This is the "Home" page of the "Leadership Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Leadership Resources  

These resources cover topics in military science and leadership.
Last Updated: Aug 17, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/leadership Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal articles and Professional Papers on Leadership

  • Developing Military Human Resources Managers for Senior Level Positions
    To develop HR leaders for the future the HR community should become more agile and innovative in its leader development programs. More importantly the development of MHRMs should be a deliberate process where education training and unique developmental assignments will provide MHRMs with skills and competencies to fully support a transforming Army.

  • Developing Strategic Leaders in the NCO and Warrant Officer Corps
    Military leadership already seeks NCOs and warrant officers at the strategic level to serve as leaders and advisors. NCOs and warrant officers are expected to grasp, understand and interact in more complex and sophisticated situations.
  • Returning to Army Leadership
    The paper examines various definitions of leadership, and then describes an Army leader, General George C. Marshall, who set the standard for Army leadership. Two other great Army leaders are briefly discussed: General Maxwell Taylor and General Omar Bradley. The paper also contains sections on the theories of leadership and corporate leadership and management. It makes recommendations regarding how the Army can return to its heritage and revise its leadership programs to develop the next generation of Army leaders.
  • Strategic Leadership Principles to Shape the Future
    Vision determines the direction of any organization. Character inspires confidence in the leader and in those he leads. Competence is the ability to say it and do it in such a way that others want to follow. The challenge of effective leadership is to get the best out of one's subordinates. Vision, character, and competence are the three strategic leadership principles necessary to achieve the mission and shape the future of any organization.
  • The Strategic Partnership Between Commanders and Civilian Human Resource Leaders in Department of Army
    Partnerships between commanders and CHR leaders can exist. Army can and should take specific actions soon, to ensure that Army's CHR professionals can design and execute strategies supporting the commander and enhancing mission accomplishment.
 

SSI Library Print, Ebooks and Audiobooks

Resources here include print titles available in the library, as well as ebooks from EBSCOhost and Ebrary and Audiobooks available in both cd and online format.

Cover Art
7 Leadership Lessons of the American Revolution - John Antal
Call Number: 973.3 Antal -- ONLINE EBSCOHOST SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781612002026
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
On these pages you learn about real people facing historic challenges and overcoming what reasonable observers believed were insurmountable odds. More reasonable people might have surrendered or given up. Many reasonable people did. These leaders, thankfully, were unreasonable for the cause of Liberty.

Cover Art
The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership - John C. Maxwell
Call Number: 658.4 M4655
ISBN: 9780785288374
Publication Date: 2007-09-18
•Every Law of Leadership has been sharpened and updated
•Seventeen new leadership stories are included
•Two new Laws of Leadership are introduced
•New evaluation tool will reveal your leadership strengths-and weaknesses
•New application exercises in every chapter will help you grow

Cover Art
The 360 Degree Leader - John C. Maxwell
Call Number: 658.4092 Maxwell
ISBN: 0785260927
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
Is it possible to lead well when you are not the top dog? How about if the person you work for is a bad leader? The answer is a resounding yes! Welcome to the 360 degree leader! People who desire to lead from the middle of organizations face unique challenges. And they are often held back by myths that prevent them from developing their influence.

Cover Art
The Accidental Admiral: a sailor takes command at NATO / Adm. James Stavridis, USN (Ret.). - A. D. M. James G. Stavridis USN (Ret.)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781612517049
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Leadership chapters include: Leadership challenges and pitfalls: McChrystal, Petraeus, Allen, . . . and me -- Tricks of the trade: how leaders make things happen -- The postman never rings twice: strategic communication

Cover Art
Adapt: why success always starts with failure - Tim Harford
Call Number: 155.24 Harford
ISBN: 1250007550
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
This book outlines a counterintuitive approach to changing the world by assessing its failures, drawing on myriad disciplines to argue that complex challenges must be met through adaptive trial-and-error practices that do not depend on expert opinions or ready-made solutions. The author shows us a new and inspiring approach to solving the most pressing problems in our lives.

Cover Art
The Art of Command: Leadership Lessons from George Washington to Colin Powell - Harry S. Laver (Editor); Jeffrey J. Matthews (Editor)
Call Number: 320.973 P45 2011
ISBN: 9780813125138
Publication Date: 2008-10-17
The book illustrates that great leaders become great through conscious effort -- a commitment not only to develop vital skills but also to surmount personal shortcomings.

Cover Art
Authentic Leadership - Bill George
Call Number: 658.4092 G347
ISBN: 0787969133
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
Bill George makes the case that we need new leaders, not just new laws, to bring us out of the current corporate crisis. Authentic leaders of mission driven companies will create far greater shareholder value than financially oriented companies.

Cover Art
Company Commander - Charles B. MacDonald
Call Number: 940.54 M135
ISBN: 1580800386
Publication Date: 1999-10-19
"The classic infantry memoir of World War II-- from the Battle of the Bluge to the crossing of the Rhine"--Cover.

Cover Art
Courage: the backbone of leadership - Gus Lee; Diane Elliott-Lee
Call Number: 658.4092 L4387 2006
ISBN: 0787981370
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
"Scandals in business and politics are the lead stories on the national news. Aside from public outrage, not much has changed. This is because the power to change does not come from information, but from modeling and practicing the learnable behaviors of courage. Many of us tolerate unethical acts, emotional abuse, and routine moral weakness. At work, we look away from character failings, tolerate ethical compromises, avoid conflict, and feel stuck in moral gridlock. Yet studies show that ethical businesses profit more in the long term and that morally courageous leaders inspire their organizations toward sustained success. In other words, integrity and character drive profits." "In Courage, Gus Lee captures the essential component of leadership in measurable behaviors. Using actual stories from Whirlpool, Kaiser Permanente, IntegWare, WorldCom and other organizations, Lee shows how highly successful executives face and overcome their fears to develop moral intelligence. These real-world examples offer practical lessons for rooting out unethical practices and behaviors."--Jacket

Cover Art
Credibility - James M. Kouzes; Barry Z. Posner
Call Number: 658.4 K8493c
ISBN: 155542550X
Publication Date: 1993-08-17

Cover Art
Designing Human Resource Management Systems - Jayant Mukherjee
Call Number: ONLINE Ebscohost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9788132108962
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Designing Human Resource Management Systems provides a framework for designing and implementing Human Resource Management systems in various kinds of organizations, even those with limited resources. The coverage of concepts and relevant theories pertaining to each system and sub-system—job analysis, human resource planning, recruitment and selection, performance management, training and development, 360-degree feedback, mentoring and executive coaching, and reward management— is comprehensive, but presented in brief. The book has relevant tools, questionnaires, forms, policies, and other aspects of utility for designing each HRM sub-system.

Cover Art
Enduring Battle - Christopher Hamner
Call Number: 355.330973 Hamner
ISBN: 9780700617753
Publication Date: 2011-04-07
The evolving character of infantry combat -- Fear in combat -- Training -- Leadership -- Weaponry -- Comradeship

Cover Art
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A leadership fable. - Patrick Lencioni
Call Number: 658.4 L563
ISBN: 9780787960759
Publication Date: 2002-04-11

Cover Art
The Future of Work - Jacob Morgan
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781118877241
Publication Date: 2014-08-25
Five trends shaping the world of work -- The Cog: Today's employee -- Seven principles of the future employee -- Freelancer economy -- Zookeeper: today's manager -- Ten principles of the future manager -- Managerless company -- Organization of today -- Fourteen principles of the future organization -- Technology as the central nervous system -- Six-step process for adapting to the future of work -- Rethinking work.

Cover Art
Harder Than I Thought - Robert D. Austin; Richard L. Nolan; Shannon O'Donnell; Walter Dixon (Read by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781469024646
Publication Date: 2013-03-13
As events in each chapter push Barton to the edge of his abilities, he seeks council from a panel of expert advisors. These collaborative reflections invite you to apply the lessons to your own situation. Experts agree that many 20th century leadership practices are inadequate to the stormy 21st century present. This engaging and provocative audio book equips you with the insights you'll need to rise with the occasion of a rapidly shifting business landscape.

Cover Art
Harvard Business Review on Leadership - Harvard Business Review Staff
Call Number: 658.4 H339
ISBN: 0875848834
Publication Date: 1998-09-01

Cover Art
Hope Is Not a Method: What business leaders can learn from America's Army - Gordon R. Sullivan
Call Number: 658.4092 S949 1996
ISBN: 0812927877
Publication Date: 1996-10-08
Remarkably, since the end of the Cold War, the Army has been transformed more thoroughly - and more successfully - than any business. It has retooled for the Information Age, tackled and mastered a bewildering array of new missions, and moved to shed decades-old bureaucratic methods - all while dramatically downsizing. In Hope Is Not a Method, General Gordon R. Sullivan, the Army Chief of Staff who led the transformation, and Colonel Michael V. Harper, one of his key strategic planners and thinkers, provide. businesspeople with the practical lessons of their experience.

Cover Art
HR at Your Service: lessons from benchmark service organizations - Robert C. Ford; Gary P. Latham
Call Number: EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781586442798
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Access available at SSI Fort Jackson.

Chapter 4. Creating and Leading a Client-Centric Culture.
Chapter 10. Sustaining HR’s Value to the Top Management Team: HR Managers as Service Leaders.

Cover Art
Leaders Eat Last: why some teams pull together and others don't / Simon Sinek - Simon Sinek
Call Number: 658.4092 Sinek 2014 and Audio CD 658.4092 Sinek 2014
ISBN: 1591845327
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Sinek is back to reveal the next step in creating happier and healthier organizations. He helps us understand, in simple terms, the biology of trust and cooperation and why they're essential to our success and fulfillment. Organizations that create environments in which trust and cooperation thrive vastly out perform their competition. And, not coincidentally, their employees love working there. But "truly human" cultures don't just happen; they are intentionally created by great leaders. Leaders who, in hard times, would sooner sacrifice their numbers to protect their people, rather than sacrifice people to protect their numbers, are rewarded with deeply loyal teams that consistently contribute their best efforts, ideas and passion."

Cover Art
Leadership - Christopher Kolenda (Editor); Barry R. McCaffrey (Foreword by); Gordon Sullivan (Contribution by); Conrad C. Crane (Contribution by); Frederick W. Kagan (Contribution by)
Call Number: 355.33041 K81
ISBN: 0970968205
Publication Date: 2004-09-01

Cover Art
Leadership and Command in the American Civil War - Steven E. Woodworth
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781940669076
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Leadership and Command is a unique collection of five carefully-crafted essays by leading scholars, each dealing with an important and understudied slice of history from the epic events of 1861-1865.

Cover Art
Leadership and Spirit: breathing new vitality and energy into individuals and organizations - Russ S. Moxley
Call Number: 658.4 M937
ISBN: 0787909491
Publication Date: 1999-11-12
Here, Moxley explains what spirit is and shows why leadership and spirit must be woven together. He analyzes prevalent leadership practices and demonstrates how many of those practices cause spirit to whither and wane. He focuses on the skills and behaviors that give voice to our true selves and increase our capacity to engage in the activity of leadership. And he demonstrates how spirited leadership serves to create a totally engaged workforce; one that brings the whole person-mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual-to work. Most of us have experienced the difference and realized the impact it can have on individuals and organizations: Leadership can be practiced in ways that either suffocate the spirit or liberate its boundless potential.

Cover Art
Leading at the Edge: leadership lessons from the extraordinary saga of Shackleton's Antarctic expedition - Dennis N. T. Perkins; Margaret P. Holtman (As told to); Paul R. Kessler; Catherine McCarthy (As told to); Jillian B. Murphy (As told to)
Call Number: 658.4092 Perkins 2012
ISBN: 9780814431948
Publication Date: 2012-03-28
Ten strategies for leading at the edge

Cover Art
Leadership by Example - Sanjiv Chopra; David Fisher
Call Number: 303.34 C464 2012
ISBN: 9780312594909
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
An inspirational guide to positive leadership draws on the author's presentations of his "LEADERSHIP" mnemonic to outline accessible strategies for listening, demonstrating empathy, and behaving in principled ways

Cover Art
Leadership in the Crucible - Kenneth E. Hamburger
Call Number: 951.904 H1997 -- Print and EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781585442324
Publication Date: 2003-04-07
Annotation At the pivotal battles of Twin Tunnels and Chipyong-ni in February 1951, U.N. forces met and contained large-scale attacks by Chinese forces. Col. Paul Freeman and the larger-than-life Col. Ralph Monclar led the American 23rd Infantry Regiment and the French Bataillon de Coree, respectively. In this careful consideration of combat leadership at all levels, Kenneth E. Hamburger details the actions of these units, offering stories of men sustaining themselves and one another to the limits of human endurance. He analyzes the roles that training, cohesion, morale, logistics, and leadership play in success or failure on the front lines, providing a well-organized discussion that is sure to become a classic in the field of leadership studies. Lt. Gen. Matthew Ridgway, Eighth Army commander, and Lt. Col. Ralph Monclar, the French Battalion commander, March 1951.

Cover Art
Leadership Lessons from the Civil War - Tom Wheeler
Call Number: 303.3 W564L
ISBN: 0385495188
Publication Date: 1999-12-28

Cover Art
Leading Change - John P. Kotter
Call Number: 658.4 K87
ISBN: 0875847471
Publication Date: 1996-09-01

Cover Art
Leading Quietly - Joseph L. Badaracco
Call Number: 658.4092 B132
ISBN: 1578514878
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
"Most of us think of leaders as courageous risk takers, orchestrators of major events - in a word, heroes. Yet while such figures are inspiring and admirable, Harvard Business School Professor Joseph Badaracco argues that their larger-than-life accomplishments are simply not what makes the world work. What does, he says, is the sum of millions of small yet consequential decisions that men and women working far from the limelight make every day: how a line worker for a pharmaceutical company responds when he discovers a defect in a product's safety seal; how a manager deals with a valued employee suspected of stealing; how a trader handles a transaction error that will cost a client money." "Badaracco calls them "quiet leaders" - people who choose responsible, behind-the-scenes action over public heroism to resolve tough leadership challenges. These indidviduals don't fit the stereotype of the bold and gutsy leader, and they don't want to. What they want is to do the "right thing" for their organizations, their coworkers, and themselves - but inconspicuously and without casualties. They do so by being baldly realistic about the complexities of their own motives and those of the dilemmas they face. In today's fast and fluid business world, nothing is as it seems. And they know it." "Drawing from a four-year study of quiet leadership, Badaracco presents eight practical and counterintuitive guidelines for confronting situations in which right and wrong seem like moving targets. Grounding each strategy in an engaging story, he shows how these "non-heroes" succeed by managing their political capital, buying themselves time, bending the rules, and more."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
Leading Up - Michael Useem
Call Number: 658.4 U847
ISBN: 1400047005
Publication Date: 2003-03-25

Cover Art
Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead - Sheryl Sandberg
Call Number: 658.4092082 Sandberg 2013
ISBN: 9780385349949
Publication Date: 2013-03-11
In this book the author examines why women's progress in achieving leadership roles has stalled, explains the root causes, and offers solutions that can empower women to achieve their full potential. She is the chief operating officer of Facebook and is ranked on Fortune magazine's list of the 50 Most Powerful Women in Business and as one of Time magazine's 100 Most Influential People in the World. In 2010, she gave an electrifying TEDTalk in which she described how women unintentionally hold themselves back in their careers. Her talk, which became a phenomenon and has been viewed more than two million times, encouraged women to "sit at the table," seek challenges, take risks, and pursue their goals with gusto.

Cover Art
Patton on Leadership - Alan Axelrod
Call Number: 658.4 A969p
ISBN: 0735200912
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
"Always remember that it is much better to waste ammunition than lives." Ch. 99. Quote from Patton.

Cover Art
The Power of Latino Leadership - Juana Bordas
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781609948887
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
What does it take to lead such a varied and vibrant people who hail from twenty-two different countries and are a blend of different races? And what can leaders of all cultures and ethnicities learn from how Latinos lead? Juana Bordas takes us on a journey to the very heart and soul of Latino leadership. She offers ten principles that richly illustrate the inclusive, people-oriented, socially responsible, and life-affirming way Latinos have led their communities. Bordas includes the voices and experiences of other distinguished Latino leaders and vivid dichos (traditional sayings) that illustrate positive aspects of the Latino culture.

Cover Art
Primal Leadership: Realizing the power of emotional intelligence - Daniel Goleman; Richard E. Boyatzis; Annie McKee
Call Number: 658.4092 G625
ISBN: 157851486x
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
If a leader resonates energy and enthusiasm, an organization thrives; if a leader spreads negativity and dissonance, it flounders. This breakthrough concept charges leaders with driving emotions in the right direction to have a positive impact on strategy.

Cover Art
Sherman. Great Leader Series. - Steven E. Woodworth; Wesley K. Clark (Contribution by, Foreword by)
Call Number: 355.0092 W9126
ISBN: 9780230620629
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
"He was the second most famous of the Union generals and a man who used his skill and insight not only to blaze a trail of destruction across the American South but also to create a new form of maneuver, a 'strategy of the indirect.'" -- from the Foreword.

Cover Art
The Starfish and the Spider - Ori Brafman; Rod Beckstrom; Rod A. Beckstrom
Call Number: 302.35 B8129
ISBN: 1591841836
Publication Date: 2008-07-29

Cover Art
Switch - Chip Heath; Dan Heath
Call Number: 303.4 H4376
ISBN: 9780385528757
Publication Date: 2010-02-16

Cover Art
Taking the Guidon: Exceptional Leadership at the Company Level - Nate Allen and Tony Burgess
Call Number: 355 A428
ISBN: 0967829216
Publication Date: 2001
"...an absolute must read for all young officers preparing for company command." -- MG John G. Meyer, Jr. from the Foreward.

Cover Art
Washington: Lessons in Leadership. Great Leader Series. - Gerald M. Carbone
Call Number: ONLINE EBSChost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780230617070
Publication Date: 2009-12-22
Washington influenced every phase of the Revolutionary war, from beginning to end. He left his mark with strategies and a vision of the Revolution as a war of attrition. His offenses were as brilliant as they were unpredictable, such as his legendary Christmas Day strike at Trenton, and a bold foray through the fog to nearly drive the British from the field at Germantown. It was an aggressive attack that helped convince the French that the American Army was worth supporting. In Washington, award-winning author Gerald M. Carbone argues that it is this sort of fearless but not reckless, spontaneous but calculated, offensive that Washington should be remembered for—as a leader not of infallibility but of greatness

Cover Art
West Point Way of Leadership - Larry R. Donnithorne; E. Hall; Larry Donnithorne
Call Number: 658.4 D868
ISBN: 0385417039
Publication Date: 1993-12-15

 

Books 24X7 Army Leadership Titles

Access Ebooks with Army E-learning authentication. Books24x7 database can be accessed on mobile devices.

Cover Art
The 21 Indispensable Qualities of a Leader - John C. Maxwell
Call Number: Access online
ISBN: 9780785274407
Publication Date: 1999-06-22


Cover Art
Bootstrap Leadership - Steve Arneson
Call Number: Access Online
ISBN: 9781605093451
Publication Date: 2010-05-10

Cover Art
How to Grow Leaders - John Adair
Call Number: Access Online
ISBN: 9780749443634
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Cover Art
The Leadership Challenge - James M. Kouzes; Barry Z. Posner
Call Number: 658.4 K8493L and Access Online
ISBN: 9780787984922
Publication Date: 2008-08-04


Cover Art
No Excuse Leadership - Brace E. Barber
Call Number: Access Online
ISBN: 9780471488033
Publication Date: 2004-01-05

Cover Art
On War and Leadership - Owen Connelly
Call Number: Access Online
ISBN: 9780691123691
Publication Date: 2005-09-26

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip