This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, July 1-3, 1863" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Often called the most significant battle of the US Civil War.
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/gettysburg Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Staff Ride and CMH Publications

Professional Papers and Journal Articles

 

Books -- Ebook, Print and Audiobook

See Librarian for access options for Ebrary and EBSCOhost SSI Collections.

Cover Art
100 Decisive Battles: from ancient times to the present - Paul K. Davis
Call Number: 904.7 D263
ISBN: 0195143663
Publication Date: 2001-06-14
Gettysburg (1863)

Cover Art
The American Civil War: the emergence of total warfare - Robert Doughty; Ira Gruber; Roy K. Flint; Mark Grimsley; George C. Herring; Donald D. Horward; John A. Lynn; Williamson Murray
Call Number: 973.73 A512
ISBN: 0669416800
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
see chapters: American Military Policy, 1783-1860: The Beginnings of Professionalism. Vicksburg and Gettysburg

Cover Art
American Scoundrel: the life of the notorious Civil War General Dan Sickles - Thomas Keneally
Call Number: 355.0092 Keneally
ISBN: 9780385501392
Publication Date: 2002-04-09
American Scoundrel is the extraordinary story of this powerful mid-nineteenth century politician.
Once free to resume his life, Dan Sickles raised a regiment for the Union political elite and went on to become a general in the army, rising to the rank of brigadier general and commanding a flank at the Battle of Gettysburg in a maneuver so controversial it is still argued over by scholars today. After losing a leg in that battle, Sickles fought on and after the war became military governor of South Carolina, and later was named minister to Spain, where he continued astonishingly to conduct his amorous assignations.

Cover Art
Battles That Changed American History - Spencer C. Tucker
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781440828614
Publication Date: 2014
The 100 battles spotlighted in this work--which include defeats as well as victories--are deemed to have had the greatest impact on American history. Spanning more than 500 years of military events, the book begins its coverage with the Battle of Mabila in 1540 during the Age of Discovery and ends with the Second Battle of Fallujah during the Iraq War/Insurgency in 2004.

Cover Art
Battles That Changed the Modern World - Dale Anderson; Garry Gerstle (Contribution by)
Call Number: 904 A546B
ISBN: 0811449289
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Presents highlights of twenty battles which changed the modern world, including the three days at Gettysburg, the bombing of Guernica, the Tet offensive, and the Six-Day War.

Cover Art
Castles, Battles, and Bombs: how economics explains military history - Jurgen Brauer; Hubert van Tuyll
Call Number: 355.0273 Brauer 2008
ISBN: 0226071642
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The age of revolution, 1789-1914: the case of the American Civil War and the economics of information asymmetry -- Information and warfare -- North, South, and the search for information -- Major Eastern campaigns through Gettysburg -- Grant in Virginia -- The American Civil War and the other principles of economics -- Conclusion

Cover Art
The Cavalry at Gettysburg: a tactical study of mounted operations during the Civil War's pivotal campaign, 9 June-14 July 1863 / Edward G. Longacre. - Edward G. Longacre; Edward Longacre
Call Number: 973.7 L849
ISBN: 0803279418
Publication Date: 1993-02-01

Cover Art
Clouds of Glory: the life and legend of Robert E. Lee / - Michael Korda
Call Number: 973.73092 Korda 2014 and AUDIO CD 973.73092 Korda 2014
ISBN: 0062116290
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Michael Korda paints a vivid and admiring portrait of Lee as a brilliant general, a devoted family man, and principled gentleman who disliked slavery and disagreed with secession, yet who refused command of the Union Army in 1861 because he could not "draw his sword" against his beloved Virginia. Well-rounded and realistic, Clouds of Glory analyzes Lee's command during the Civil War and explores his responsibility for the fatal stalemate at Antietam, his defeat at Gettysburg (as well the many troubling controversies still surrounding it), and ultimately, his failed strategy for winning the war. As Korda shows, Lee's dignity, courage, leadership, and modesty made him a hero on both sides of the Mason-Dixon Line and a revered American icon who is recognized today as the nation's preeminent military leader.

Cover Art
Commanding the Storm: Civil War Battles in the Words of the Generals Who Fought Them - John Richard Stephens
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780762782239
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
From Beauregard and Custer to Lee and Sherman, twelve commanders from each side vividly describe what they and their men experienced at twelve of the war's most legendary battles from Fort Sumter to Appomattox Court House in accounts gathered from letters, memoirs, reports, and testimonies. They relate noted incidents and personal triumphs and tragedies while covering strategies and explaining battlefield decisions. Trench warfare at Petersburg and Sherman's scorched earth policy in Georgia foreshadowed the world wars to come, and technological advancements.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Battles in North America - L. Edward Purcell; Sarah J. Purcell
Call Number: 970 Purcell
ISBN: 0816033501
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
See section on Gettysburg, pp. 128-130.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a political, social, and military history / David S. Heidler and Jeanne T. Heidler, editors - David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler (Editor); David J. Coles (Editor); Gary W. Gallagher (Editor); James M. McPherson; Mark E. Neeley (Editor)
Call Number: REF 973.7 E56
ISBN: 1576070662
Publication Date: 2000-12-13

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War - David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler
Call Number: 973.7 Heidler 2000
ISBN: 039304758X
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
The definitive reference work on the Civil War, this thorough and wide-ranging volume, rich with over 500 illustrations, 75 maps, and 250 primary source documents, offers more than 1,600 entries that chart the war's strategic aims, analyze diplomatic and political maneuvering, describe key military actions, sketch important participants, assess developments in military science, and discuss the social and financial impact of the conflict. Written by today's leading Civil War scholars, the essays are authoritative and easily accessible to anyone with a passion for American history.

Cover Art
Field Armies and Fortifications in the Civil War : the Eastern campaigns, 1861-1864 - Earl J. Hess
Call Number: 973.73 Hess 2005
ISBN: 0807829315
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
See the chapter: Gettysburg and Lee's Pennsylvania campaign.

The eastern campaigns of the Civil War involved the widespread use of field fortifications, from Big Bethel and the Peninsula to Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Charleston, and Mine Run. While many of these fortifications were meant to last only as long as the battle and often were not detailed in official records, Earl J. Hess argues that their history is deeply significant. Even before the onset of trench warfare at the Wilderness in May 1864, the Civil War saw more use of fieldworks than did any previous conflict in Western history."

Cover Art
Fields of Battle: The Wars for North America - John Keegan
Call Number: 355 K26
ISBN: 067942413X
Publication Date: 1996-05-07
He shows how the unique character of the American terrain and climate, and the inevitable competition for the land's wealth of natural resources, dictated why men fortified where they did, campaigned as they did, and were drawn to those battlefields - Yorktown, Gettysburg, Bull Run, to mention only a few - whose names are now part of our mythology. Drawing upon more than thirty years of experience researching and writing about warfare throughout recorded time, Keegan brings his unique understanding to bear on all the famed engagements of our military history, including Wolfe's victory over Montcalm at Quebec, the legendary battles of the Revolutionary War (as Keegan explains, Washington knew particularly well how to use space and distance), and, of course, the colossal campaigns of the Civil War.

Cover Art
Fight Like the Devil: the first day at Gettysburg, July 1, 1863 - Chris Mackowski; Daniel Davis; Kristopher D. White
Call Number: 973.7349 Mackowski 2015
ISBN: 1611212278
Publication Date: 2015-04-20
The campaign -- First shots -- Fight like the devil -- Herbst Woods -- The death of John Reynolds -- The railroad cut -- Oak Hill -- Oak Ridge -- The XI Corps arrives -- Collapse -- The brickyard -- The key to the battlefield -- Cemetery Hill.

Cover Art
General James Longstreet - Jeffry D. Wert
Call Number: 973.73092 W499
ISBN: 0671892878
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
see chapter: Gettysburg, July 2, 1863.
General James Longstreet fought in nearly every campaign of the Civil War, from Manassas (the first battle of Bull Run) to Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chickamauga, Gettysburg and was present at the surrender at Appomattox. Yet, he was largely held to blame for the Confederacy's defeat at Gettysburg.

Cover Art
Gentleman and Soldier: a biography of Wade Hampton III / - Edward G. Longacre
Call Number: 973.73092 Longacre 2003
ISBN: 9781558539648
Publication Date: 2003-07-16
Gentleman and Soldier is the first biography in more than 50 years of Wade Hampton III, a Confederate general whose remarkable life provides sweeping insight into the entire history of the Civil War in teh South. Hampton was a leading citizen of South Carolina before the War, the highest ranking cavalry leader during the War, fought in a remarkable number of battles from Gettysburg to Bentonville, and was South Carolina governor and U.S. Senator after the War.

Cover Art
Gettysburg - A Battlefield Atlas - Craig L. Symonds; William J. Clipson (Contribution by)
Call Number: 973.7349 Symonds
ISBN: 187785316X
Publication Date: 1992-03-01

Cover Art
Gettysburg: A journey in time - William A. Frassanito
Call Number: 973.7 F843
ISBN: 0684139243
Publication Date: 1975-01-01

Cover Art
Gettysburg 1863: high tide of the Confederacy - Carl Smith; Adam Hook (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.7349 S644
ISBN: 1855323362
Publication Date: 1998-01-15

Cover Art
The Gettysburg Campaign: A Study in Command - Edwin B. Coddington
Call Number: 973.7349 C669
ISBN: 0684181525
Publication Date: 1984-04-01
Lee prepares for a summer campaign, 1863 -- Hooker marks time -- Brandy Station, a double surprise --
Armies on the move -- Hooker bows out -- Pennsylvania prepares for invasion -- The Confederates plunder Pennsylvania -- The Confederates move to battle --
Meade takes over -- Arms and men -- Reynolds accepts a challenge -- The fruits of victory elude Lee --
Meade prepares for battle -- Lee plans an offensive --
The fight for Little Round Top and the peach orchard --
The whole Union line ablaze -- Lee and Meade ponder and plan -- Unfinished business: the Battle for Culp's Hill, July 3 -- Pickett's charge -- Retreat and pursuit --
Official rosters: Army of the Potomac -- Army of Northern Virginia.

Cover Art
Glory at a Gallop - William R. Brooksher; David K. Snider
Call Number: 973.713 B8738
ISBN: 0028810813
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
See chapter 10. Too Late to Gettysburg: Stuart's Long Ride and Late Arrival at Gettysburg

Cover Art
Glory Road; the bloody route from Fredericksburg to Gettysburg. - Catton, Bruce,
Call Number: 973.741 C369
Publication Date: Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1952.

Cover Art
The guns at Gettysburg - Downey, Fairfax Davis
Call Number: 973.7349 Downey
Publication Date: New York, D. McKay [1958]
Gettysburg: those three days of heroism and error that turned the tide of the Civil War -- has held endless fascination for historians, readers and armchair strategists. Now Fairfax Downey, an artilleryman of two world wars, retells the battle from the gunner's point of view, plotting out the roles of the Union and Confederate fire power.

Cover Art
Hallowed Ground: a walk at Gettysburg - James M. McPherson
Call Number: 973.7349 McPherson 2003
ISBN: 0609610236
Publication Date: 2003-05-13
"[I]n a larger sense, we can not dedicate-we can not consecrate-we can not hallow-this ground. The brave men, living and dead, who struggled here, have consecrated it, far above our power to add or detract."--President Abraham Lincoln. James M. McPherson, the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Battle Cry of Freedom, and arguably the finest Civil War historian in the world, walks us through the site of the bloodiest and perhaps most consequential battle ever fought by Americans. The events that occurred at Gettysburg are etched into our collective memory, as they served to change the course of the Civil War and with it the course of history.

Cover Art
High tide at Gettysburg; the campaign in Pennsylvania. - Tucker, Glenn.
Call Number: 973.73 T892
Publication Date: Indianapolis, Bobbs-Merrill [1958]

Cover Art
A History of War in 100 Battles - Richard Overy
Call Number: 355.0209 Overy 2014
ISBN: 0199390711
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
"Their very names--Gettysburg, Waterloo, Stalingrad--evoke images of great triumph and equally great suffering, moments when history seemed to hang in the balance. Considered in relation to each other, such battles--and others of less immediate renown--offer insight into the changing nature of armed combat, advances in technology, shifts in strategy and thought, as well as altered geopolitical landscapes. The most significant military engagements in history define the very nature of war."

Cover Art
How America Fought Its Wars: military strategy from the American Revolution to the Civil War / - Victor D. Brooks; Robert Hohwald
Call Number: 355.020973 Brooks 1999
ISBN: 1580970028
Publication Date: 1999-03-21
See chapter: Summer of the Titans: Climax at Vicksburg and Gettysburg.

The new American nation fought for its survival against a variety of enemies, both foreign and domestic, during a series of wars from 1775 to 1865. Victor Brooks examines in considerable detail the various battles and campaigns of the early wars fought by the young republic, in search of common factors that may have led to the nation's survival and triumph. For each war, the commanders for each side are rated as to performance, and an analysis made of how their individual strengths and weaknesses may have influenced the outcome of the conflict.A specially commissioned series of maps make clear the various strategic and tactical issues at stake from the American Revolution to the end of the Civil War.

Cover Art
Intelligence and Military Operations - Michael I. Handel (Editor)
Call Number: 355.3432 Handel
ISBN: 0714633313
Publication Date: 1990-07-01
See chapter: Lee at Gettysburg: A general without intelligence

Cover Art
Into the Fight: Pickett's Charge at Gettysburg - John M. Priest
Call Number: 973.7 P949
ISBN: 1572491388
Publication Date: 1998-09-01

Cover Art
Joshua Chamberlain: A Hero's Life and Legacy - John J. Pullen
Call Number: 973.7 P982
ISBN: 0811708861
Publication Date: 1999-05-01

Cover Art
Last in Their Class: Custer, Pickett and the goats of West Point - James S. Robbins
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781594031410
Publication Date: 2006-03-09
see chapter: Gettysburg

Today's Goat, the West Point cadet finishing at the bottom of his class, is a temporary celebrity among his classmates. But in the 19th century, he was something of a cult figure. Custer's contemporaries at the Academy believed that the same spirit of adventure that led him to carouse at local taverns motivated his dramatic cavalry attacks in the Civil War and afterwards. And the same willingness to accept punishment from Academy authorities also sent George Pickett into the teeth of the Union guns at Gettsyburg. The story James S. Robbins tells goes from the beginnings of West Point through the carnage of the Civil War to the grassy bluffs over the Little Big Horn. The Goats he profiles tell us much about the soul of the American solider, his daring, imagination and desire to prove himself against high odds.

Cover Art
Lee and His Generals - Lawrence Lee Hewitt (Editor); Thomas E. Schott (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781572338500
Publication Date: 2012-06-30
see chapter: Jeb Stuart, R.E. Lee, and Confederate Defeat at Gettysburg

Cover Art
Lee's Lieutenants: A study in command. One volume abridgement. - Douglas Southall Freeman. Abridgement Stephen Sears.
Call Number: 973.73 Freeman
ISBN: 0684859793
Publication Date: 2001-04-03
Lee's Lieutenants follows these men to the costly battle at Gettysburg, through the deepening twilight of the South's military decline and finally to the collapse of Lee's command and his formal surrender in 1865. Dr. Freeman adds lessons learned and their bearing upon future military development of the nation.

27. Gettysburg and Its Cost

Cover Art
Lincoln at Gettysburg: the words that remade America - Garry Wills
Call Number: 973.7092 W741
ISBN: 0671769561
Publication Date: 1992-06-15

Cover Art
Lost Triumph: Lee's real plan at Gettysburg-and why it failed - Tom Carhart; Michael Prichard (Narrated by)
Call Number: Audio CD 973.7349 Carhart
ISBN: 9781400101573
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
A bold new thesis in the study of the Civil War suggests Lee had a heretofore undiscovered strategy at Gettysburg that, if successful, could have changed the outcome of the war. Conventional wisdom has held that on the third day of the battle, Lee made one profoundly wrong decision. What Carhart finds: Lee's plan for a rear assault that, combined with Pickett's Charge, could have broken the Union forces in half. Only in the final hours of the battle was the attack reversed through the daring of an unproven young general--George Armstrong Custer.

Cover Art
Meade of Gettysburg - Freeman Cleaves
Call Number: 973.7349 Cleaves
Publication Date: 1960
"In his own lifetime meage credit was alloted him for his achievement at Gettysburg, for his long pursuit of General Robert E. Lee into Virginia and for the furious marches his men were forced into both before and after Gettysburg, until finally in the vicinity of Appomattox Courthouse, he again held the upper hand."

Cover Art
Men of War - Alexander Rose
Call Number: 355.330973 Rose 2015
ISBN: 9780553805185
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
Gettysburg, 1863. Combat in the Civil War ; The machine breaks down: the reality of combat ; The battle ; Marching to Gettysburg ; Skirmishing ; Artillery versus artillery ; Artillery versus infantry ; Infantry versus infantry : the attack ; Infantry versus infantry : the defense ; The attack continues ; The critical moment ; Holding the line ; At close quarters ; Surrender ; The return to normal ; Sights, sounds, smells ; The dead ; The wounded

Cover Art
Pickett's charge; a microhistory of the final attack at Gettysburg, July 3, 1863 - Stewart, George Rippey.
Call Number: 973.7349 Stewart
Publication Date: Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 1959

Cover Art
Robert E. Lee's Civil War - Bevin Alexander
Call Number: 973.7 A374
ISBN: 155850849x
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
see chapter: Gettysburg

Cover Art
How Robert E. Lee Lost the Civil War - Edward H. Bonekemper; Pia S. Seagrave (Editor)
Call Number: 973.73092 B712
ISBN: 1887901159
Publication Date: 1998-02-01

Cover Art
Stuart's Cavalry in the Gettysburg Campaign - John S. Mosby
Call Number: 973.7349 M89 1987
ISBN: 0942211286
Publication Date: 1987-01-01

Cover Art
These Honored Dead: how the story of Gettysburg shaped American memory - Thomas A. Desjardin; Lewis Grenville (Read by)
Call Number: Audio CD 973.7349 Desjardin
ISBN: 079273209X
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
The many meanings of Gettysburg -- Infirm foundations -- The struggle over memory -- Rascality and stupidity -- The self-fulfilling prophecy of John Badger Bachelder -- Lost in the lost cause -- Constructing the consummate Gettysburg hero -- The world's largest collection of outdoor sculpture -- Where's Buster Kilrain buried? -- American valhalla.

Cover Art
Through Blood and Fire at Gettysburg: General Joshua Chamberlain and the 20th Maine - Joshua L. Chamberlain
Call Number: 973.7349 C443
ISBN: 1879664178
Publication Date: 1996-07-01

Cover Art
The Warrior Generals: Combat Leadership in the Civil War - Thomas B. Buell
Call Number: 973.713 B928
ISBN: 0517595710
Publication Date: 1997-02-25
see: Gettysburg

Cover Art
Witness to Gettysburg - Richard Wheeler
Call Number: 973.7349 Wheeler and Audio CD 973.7349 Wheeler 2012
ISBN: 0452009847
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
Uses the words of participants and witnesses to describe the Civil War's Battle of Gettysburg.

From the courageous fighting men to the civilians watching as the conflict raged through their towns, from the reporters riding with the regiments to the children excited or terrified by the drama unfolding before them, each account stems from personal experience and blends with the whole to create a startlingly vivid tapestry of war.

Cover Art
A World on Fire: Britain's crucial role in the American Civil War - Amanda Foreman
Call Number: 973.72 Foreman 2010
ISBN: 037550494X
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
See chapter: Crossroads at Gettysburg.

In this book the author presents a history of the role of British citizens in the American Civil War that offers insight into the interdependencies of both nations and how the Union worked to block diplomatic relations between England and the Confederacy. Even before the first rumblings of secession shook the halls of Congress, British involvement in the coming schism was inevitable. Britain was dependent on the South for cotton, and in turn the Confederacy relied almost exclusively on Britain for guns, bullets, and ships. The Union sought to block any diplomacy between the two and consistently teetered on the brink of war with Britain. For four years the complex web of relationships between the countries led to defeats and victories both minute and history making. In this book the author examines the fraught relations from multiple angles while she introduces characters both humble and grand, bringing them to life over the course of this narrative.

Cover Art
Yours to Reason Why: decision in battle - William Seymour
Call Number: 355.4 Seymour 1982
ISBN: 0312898304
Publication Date: 1982-07-01
See chapter: The Battle of Gettysburg : 1-5 July 1863

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip