This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Chipyong-ni, February 13-15, 1951." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Chipyong-ni, February 13-15, 1951.   Tags: korean war. battle of chipyong-ni. col. freeman.  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/chipyongni Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Professional Papers and Journal Articles

 

Books: Print, Ebook and Audio

Cover Art
Leadership in the Crucible: Korean War Battles of Twin Tunnels and Chipyong-Ni - Kenneth E. Hamburger
Call Number: EBSCOhost SSI Collection and 951.904 H1997
ISBN: 1585442321
Publication Date: 2003-04-07
The 23d infantry regiment and Col. Paul Freeman -- Baptism by fire on the Naktong River line -- Disaster in the north -- The French battalion and lt. col. Ralph Monclar -- Matthew Ridgway and a new war -- Wonju and patrols to Twin Tunnels -- The battle of Twin Tunnels -- Prelude to Chipyong-ni -- Isolated and encircled at Chipyong-ni -- Fighting and surviving on the second day -- Task force Crombez runs the Gauntlet -- Aftermath and reflections.

Cover Art
Combat Actions in Korea - GUGELER, RUSSELL A.
Call Number: 951.9042 Gugeler
Publication Date: 1954
See Chapter 8: Chipyong-ni

Since the Korean War, some of the tools and procedures of battle have changed, but the basic conditions of combat have not. Indeed, the surprises, confusion, and problems faced on one battlefield generally resemble the difficulties met on another. Accounts of battle experience at other times in other places, then, continue to have instructive value.

Cover Art
This Kind of War - T. R. Fehrenbach; Kevin Foley (Narrated by)
Call Number: EBSCOhost SSI Collection and print: 951.9 F296 ; Audio CD 951.9 F296
ISBN: 1400168635
Publication Date: 2010-07-26
Chapter 23 – Chipyong-ni

The authoritative, highly acclaimed classic history of the Korean War, This Kind of War is a dramatic and hard-hitting account of the conflict written from the perspective of those who fought it.

Cover Art
Brothers at War: The Unending Conflict in Korea - Sheila Miyoshi Jager
Call Number: 951.9042 Jager 2013
ISBN: 9780393348859
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
Sheila Miyoski Jager's account concentrates on the central paradox of the Korean War -- that the struggle between the North and South continued well after the ceasefire in 1953.

Cover Art
The Compact History of the Korean War - MIDDLETON, HARRY JOSEPH.
Call Number: 951.9042 Mid
Publication Date: 1965
Middleton tells in engrossing narrative style of this costly, unresolved, but tremendously important conflict. He gives a graphic battle-by-battle account of the infamous invasion of South Korea by the North Korean Communists, as well as a startling picture of the politial action behind the scenes and the resulting new concepts of twentieth-century warfare.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Korean War - Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Jinwung Kim (Editor); Michael R. Nichols (Editor); Paul G. Pierpaoli (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor); Norman R. Zehr (Editor)
Call Number: 951.904203 Tucker
ISBN: 1576070298
Publication Date: 2000-06-28

The First Cavalry Division in Korea, 18 July 1950-18 January 1952 - United States. Army. Cavalry Division, 1st.
Call Number: 951.9 U58fc
Publication Date: 1952
Contains map and description of Chipyong-ni.

Cover Art
The Forgotten War - Clay Blair; Clay Blair
Call Number: 951.9042 B635
ISBN: 0385260334
Publication Date: 1989-01-24
Clay Blair offers an account of the Battle of Chipyong-ni.

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of the Korean War - James I. Matray
Call Number: 951.9042 Matray
ISBN: 0313259240
Publication Date: 1991-09-30

Cover Art
The Korean War - Max Hastings
Call Number: Audio CD 951.9 H358
ISBN: 0786104376
Publication Date: 2007-08-01


Cover Art
Korean War Almanac - Harry G. Summers
Call Number: 951.9042 Summers
ISBN: 0816017379
Publication Date: 1990-02-01

Policy and Direction, the First Year - James F. Schnabel
Call Number: 951.9 Schnabel
ISBN: 0160359554
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
United States Army in the Korean War, v. 3.

Cover Art
United States Army in the Korean War. - Billy C. Mossman
Call Number: 951.9042 M913
ISBN: 0160234875
Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Series: The United States Army in the Korean War. Chip'yong-ni and Task Force Crombez, p. 295 ff.

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip