olympic athletes. As their manager, it’s your job to light the spark that rockets your people off to accomplish great things. Over decades spent as a high-performance psychology consultant in the corporate world and the arena of Olympic and international sports, Peter Jensen knows that great performance—whether it’s on the track or in the office—depends not on great genes or even on external nurturing, but on a third, winning factor that ultimately comes from within.

Cover Art
Workplace Bullying: Symptoms and Solutions. - Noreen Tehrani (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection-- 658.382 Tehrani
ISBN: 9780415617086
Publication Date: 2012-03-22
The effects of bullying on organisations and individuals can be devastating and can adversely affect both the workers themselves and the productivity of the organisation that they work for. This book explores the impact of bullying from the perspective of both the employee and the organisation in which they work. In addition to describing the negative outcome of bullying, Workplace Bullying also looks at ways to promote resilience and the opportunity for growth and learning to take place. .

Cover Art
World Finance since 1914 (RLE Banking and Finance) - Paul Einzig
Call Number: 332.49041 Einzig
ISBN: 9780415539470
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
Charting developments in one of the most turbulent periods of economic history, this far reaching volume covers the problems facing the major economies of Europe in the inter-war years. It also discusses global economic policies and the crises for the world’s major currencies. Although it covers complex themes, the book is written in an accessible way even for the non-specialist.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
A Brief History of Argentina - Jonathan C. Brown
Call Number: 982 Brown
ISBN: 9780816083619
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Provides an overview of the history of Argentina spanning 12,000 years, focusing on key events and cultural patterns, and examining the economic and political challenges facing the country today.

Cover Art
A Higher Call: An incredible true story of combat and chivalry in the war-torn skies of World War II - Adam Makos; Larry Alexander
Call Number: 940.54443092 Makos
ISBN: 9780425255735
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
This is the true story of the two pilots whose lives collided in the skies over wartime Germany on 21 December 1943 --the American--2nd Lieutenant Charlie Brown, a former farm boy from West Virginia who came to captain a B-17--and the German--2nd Lieutenant Franz Stigler, a former airline pilot from Bavaria who sought to avoid fighting in World War II.

Cover Art
Alvin York: A New Biography of the Hero of the Argonne - Douglas V. Mastriano
Call Number: 940.41273092 Mastriano 2014
ISBN: 9780813145198
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Alvin C. York (1887--1964) -- devout Christian, conscientious objector, and reluctant hero of World War I -- is one of America's most famous and celebrated soldiers. Known to generations through Gary Cooper's Academy Award-winning portrayal in the 1941 film Sergeant York, York is credited with the capture of 132 German soldiers on October 8, 1918, in the Meuse-Argonne region of France -- a deed for which he was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor.At war's end, the media glorified York's bravery but some members of the German military and a soldier from his own unit cast aspersions on his wartime record. Recently, a new generation of historians has also argued that York received more recognition than he deserved.

Cover Art
Art of Intelligence: Simulations, Exercises and Games - Rubén Arcos (Editor); William J. Lahneman (Editor)
Call Number: 327.12 Lahneman
ISBN: 1442228962
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
Part I. One or Two Class Sessions Simulations - Simulating Iraqi WMD: Ready-to-use simulation -- Competing hypotheses in contemporary intelligence analysis -- Facing intelligence analysts with ethical scenarios -- Spies and lies: perils of collection - a simulation -- Learning intelligence analysis: the developmetn of cognitive strategies -- Kim's game: developing powers of observation and memory -- Part II: One to two week simulation - Cyber attack on the office of intelligence production - Market and competitor analysis: real exercise - Need to share intelligence and crisis management in fighting terrorism and organized crime: need for integrated training solutions - A 3D intelligence analysis on migration as a security threat - TEST simulation model (Team-working and experiental scenario-based training): secrets and mysteries -- Part III: Multiweek simulations - Understanding Baysian thinking: prior and posterior possibilities and analysis of competing hypotheses in intelligence analysis - Jointery versus tradecraft: the Brunel analytical simulation and alternative approaches to intelligence analysis and analytical professionalization in postgraduate academic teaching -- Social intelligence survey: mapping the webs of embedded intelligence functions - Multimedia intelligence products: experiencing the intelligence production process and adding layers of information to intelligence reports.

Cover Art
Brazil - Culture Smart! - Sandra Branco; Rob Williams
Call Number: 918.1 Branco
ISBN: 9781857336894
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Land and people -- Values and attitudes -- Religion, customs, and traditions -- Making friends -- Brazilians at home -- Time out -- Travel, health, and safety -- Business briefing -- Communicating.

Cover Art
Chile - Caterina Perrone
Call Number: 395.0983 Perrone
ISBN: 9781857333411
Publication Date: 2007-06-05
The essential guide to customs and culture.

Cover Art
Citizen-Soldiers in a Time of Transition: The future of the U. S. Army National Guard - Stephanie Sanok Kostro
Call Number: 355.37 Kostro
ISBN: 9781442228399
Publication Date: 2014-05-02
"A Report of the CSIS Homeland Security and Counterterrorism Program, May 2014."

Cover Art
Colombia - Culture Smart! - Kate Cathey
Call Number: 918.61 Cathey
ISBN: 9781857335453
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
The essential guide to customs and culture.

Cover Art
Comandante: Hugo Chavez's Venezuela - Rory Carroll
Call Number: 987.0642092 Carroll 2014
ISBN: 9780143124887
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
An exploration of Chavez's life and career, pondering such questions as "How did a charismatic autocrat seduce not just a nation but a significant part of world opinion? How did he make people laugh, weep, and applaud as if on command? And how does he continue to stay in power despite the crumbling of Venezuela?"--Publisher's description

Cover Art
Communicating with Intelligence: writing and briefing in national security - James S. Major
Call Number: 808.066355 Major
ISBN: 9781442226616
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
The Foundations of Good Intelligence Communication - What it's all about - Using argument in intelligence writing - Reading: Fundamental to writing -- Part II: Writing with Intelligence - A tool kit for writing with intelligence - Prewriting: Warming up your brain to free your hand - Writing the first draft: getting the words on paper summary - Drafting Conclusions - Beyond the first draft: Analytical papers -- Revision: polishing your writing -- Additional exercises to hone your writing skills -- Part III: Briefing with Intelligence - Briefing: the flip side of the communication coin - The ABCs of Good Intelligence briefings and briefers - Organizing and writing the briefing - Fine-tuning your briefing - Doing It! -- Part IV: Short Style manual and citation guide - Citing your sources: a must for scholarship - Electronic citations - Handling and citing classified material -- Answers to the Exercises.

Cover Art
Concrete Hell: Urban Warfare from Stalingrad to Iraq - Louis Dimarco
Call Number: 355.426 DiMarco 2012
ISBN: 9781849087926
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
Urban warfare, past and future -- An operational debacle : Stalingrad, 1942 -- American urban warfare : Aachen, 1944 -- Urban warfare from the sea : Inchon and Seoul, 1950 -- Complex urban warfare : the battle for Hue, 1968 -- War in the Casbah : the Battle of Algiers, 1956-57 -- The long urban war : Operation Banner, 1969-2007 -- Urban death trap : the Russian Army in Grozny, 1995 -- Invading the urban sanctuary : Operation Defensive Shield and the battle for Jenin, 2002 -- Systemic urban warfare : "ready first" in Ramadi, 2006-07.

Cover Art
David and Goliath - Malcolm Gladwell
Call Number: 155.24 Gladwell 2013
ISBN: 9780316204361
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
This book uncovers the hidden rules that shape the balance between the weak and the mighty and the powerful and the dispossessed. In it the author challenges how we think about obstacles and disadvantages, offering a new interpretation of what it means to be discriminated against, or cope with a disability, or lose a parent, or attend a mediocre school, or suffer from any number of other apparent setbacks. He begins with the real story of what happened between the giant and the shepherd boy (David and Goliath) those many years ago. From there, the book examines Northern Ireland's Troubles, the minds of cancer researchers and civil rights leaders, murder and the high costs of revenge, and the dynamics of successful and unsuccessful classrooms, all to demonstrate how much of what is beautiful and important in the world arises from what looks like suffering and adversity--Publisher information.

Cover Art
Devil at My Heels - Louis Zamperini; David Rensin
Call Number: 940.547252092 Zamperini
ISBN: 9780062118851
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
That tough kid down the street -- The Torrance tornado -- World-class -- On a wing and a prayer -- Prepare to crash -- Adrift -- Execution island -- We regret to inform... -- The bird -- "If goat die, you die!" -- The long road home -- The hollow hero -- A second chance -- Forgiveness -- Not every soldier fades away

Cover Art
Enduring Battle: American soldiers in three wars, 1776-1945 - Christopher Hamner
Call Number: 355.330973 Hamner
ISBN: 9780700617753
Publication Date: 2011-04-07
Throughout history, battlefields have placed a soldier's instinct for self-preservation in direct opposition to the army's insistence that he do his duty and put himself in harm's way. Enduring Battle looks beyond advances in weaponry to examine changes in warfare at the very personal level. Drawing on the combat experiences of American soldiers in three widely separated wars—the Revolution, the Civil War, and World War II—Christopher Hamner explores why soldiers fight in the face of terrifying lethal threats and how they manage to suppress their fears, stifle their instincts, and marshal the will to kill other humans.

Cover Art
Field Exercises: how veterans are healing themselves through farming and outdoor activities - Stephanie Westlund
Call Number: 616.85212 Westlund
ISBN: 9780865717619
Publication Date: 2014-07-15

Cover Art
How Not to Be Wrong: the Power of Mathematical Thinking - Jordan Ellenberg
Call Number: 510 Ellenberg
ISBN: 9781594205224
Publication Date: 2014-05-29
"In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows us that math isn't confined to abstract incidents that never occur in real life, but rather touches everything we do--the whole world is shot through with it. Math allows us to see the hidden structures underneath the messy and chaotic surface of our world. It's a science of not being wrong, hammered out by centuries of hard work and argument. Armed with the tools of mathematics, we can see through to the true meaning of information we take for granted: How early should you get to the airport? What does "public opinion" really represent? Why do tall parents have shorter children? Who really won Florida in 2000? And how likely are you, really, to develop cancer? How Not to Be Wrong presents the surprising revelations behind all of these questions and many more, using the mathematician's method of analyzing life and exposing the hard-won insights of the academic community to the layman--minus the jargon. Ellenberg pulls from history as well as from the latest theoretical developments to provide those not trained in math with the knowledge they need. "-- Provided by publisher

Cover Art
Mustafa Kemal Ataturk: leadership, strategy and conflict. - Edward Erickson
Call Number: 956.1024092 Erickson 2013
ISBN: 9781780965901
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
Mustafa Kemal was one of the 20th century's greatest combat commanders. Born in Salonika to a middle-class family, this book follows the life of a great commander who served in the Italo-Turkish War of 1911-12 and the Balkan Wars of 1912-13 before taking command of the 19th Division based in Gallipoli during World War l.

Cover Art
No Requiem for the Space Age: the Apollo moon landings and American culture - Matthew D. Tribbe
Call Number: 629.4540973 Tribbe 2014
ISBN: 9780199313525
Publication Date: 2014-07-07
"To the great dismay of its many proponents, however, NASA found the ground shifting beneath its feet as a fierce wave of anti-rationalism arose throughout American society, fostering a cultural environment in which growing numbers of Americans began to contest rather than embrace the rationalist values and vision of progress that Apollo embodied. Shifting the conversation of Apollo from its Cold War origins to larger trends in American culture and society, and probing an eclectic mix of voices from the era, including intellectuals, religious leaders, rock musicians, politicians, and a variety of everyday Americans, Matthew Tribbe paints an electrifying portrait of a nation in the midst of questioning the very values that had guided it through the postwar years as it began to develop new conceptions of progress that had little to do with blasting ever more men to the moon. No Requiem for the Space Age offers a narrative of the 1960s and 1970s unlike any told before, with the story of Apollo as the story of America itself in a time of dramatic cultural change"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Peru - Culture Smart! - John Forrest
Call Number: 985.0644 Forrest 2012
ISBN: 9781857336672
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
The essential guide to customs and culture.

Cover Art
Rebalancing U. S. Forces: basing and forward presence in the Asia-Pacific - Carnes Lord (Editor); Andrew S. Erickson (Editor)
Call Number: 355.03307305 Lord
ISBN: 9781612514659
Publication Date: 2014-05-15
Guam and American security in the Pacific / Andrew S. Erickson and Justin Mikolay -- Japanese bases and Chinese missiles / Toshi Yoshihara -- South Korea: an alliance in transition / Terence Roehrig -- The U.S. strategic relationship with Australia / Jack McCaffrie and Chris Rahman -- Singapore: forward operating site / Chris Rahman -- Diego Garcia and American security in the Indian Ocean / Walter C. Ladwig III, Andrew S. Erickson, and Justin D. Mikolay -- U.S. bases and domestic politics in Central Asia / Alexander Cooley -- The role of sea basing / Sam J. Tangredi

Cover Art
Sexual Assault in the Military: a guide for victims and families - Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott; Don Philpott; Jeff Scott
Call Number: 362.883 Scott
ISBN: 9781442227507
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
The problem -- Categories of sexual harassment -- Impediments to reporting -- Sexual assault and mental health -- Case studies -- pt. 2. Solutions -- Military discipline and conduct -- Initiatives to combat sexual assault in the military -- Reducing your risk of sexual assault -- Training -- Resources

Cover Art
Thailand - Culture Smart! - Roger Jones
Call Number: 959.3 Jones 2014
ISBN: 9781857336917
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
The essential guide to customs and culture.

Cover Art
The Mantle of Command: FDR at War, 1941-1942 - Nigel Hamilton
Call Number: 940.541273 Hamilton
ISBN: 9780547775241
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
An in-depth analysis of FDR's leadership during the Second World War reveals how he assumed control over key decisions to launch a successful trial landing in North Africa to shift the war in favor of Allied forces.

Cover Art
The New Era in U. S. National Security: an introduction to emerging threats and challenges - Jack A. Jarmon
Call Number: 355.033073 Jarmon
ISBN: 9781442224100
Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Part I: the establishment and the national security environment -- The national security establishment -- Policies and processes in the new geopolitics -- Industrial age warfare and information age weapons -- The new arena of conflict and economic competition -- Part II: current, emerging, and impending threats and challenges -- The maritime supply chain: vast, diverse, and anarchic -- The gatekeeper's challenge -- The cyber war: new battlefronts, old and new enemies -- Cyber guerilla war -- Terrorism versus crime -- Building a global network -- Chemical biological radiological and nuclear: the chemical threat -- Chemical biological radiological and nuclear: the biological threat -- Chemical biological radiological and nuclear: the radiological nuclear threat -- Part III: policy implications and the public private partnership -- Industrial policy and defense policy

Cover Art
The Shallows: what the Internet is doing to our brains - Nicholas Carr
Call Number: 612.8 Carr 2011
ISBN: 9780393339758
Publication Date: 2011-06-06
Discusses the intellectual and cultural consequences of the Internet, and how it may be transforming our neural pathways for the worse.

Cover Art
Think Like a Freak - Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: 153.43 Levitt
ISBN: 9780062218339
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
The New York Times bestselling authors of Freakonomics offer a blueprint for an entirely new way to solve problems, whether your interest lies in minor lifehacks or major global reforms. Levitt and Dubner take us inside their thought process and teach us all to think a bit more productively, more creatively, more rationally-- to think, that is, like a Freak. Whether your interest lies in minor lifehacks or major global reforms, you'll learn to put away your moral compass, think like a child, and discover how incentives rule our world.

Cover Art
Turkey - Culture Smart! - Charlotte McPherson
Call Number: 915.61 McPherson
ISBN: 9781857336931
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
The essential guide to customs and culture.

Cover Art
Unbroken - Laura Hillenbrand
Call Number: 940.547252092 Hillenbrand
ISBN: 9780812974492
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared--Lt. Louis Zamperini. Captured by the Japanese and driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor.

Cover Art
Venezuela - Culture Smart! - Russell Maddicks
Call Number: 918.7 Maddicks
ISBN: 9781857336573
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
The essential guide to customs and culture.

Cover Art
Workplace Security Essentials: a guide for helping organizations create safe work environments - Eric N. Smith
Call Number: 658.473 Smith
ISBN: 9780124165571
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
A practical how-to guide for improving workplace safety and security without spending significant resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip