This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Kings Mountain, October 7, 1780, and the Southern Campaign of the American Revolution." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Kings Mountain, October 7, 1780, and the Southern Campaign of the American Revolution.   Tags: ssi staff ride resources. revolutionary war. southern campaign  

This guide provides links to online resources, Staff Ride study materials, books (print and ebooks) for the study of the Southern Campaign during the American Revolutionary War.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/kingsmountain Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print and EBooks

Print books and Ebooks on Kings Mountain and the Southern Campaign of the American Revolution.

 

A Battlefield Atlas of the American Revolution - Craig L. Symonds; William J. Clipson (Illustrator)
Call Number: 911.73 S988b
ISBN: 0933852533
Publication Date: 1986-06-01
Part Four: The War Moves South. MAP 33 - King's Mountain. Map 34: Cowpens. Map 35: Guilford Courthouse.

Cover Art
The American Revolution in the Southern Colonies - David Lee Russell
Call Number: 973.33 R962
ISBN: 0786407832
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The origin of the five Southern colonies - Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia - their development, the role of patriot and loyalist Southerner, and critical battles are examined. Included is a discussion of the leadership of the British forces and of the colonial patriots who inspired common citizens to fight for the sake of American independence."--BOOK JACKET

Cover Art
Angel in the Whirlwind - Benson Bobrick
Call Number: 973.3 Bobrick
ISBN: 0140275002
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
He thrillingly describes the major battles, from Lexington and Concord to Bunker Hill, Trenton, Saratoga, Camden, and Kings Mountain, and then the climactic siege of Yorktown when the British flag of empire was finally lowered before patriots guns. At the same time, Angel in the Whirlwind weaves together the social and political as well as the military history of the struggle into one epic tale. A variety of voices is represented.

Cover Art
Battle of Kings Mountain 1780, with Fire and Sword - Wilma Dykeman; Louis S. Glanzman (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.336 D996
ISBN: 9780912627533
Publication Date: 1991-10-01

Cover Art
The Battle of King's Mountain: Eyewitness Accounts - Robert Dunkerly
Call Number: 973.336 D919
ISBN: 9781596292369
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
"The battle that turned the tide of the American Revolution." In October 1780, American Patriot and Loyalist soldiers battled each other at Kings Mountain, near the border of North and South Carolina. Containing over one hundred eyewitness accounts, including Loyalist accounts, this collection is rife with previously unpublished details of this historic turning point in the Revolution.

Cover Art
Battles of the Revolutionary War - W. J. Wood
Call Number: 973.33 W881 & EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780306813290
Publication Date: 2003-12-25
Access Online via EBSCOhost SSI Collection.

Battles of the Revolutionary War is designed for the armchair strategist with dozens of illustrations of the weapons, battle plans and combatants. Americans won their independence on the battlefield by employing superior strategies, tactics and leadership in the battles of Bunker Hill, Quebec, Trenton, Princeton and Saratoga and Cowpens.

Commanders at King's Mountain - JD Bailey
Call Number: 973.336 B1547
Publication Date: 1980

Cover Art
The Historical Atlas of the American Revolution - Ian Barnes; Charles Royster (Editor)
Call Number: 973.3 B261
ISBN: 0415922437
Publication Date: 2000-08-03
This large, beautifully illustrated, historically authoritative book explores the momentous events of the American Revolution in an eminently readable & visually stunning manner.

Historical Sketch of the Battle of King's Mountain - Rev. Robert Lathan
Call Number: ONLINE Internet Archive
Publication Date: 1880

Cover Art
How America Fought Its Wars: Military Strategy from the American Revolution to the Civil War - Victor D. Brooks; Robert Hohwald
Call Number: 355.020973 Brooks 1999
ISBN: 1580970028
Publication Date: 1999-03-21
ch. 12. The year of Patriot Crisis and Triumph: King's Mountain to Yorktown.

Cover Art
King's Mountain: The defeat of the Loyalists, October 7, 1780. - Dave Dameron
Call Number: 973.336 D157
ISBN: 0306811944
Publication Date: 2003-10-16
In the summer of 1780, while British troops roamed the southern countryside striking fear into the hearts of rebels, a hardy group of "over-the-mountain men" from Tennessee vowed to defend their families and farms. At Kings Mountain, in northwest South Carolina, this small volunteer contingent of frontiersmen met the British in early October. The American victory there forced the British to retreat and turned the tide in the American Revolution's southern campaign.

Cover Art
The Day It Rained Militia - Michael C. Scoggins; Walter B. Edgar (Foreword by)
Call Number: 973.336 S422
ISBN: 1596290153
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
In a July of 1780, when the Revolutionary War in the Southern States seemed doomed to failure, a small but important battle took place on James Williamson's plantation in waht is now York County, South Carolina. The Battle of Williamson's Plantation paved the way for the calamitous defeats that the British suffered at Hanging Rock, Musgrove's Mill, Kings Mountain, Blackstock's Plantation and Cowpens, all in the South Carolina back country

Cover Art
This Destructive War - John S. Pancake
Call Number: 973.3309756 P188
ISBN: 0817306889
Publication Date: 1985-02-28
"This volume deals with the American Revolution in the Carolinas. Pancake tells the gripping story of the southern campaign, the scene of a grim and deadly guerilla war."

Cover Art
King's Mountain and Its Heroes - Lyman C. Draper
Call Number: 973.336 D765
ISBN: 1570720606
Publication Date: 1996-01-01

Cover Art
The King's Mountain Men - Katherine Keogh White
Call Number: ONLINE Through Internet Archive
ISBN: 9780806303833
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Cover Art
One Heroic Hour at King's Mountain - Pat Alderman
Call Number: 973.336 A361
ISBN: 0932807402
Publication Date: 1968-01-01

Cover Art
The Overmountain Men - Pat Alderman
Call Number: 973.336 A361
ISBN: 093280716X
Publication Date: 1970-01-01

Cover Art
Partisans and Redcoats - Walter B. Edgar
Call Number: 973.3 E23
ISBN: 0380977605
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Recounts South Carolina's role during the Revolutionary War, describing the British occupation of Charleston, the brutal massacre of innocent civilians throughout the Carolina backcountry, and the desperate struggle of patriots against overwhelming forces.

Cover Art
The Road to Guilford Courthouse - John Buchanan
Call Number: 973.393 B918
ISBN: 9780471327165
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
The story of the British attempt to recapture the Carolinas, from the Battle for Sullivan's Island with "William Moultrie and his raw South Carolinians" to "the campaign's riveting climax at Guilford Courthouse."--Jacket. Includes such figures as Lord Cornwallis, Sir Henry Clinton, Lieutenant Colonel Banastre Tarleton, Brigadier General Thomas Sumter, Brigadier General Daniel Morgan, James Collins, David Henry, Thomas young, and Major General Nathanael Greene

Cover Art
From Savannah to Yorktown - Henry Lumpkin
Call Number: 973.337
ISBN: 0595000975
Publication Date: 2000-03-31
This book sketches many of the colorful field commanders, discusses the weaponry and uniforms and above all unfolds the battle events, strategy and tactics.

Southern Campaigns of the American Revolution - Dan Morrill
Call Number: 973.3 M874
ISBN: 9781877853210
Publication Date: 1999-08-01

Cover Art
The South Carolina Encyclopedia Guide to the American Revolution in South Carolina - Walter B. Edgar
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost.
ISBN: 9781611171495
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Access Online via EBSCOhost.
See page 56 ff.


Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip