This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Chickamauga, 1863" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Chickamauga, 1863   Tags: " gen thomas, "old rosy, battle, chickamauga, civil war, general rosecrans, staff work.  

Provides links to professional papers, staff ride documents and battle analyses, books and journal literature on the Battle of Chickamauga, 1863.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/chickamauga Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Professional Papers

 

Books on Chickamauga: Print, Ebook and Audiobooks

Cover Art
Advance and Retreat - John Bell Hood; Richard M. McMurry (Introduction by)
Call Number: 973.73 H776
ISBN: 0306805340
Publication Date: 1993-08-22

The American Civil War: the emergence of total warfare - Robert Doughty; Ira Gruber; Roy K. Flint; Mark Grimsley; George C. Herring; Donald D. Horward; John A. Lynn; Williamson Murray
Call Number: 973.73 A512
ISBN: 9780669416800
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Prologue to Chickamauga - Chickamauga

Cover Art
Autumn of Glory: the Army of Tennessee, 1862-1865. - Thomas L. Connelly
Call Number: 973.7 C752
ISBN: 0807104450
Publication Date: 1971-02-01

Cover Art
Battle Chronicles of the Civil War - James M. McPherson (Editor); Richard Gottlieb (Editor)
Call Number: 973.73 B336
ISBN: 0029206618
Publication Date: 1989-12-01

Cover Art
The Battlefields of the Civil War - William C. Davis; Russ A. Pritchard (Assisted by)
Call Number: 973.7 D265
ISBN: 0806128828
Publication Date: 1996-10-15

Cover Art
Chickamauga - Glenn Tucker
Call Number: 973.7 TUC
ISBN: 0831713399
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
No other account of Chickamauga has been written with anything approaching this full detail, or approximating the general atmosphere through narration of the less weighty but intensely human incidents of this dogged, bloody fray.

Chickamauga Staff Ride Briefing Book. - Edward P. Shanahan, Doris L. Harvey, and Donna S. Murphy
Call Number: 973.735 S528
Publication Date: September 1995
USAREC Staff Ride Briefing Books are compiled by the Office of the Command Historian to provide a systematic approach to the analysis of the significant battles in the history of military art and the profession of arms.

Cover Art
Civil War Generalship: the Art of Command - W. J. Wood
Call Number: 973.73 W881 1997
ISBN: 0275950549
Publication Date: 1997-04-30
Part 3. Chickamauga: Lost Command, Lost Victory - Rosecrans and his Chickamauga Campaign - Braxton Bragg, Confederate strategy, and tactical offensive - Battle of Chickamauga - Two perspectives of Chickamauga.

Cover Art
Edge of Glory: a biography of General William S. Rosecrans, U.S.A. - William M. Lamers; Larry J. Daniel (Foreword by)
Call Number: 973.73092 L228
ISBN: 080712396X
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Major General William S. Rosecrans (1819-1898) was one of the most fascinating and tragic figures of the Civil War. In September 1863 President Lincoln and Congress considered him the most able general on the Union side, but only one month later, "Old Rosy" was removed from his command and then quickly forgotten.

Cover Art
Lincoln and His Generals - T. Harry Williams
Call Number: 973.741 W727
ISBN: 0307741966
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Theme is Lincoln as a director of war, and his place in the high command system for this nation.

Cover Art
Master of War: the life of General George H. Thomas - Benson Bobrick; Norman Dietz (Narrated by)
Call Number: Audio CD 973.7092 Bobrick
ISBN: 1400111587
Publication Date: 2009-03-23
Historian Bobrick argues here that George H. Thomas was the greatest and most successful general of the Civil War. Because Thomas didn't live to write his memoirs, his reputation has been largely shaped by others, most notably Grant and Sherman, who, Bobrick says, diminished Thomas' successes in their favor in their own memoirs. Born in Virginia, Thomas remained loyal to the Union, unlike fellow Virginian Robert E. Lee. In the entire Civil War, he never lost a battle or a movement. He was the only Union commander to destroy two Confederate armies in the field. Throughout his career, he was methodical and careful, and always prepared. Unlike Grant, he was never surprised by an enemy. Unlike Sherman, he never panicked in battle. Although historians have always regarded Thomas highly, he has never captured the public imagination, perhaps because he has lacked an outstanding biographer--until now.--From publisher description

Cover Art
Railroads in the Civil War: the Impact of Management on Victory and Defeat. - John Elwood Clark
Call Number: 973.742 C5936
ISBN: 0807127264
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
"A serious disaster": The Federal government responds to the defeat at Chickamauga.

Cover Art
This Terrible Sound: The Battle of Chickamauga - Peter Cozzens
Call Number: 973.735 C882
ISBN: 025201703X
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
When North and South met among the desolate mountains of northwestern Georgia in 1863, they began one of the bloodiest and most decisive campaigns of the Civil War. The climactic Battle of Chickamauga lasted just two days, yet it was nearly as costly as Gettysburg, with casualties among the highest in the war. In this study of the campaign, the first to appear in over thirty years and the most comprehensive account ever written on Chickamauga, Peter Cozzens presents a vivid narrative about an engagement that was crucial to the outcome of the war in the West.

Cover Art
Thomas: Rock of Chickamauga - O'Connor, Richard
Call Number: 973.73092 O'Conner
Publication Date: New York, Prentice-Hall [1948]

Cover Art
U. S. Army War College Guide to the Battle of Chickamauga - Matt Spruill (Editor)
Call Number: 973.735 G946
ISBN: 0700605967
Publication Date: 1993-05-10
Not far from Chattanooga, the Confederacy one of its most decisive battles. This guide uses first-hand accounts to illustrate how this skirmish, only two days long, turned into one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War with 34,000 plus Union and Confederate soldiers killed, wounded, or captured. Explicit directions to points of interest and maps detailing troop position, roads, rivers, elevations and tree lines as they were 130 years ago help bring the Battle of Chickamauga to life.

Cover Art
The Warrior Generals - Thomas B. Buell
Call Number: 973.713 B928
ISBN: 0517595710
Publication Date: 1997-02-25
The Warrior Generals examines three pairs of generals from the Union and Confederacy, at three levels of command, each of whom met repeatedly in battle: Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee; George H. Thomas and John B. Hood; and Francis C. Barlow and John B. Gordon. Interweaving the stories of these six men, Buell creates a sweeping panorama of the Civil War. At the same time, he shows us the human face of the drama, taking us into the fiery heart of battles such as Antietam, Shiloh, Chattanooga, and Spotsylvania. Drawing on dozens of sources largely neglected by previous historians, Buell challenges the conventional view that the Confederacy's officers were superior. He argues that Union generals had the edge in strategic thinking, preparation, and the use of innovative tactics. In particular, he questions Lee's reputation as a military genius and suggests that Thomas, the "Rock of Chickamauga," was the greatest general in the war. Yet all six men are portrayed with sympathy and insight. Buell shows us how these leaders - tested to the limits by a war of unparalleled ferocity - prevailed through strengths of character that often existed side by side with flaws that would have undone other men.

Cover Art
William S. Rosecrans and the Union Victory - David G. Moore
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780786476244
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
This is the first biography of Union General William S. Rosecrans in more than fifty years. It tells the story of his military successes and the important results that led to the Union victory in the Civil War: winning the first major campaign of the war in West Virginia in 1861; victories in northeastern Mississippi that made the Vicksburg Campaign possible; gaining the victory without which Abraham Lincoln said the "nation could scarcely have lived over"; conducting two brilliant campaigns in Tennessee and fighting the battle of Chickamauga (giving permanent possession of Chattanooga to the federals); The book also attempts to explain why Rosecrans was removed four times despite his military successes and examines the important part politics played in the war. Additionally it reveals a man who promoted many advances in medical care, transportation and cartography; a man interested in engineering as well as theology.

Cover Art
With My Face to the Enemy - Robert Cowley; David Herbert Donald (Contribution by)
Call Number: 973.7 .W76
ISBN: 0399147373
Publication Date: 2001-06-04

 

Bibliography:The Battle of Chickamauga, 1863

Accessing Journal Articles:

AKO's My Library -- Academic OneFile (Gale), Military and Intelligence (Gale) or EBSCOHost History Reference Center.

Some military journals are available online (free) at Army Journal websites.

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip