This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Chaplain Assistants" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Chaplain Assistants  

Selected resources to assist Chaplain Assistants undertaking studies at the NCO Academy, USASSI Fort Jackson.
Last Updated: Jan 5, 2017 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/chaplainassistants Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tips on Downloading Subscription Ebooks

Downloading EBSCOhost Ebooks: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5738

Books 24x7: Most of the titles and chapters are currently not available for download due to publisher copyright restrictions. However, Books 24x7 ebooks can be read on mobile devices without downloading them.

Demographics for Cultural and Religious Area Assessment

  • Association of Religion Data Archives
    Explore congregational membership in every county, state and urban area in the United States. View maps of the United States and individual states for hundreds of variables, including congregational membership, census data, crime statistics and many others.
  • City-Data.com
  • Defense Language Institute
    Countries in Perspective. Area Studies. Legends and Folktales.
  • EBSCOhost --
    SSI's EBSCOhost database provides ebooks and journal literature relevant to the study of religion in various countries and in the United States.
  • International Religious Freedom Report
    The Annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom describes the status of religious freedom in each foreign country, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world. It is submitted in compliance with the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998.
  • Social Explorer Free Edition
    Social Explorer is an award-winning web application. From research libraries to the front page of The New York Times, Social Explorer helps people engage with society. ◦The entire US Census from 1790 to 2010. All annual updates from the American Community Survey (from 2005 to 2010).
  • TRADOC Culture Center
    Established in 2004, TCC provides relevant and accredited cultural competency training and education to Soldiers and DA Civilians in order to build and sustain an Army with the right blend of cultural competency capabilities to facilitate a wide range of operations, now and in the future.
  • U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
    Formally, US State Department back ground notes.
 

Print and Ebooks on Chaplaincy

Cover Art
The Chaplain's Assistant: God, Country, and Vietnam: a Novel - J. Timothy Caldwell
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780984196401
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
he Chaplain's Assistant: God, Country, and Vietnam, is "nothing like any Vietnam story you've read before." Caldwell manages to capture the country, the war, and the people caught up in it in a way that is emotional, profane, sexy and heart-breaking. This is JT Caldwell's debut novel and is a next generation war memoir - one without battles, bullets or air strikes, but as grim and realistic as the war it documents. The Midwest Review called the book "solid and riveting reading," and it is a humor-laced novel that strikes a balance between the absurd and merciless effects of combat and their long-term impact on the soldiers who fight America's wars.

Cover Art
Bonhoeffer the Assassin? - Mark Thiessen Nation; Anthony G. Siegrist; Daniel P. Umbel; Stanley Hauerwas (Foreword by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780801039614
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
This careful examination questions the assumption that Bonhoeffer was involved in plots to assassinate Hitler and reveals Bonhoeffer's consistent commitment to peace.

Cover Art
Bringing God to Men: American Military Chaplains and the Vietnam War - Jacqueline E. Whitt
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781469612942
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
"During the latter half of the twentieth century, the American military chaplaincy underwent a profound transformation. A broad-based and ecumenical institution in the post-World War II era, the chaplaincy emerged from the Vietnam War as generally conservative and evangelical. In both eras--before and after the conflict in Vietnam--the political, martial, and religious views of the chaplaincy mirrored those of mainstream religious and military culture. During the Vietnam War, though, the chaplaincy underwent an exceptional divergence from this conformation to the mainstream. Because of their dual allegiances to their denominations and to the military, chaplains found themselves thrown into the middle of the heated contention surrounding the conflict. Drawing from previously unpublished memories, periodicals, official histories, and oral interviews, Jacqueline Whitt charts the role of the chaplaincy in mediating conflicts between their often anti-war faiths and the military. In this benchmark study, Whitt shows how Vietnam War-era chaplains served as vital links between diverse communities, sometimes working to reconcile--both personally and publicly--conflicting worldviews, while creating religious contexts unique to combat based on shared experience rather than traditional theologies"-- Provided by publisher

Cover Art
Chaplains of the United States Army - Roy J. Honeywell; Office of the Chief of Chaplains, Dept. of the Army,
Call Number: 355.347 HON
Publication Date: 1958
Early concepts -- In colonial days -- The spirit of 76 -- From Concord to Newburgh -- From Washington to Lincoln -- The trumpet that shall never call retreat -- Of laws and men -- Sumter to Appomattox -- Grant to Pershing -- How chaplains were made in 1918 -- Cantonment and trench -- Between world wars -- Nine thousand men -- Administrative problems -- Training for the Great War -- Equipment and supply -- Pearl Harbor to Tokyo Bay -- Counseling and welfare -- Cold War -- Korea -- Achievements.

Cover Art
Encouraging faith, supporting soldiers : the United States Army chaplaincy, 1975-1995 - Office of the Chief of Chaplains, Dept. of the Army
Call Number: 355.347 U58e
Publication Date: 1997.
pt. 1. Meeting challenges to the army and to the chaplaincy -- pt. 2. Religious support in combat, peacekeeping, and humanitarian operations.

Cover Art
Faith and Hope in a War-Torn Land: the US Army Chaplaincy in the Balkans, 1995-2005 - Kenneth E. Lawson
Call Number: 949.703 L4255
ISBN: 016076436X
Publication Date: 2006-09-06

Cover Art
Five Black Preachers in Army Blue, 1884-1901: the Buffalo Soldier Chaplains - Werner E. Moose
Call Number: 355.347 L232
ISBN: 0773422498
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
African American Christianity -- African American Chaplains in the Civil War -- Chaplains in the Ninth Cavalry: Henry V. Plummer and George W. Prioleau -- William T. Anderson, Tenth US Cavalry -- Allen Allensworth, Twenty-fourth US Infantry -- Theophilus G. Steward, Twenty-fifth U.S. Infantry.

Cover Art
Handbook of Military Social Work - Allen Rubin (Editor); Jose E. Coll (Editor); Eugenia L. Weiss (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781118067833
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
ndbook of Military Social Work is edited by renowned leaders in the field, with contributions from social work professionals drawing from their wealth of experience working with veterans, active duty military, and their families.

Cover Art
Military Chaplains and Religious Diversity - Kim Philip Hansen
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781137025159
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
The book is about the way military chaplains handle religious diversity among the enlisted they serve and within their own corps. It is based on extensive in-depth interviews with more than 30 active duty chaplains, so their successes, failures and conflicts are described in their own words. The book will be of interest to military chaplains, chaplain candidates, seminarians exploring career options, and other clergy and counselors who perform institutional ministry (e.g. hospital chaplains). It will appeal to sociologists who study multiculturalism and pluralism, as well as to people with scholarly or professional interest in church/state issues, such as equal opportunity officers. It will be interesting to readers concerned with the rise of the 'religious right', the status of Islam in America, and general interest in military history and American culture.

Cover Art
Military Chaplains as Agents of Peace: Religious Leader Engagement in Conflict and Post-conflict Environments - S. K. Moore
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780739149102
Publication Date: 2012-12-19
By way of theoretical analysis and documented case studies from a number of countries, Military Chaplains as Agents of Peace considers Religious Leader Engagement (RLE) as an emerging domain that advances the cause of reconciliation via the religious peace building of chaplains: A construct that may be generalized to expeditionary, humanitarian, and domestic operational contexts. By way of theoretical analysis and documented case studies from a number of countries, Military Chaplains as Agents of Peace considers Religious Leader Engagement (RLE) as an emerging domain that advances the cause of reconciliation via the religious peace building of chaplains: A construct that may be generalized to expeditionary, humanitarian, and domestic operational contexts. An overview of the benefits and limitations of RLE is offered and accompanied by a candid discussion of a number of the more perplexing questions related to such operational ministry: Influence Activities, Information Gathering for Intelligence Purposes, and the Protected (Non-Combatant) Status of Chaplains.

Cover Art
Military Chaplains in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Beyond: Advisement and Leader Engagement in Highly Religious Environments - Eric Patterson
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection and 355.3470973 Patterson 2014
ISBN: 9781442235397
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
The role of military chaplains has changed over the past decade as Western militaries have deployed to highly religious environments such as East Africa, Afghanistan, and Iraq. U.S. military chaplains, who are by definition non-combatants, have been called upon by their war-fighting commanders to take on new roles beyond providing religious services to the troops.

Cover Art
Mission at Nuremberg: An American Army Chaplain and the Trial of the Nazis - Tim Townsend
Call Number: 341.690268 Townsend 2014
ISBN: 9780061997198
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
This is the gripping story of the American army chaplain sent to save the souls of the Nazis incarcerated at Nuremberg. Lutheran minister Henry Gerecke was fifty years old when he enlisted as an army chaplain during World War II. As two of his three sons faced danger and death on the battlefield, he tended to the battered bodies and souls of wounded and dying GIs outside London. But at the close of the European theater, with Hitler defeated and scores of American troops returning home to resume their lives, he received his most challenging assignment: he was sent to Nuremberg to minister to the twenty-one imprisoned Nazi leaders awaiting trial for crimes against humanity. This work unearths groundbreaking new research and compelling firsthand accounts to take us deep inside the Nuremberg Palace of Justice, into the very cells of the accused and the courtroom where they answered to the world for their crimes.

Cover Art
Padres in No Man's Land: Canadian Chaplains and the Great War - Duff Crerar
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780773544413
Publication Date: 2014-08-15
Padres in No Man’s Land -- Adventurers: Days of Preparation -- Beginners: Turmoil in the Service -- Officers: The Almond Reforms -- Pilgrims: The Padre 's Progress -- Soldiers: The Service in the Field -- Comrades: To Touch the Face of Battle -- Preachers: The Voice of Consolation and Prophecy -- Veterans: A Peace Endured. Appendix 1: Nominal List of Canadian Great War Chaplains -- Appendix 2: Chaplain Service Questionnaire, 1918 --Appendix 3: Canadian Militia Chaplaincy Growth, 1896–1914.

Cover Art
Redeployment - Phil Klay
Call Number: 813.6 Klay 2014
ISBN: 1594204993
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Phil Klay's Redeployment takes readers to the frontlines of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, asking us to understand what happened there, and what happened to the soldiers who returned. Interwoven with themes of brutality and faith, guilt and fear, helplessness and survival, the characters in these stories struggle to make meaning out of chaos. A chaplain sees his understanding of Christianity, and his ability to provide solace through religion, tested by the actions of a ferocious Colonel.

Cover Art
Religion in the Military Worldwide - Ron E. Hassner (Editor)
Call Number: 355.347 Hassner 2014
ISBN: 9781107613645
Publication Date: 2013-12-30
How does religion affect the lives of professional soldiers? How does religion shape militaries, their organization, procedures, and performance? This volume is the first to address these questions by comparing religious symbols and practices in nine countries: Japan, Canada, the United Kingdom, Pakistan, Israel, Iran, India, the United States, and Turkey. The contributors explore how and why soldiers pray, the role of religious rituals prior to battle, the functions that chaplains perform, the effects of religion on recruitment and unit formation, and how militaries grapple with ensuing constitutional dilemmas.

Cover Art
Soul of the eagle : A chaplain assistant's recollection of the Vietnam War - Philip V. Bulone
Call Number: 959.7043092 Bulone 2014
Publication Date: 2014
They patrolled the jungles of Vietnam without weapons. They were trained paratroopers ready to jump into combat to meet the spiritual needs of the troopers of the 1st Brigade, 101st Airborne Division. These were the Chaplains that served God and country in a war which divided America. Along with their assistants, they ministered to the wounded and the dead; to American troops and the Vietnamese people especially the children whose parents were killed by the Viet Cong. On the pages of this book, you will go on a journey with what many called the Chaplains Unit, the Soul of the Eagle.

Cover Art
The Military Chaplain - Clarence L. Abercrombie; Bruce M. Russett (Introduction by)
Call Number: 355.347 A144
ISBN: 0803906692
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Sage Library of Social Research volume 37.

Chapters include: Legitimacy and religion; Pastors to God's Chosen People; Hard mechanics of researching the chaplaincy; Claims of Caesar and God, differentiating the role expectations and values of civilian clergymen from those of military commanders; Which roles and values the chaplains actually affirm; Current views of the chaplain and his attitudes; Chaplains too are people: the nonexplanation of variance.

Cover Art
War and the American Difference - Stanley Hauerwas
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780801039294
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
How are American identity and America's presence in the world shaped by war, and what does God have to do with it? Esteemed theologian Stanley Hauerwas helps readers reflect theologically on war, church, justice, and nonviolence in this compelling volume, exploring issues such as how America depends on war for its identity, how war affects the soul of a nation, the sacrifices that war entails, and why war is considered "necessary," especially in America. He also examines the views of nonviolence held by Martin Luther King Jr. and C. S. Lewis, how Jesus constitutes the justice of God, and the relationship between congregational ministry and Christian formation in America.

 

Print and Ebooks for Religious Area Assessment --

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the Middle Atlantic Region - Randall Balmer (Contribution by, Editor); Mark Silk (Editor); Wendy Cadge (Contribution by); James Fisher (Contribution by); Lawrence Grossman (Contribution by); James Hudnut-Beumler (Contribution by); Vivian Z. Klaff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 200.974 Balmer 2006
ISBN: 0759106371
Publication Date: 2006-03-23
Introduction : the proving ground for pluralism / Randall Balmer -- The religious diversity of an immigrant region / Vivian Z. Klaff -- Protestants in the Middle Atlantic region / James Hudnut-Beumler -- Catholicism in the Middle Atlantic / James T. Fisher : Jews : Middle Atlantic and beyond / Lawrence Grossman -- Religions of immigrants in the Mid-Atlantic states / Wendy Cadge -- Conclusion : the pluralist imperative / Randall Balmer.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in New England: steady habits, changing slowly - Andrew Walsh; Mark Silk (Editor)
Call Number: 200.974 Walsh 2004
ISBN: 0759106290
Publication Date: 2004-10-30
Introduction : religion in New England : reckoning with Catholicism / Andrew Walsh -- The demographic layout : a tale of two New Englands / Stephen Prothero -- Catholics I : majority faith with a minority mindset / James M. O'Toole -- Catholics II : in the flux of crisis / Michele Dillon -- Mainline Protestants : custodians of community / Maria Erling -- Conservative Protestants : prospering on the margins / Andrew Walsh -- Jews and African Americans : holding down the fort / Daniel Terris -- Conclusion : on common ground / Andrew Walsh.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the Midwest: America's common denominator? - Philip Barlow (Editor); Mark Silk (Editor); Jay Dolan (Contribution by); DeAne Lagerquist (Contribution by); Lowell Livezey (Contribution by); Mark Noll (Contribution by); Peter Williams (Contribution by); Raymond Williams (Contribution by)
Call Number: 200.977 Barlow 2004
ISBN: 0759106312
Publication Date: 2004-09-30
Introduction-not Oz / Philip Barlow, Becky Cantonwine -- Demographic portrait : America writ small? / Philip Barlow -- Protestants: an enduring Methodist tinge / Mark Noll -- Lutheran difference : what more than nice? / L. DeAne Lagerquist -- Different breed of Catholics / Jay P. Dolan -- Religion and recent immigrants : new ferment in American civic life / Raymond Brady Williams -- Religion in the city on the make / Elfriede Wedam, Lowell W. Livezey.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the Mountain West - Jan Shipps (Editor); Mark Silk (Editor); Philip A. Deloria (Contribution by); Kathleen Flake (Contribution by); Walter Nugent (Contribution by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780759106277
Publication Date: 2004-05-19
Huge mountain ranges and vast uninhabited areas characterize the Mountain West. Arizona and New Mexico's religious public life is still dominated by the Catholic church which was in place three centuries before these areas became U.S. states. The region is home to several dense urban centers, but there is enough space between cities for three very distinct religious cultures to develop. Religion and Public Life in the Mountain West explores these three distinct religious regions but then goes on to see how they work together and what they have in common.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the Pacific Northwest - Patricia O'Connell Killen (Editor); Mark Silk (Editor); Lance Laird (Contribution by); Mark A. Shibley (Contribution by); Dale Soden (Contribution by); James Wellman (Contribution by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780759106253
Publication Date: 2004-03-12
When asked their religious identification, more people answer 'none' in the Pacific Northwest than in any other region of the United States. But this does not mean that the region's religious institutions are without power or that Northwesterners who do attend no place of worship are without spiritual commitments. With no dominant denomination, Evangelicals, Mainline Protestants, Catholics, Jews, adherents of Pacific Rim religious traditions, indigenous groups, spiritual environmentalists, and secularists must vie or sometimes must cooperate with each other to address the regions' pressing economic, environmental, and social issues. One cannot understand this complex region without understanding the fluid religious commitments of its inhabitants. And one cannot understand religion in Oregon, Washington, and Alaska without Religion and Public Life in the Pacific Northwest.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the Pacific Region - Wade Clark Roof; Mark Silk (Editor)
Call Number: 200.979 Roof 2005
ISBN: 0759106398
Publication Date: 2005-09-21
Preface / Mark Silk -- Introduction: Religion in the Pacific region / Phillip E. Hammond -- Religious affiliation in the Pacific region and the nation -- Religious self-identification and adherents claimed by religious groups, national and regional comparisons -- Religion in the Pacific region : demographic patterns / Wade Clark Roof -- Toward an established mysticism : judeo-Christian traditions in post-World War II, California and Nevada / Douglas Firth Anderson -- New players and new patterns / David W. Machacek -- The influence of alternative religions / Tamar Frankiel -- Pono and Kapu : righteousness and taboo in Hawaii / George J. Tanabe, Jr -- Conclusion: Faith and spirituality in a fluid environment / Wade Clark Roof.

Cover Art
Religion and Public Life in the South: in the evangelical mode - Mark Silk (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Contribution by); Sam Hill (Contribution by); Charles Lippy (Contribution by); Lynn Lyerly (Contribution by); Andrew M. Manis (Contribution by)
Call Number: 200.975 Wilson 2005
ISBN: 0759106355
Publication Date: 2005-07-07
Introduction--preachin', prayin', and singin' on the public square / Charles Reagan Wilson -- Evangelical but differentiated : religion by the numbers / Ted Ownby -- At ease in Zion, uneasy in Babylon : white evangelicals / Paul Harvey -- Semi-involuntary : African-American religion / William E. Montgomery -- In service, silence, and strength : women in Southern churches / Cynthia Lynn Lyerly -- Tactics for survival : religious minorities / Charles H. Lippy -- The peripheral South : Florida and Appalachia / Samuel S. Hill -- The civil religions of the South / Andrew M. Manis -- Conclusion--mobilized for the new millennium / Charles R. Wilson.

Cover Art
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America - Bret E. Carroll
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780415921374
Publication Date: 2000-12-28
Part I: Indigenous American Religions, Prehistory-Present;
Part II: European Christianity Colonizes America, 1500-1867;
Part III: Colonial Formations, 1607-1800;
Part IV: Protestant Expansionism in the Nineteenth Century;
Part V: World Religions and Growing Pluralism, 1850-Present;
Part VI: Religions of the Modern Age
Epilogue: American Religious Regions

Cover Art
World Religions in America - Jacob Neusner
Call Number: ONLINE SSI EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780585306841
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Native Americans and their religions / Sam Gill -- Protestant Christianity in the world and in America / Martin E. Marty -- The religious world of African Americans / Peter J. Paris -- The Catholics in the world and in America / Andrew M. Greeley -- The religious world of Hispanic Americans / Justo L. Gonzãaalez -- Orthodox Christianity in the world and in America / Jaroslav Pelikan -- Judaism in the world and in America / Jacob Neusner -- Hinduism in India and in America / Gerald James Larson -- Buddhism in the world and in America / Malcolm David Eckel -- East Asian religions in today's America / Robert S. Ellwood -- Islam in the world and in America / John L. Esposito -- Religion and women in America / Elizabeth Fox-Genovese -- Religion and politics in America / Andrew M. Greeley -- Religion and society in America / William Scott Green.

Cover Art
The Amish Way: patient faith in a perilous world - Donald B. Kraybill; Steven M. Nolt; David L. Weaver-Zercher
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780470520697
Publication Date: 2010-09-28
The Amish continue to be a source of curiosity for millions of people who are fascinated by, and sometimes attracted to, their steadfast ways. The Amish Way interprets the distinctive practices of Amish spirituality in their cultural context and explores their relevance for the wider world. Drawing on interviews with Amish people, Amish publications, and firsthand experience in Amish communities, the authors tell the story of Amish religious experience with Amish voices and through their cultural lenses. Written in a lively and engaging style, The Amish Way holds appeal for anyone who wants to learn more about the spiritual and religious impulse that energizes the Amish way of life.

Cover Art
God in the Stadium - Robert J. Higgs
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0813108535
Publication Date: 1995-11-02
In this powerful critique of present-day American popular culture, Robert J. Higgs examines the complex and increasingly pervasive control that sports wield in shaping the national self-image. He provides a thoughtful history and analysis of how sports and religion have become intertwined and offers a stinging indictment of the sports-religion-media-education complex.

Cover Art
East and Southeast Asia 2015-2016 - Steven A. Leibo
Call Number: 950 Leibo 2015-2016
ISBN: 1475818742
Publication Date: 2015-07-02

Cover Art
Handbook of Religion: a Christian engagement with traditions, teachings, and practices - Terry C. Muck (Editor); Harold A. Netland (Editor); Gerald R. McDermott (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 080103776X
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
This comprehensive handbook provides a Christian perspective on religion and its many manifestations around the world. Written by top religion scholars from a broad spectrum of Christianity, it introduces world religions, indigenous religious traditions, and new religious movements. Articles explore the relationship of other religions to Christianity, providing historical perspective on past encounters and highlighting current issues. The book also contains articles by adherents of non-Christian religions, offering readers an insider's perspective on various religions and their encounters with Christianity. Maps, timelines, and sidebars are included.

Cover Art
An Introduction to the Modern Middle East : history, religion, political economy, politics - David S. Sorenson
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost
ISBN: 0813349230
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
Combining elements of comparative politics with a country-by-country analysis, author David S. Sorenson provides a complete and accessible introduction to the modern Middle East. With an emphasis on the politics of the region, the text also dedicates chapters specifically to the history, religions, and economies of countries in the Persian (Arabian) Gulf, the Eastern Mediterranean, and North Africa.

Cover Art
Latin America 2016-2017 - Blair Turner
Call Number: 980 Turner 2016-2017
ISBN: 9781475829006
Publication Date: 2016-08-30
World Today Series

Cover Art
Marching as to War - Elizabeth F. Desnoyers-Colas
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780761863434
Publication Date: 2014-05-22
Seen through the eyes of eleven African American servicewomen, this book explores issues such as health care, child care, sexism/sexual harassment, racism, religion, career advancement, and serving in combat zones. Their stories illuminate the types of experiences black servicewomen have encountered during their time in the Gulf Wars.

Cover Art
The Middle East and South Asia 2016-2017 - Seth Cantey
Call Number: 956 Cantey 2016
ISBN: 9781475828948
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
World Today Series --

Cover Art
Nordic, Central, and Southeastern Europe 2016-2017 - Marek Payerhin
Call Number: 943 Payer 2016-2017
ISBN: 9781475828962
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
World Today Series

Cover Art
Politics, Faith, and the Making of American Judaism - Peter Adams
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0472072056
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
"In 1862, in the only instance of a Jewish expulsion in America, General Ulysses S. Grant banished Jewish citizens from the region under his military command. Although the order was quickly revoked by President Lincoln, it represented growing anti-Semitism in America. Convinced that assimilation was their best defense, Jews sought to Americanize by shedding distinctive dress, occupations, and religious rituals. Once in office, Grant took notice of the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and he appointed more Jews to office than any president before him. Indeed, Simon Wolf, a Washington lawyer who became one of Grant's closest advisers, was part of a new generation of Jewish leaders to emerge in the post-Civil War era--thoroughly Americanized, politically mature, and committed to the modernized Judaism of the Reform movement"-- Provided by publisher

Cover Art
That Religion in Which All Men Agree: Freemasonry in American Culture - David G. Hackett
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 0520281675
Publication Date: 2014-01-31
This powerful study weaves the story of Freemasonry into the narrative of American religious history. Freighted with the mythical legacies of stonemasons' guilds and the Newtonian revolution, English Freemasonry arrived in colonial America with a vast array of cultural baggage, which was drawn on, added to, and transformed during its sojourn through American culture. David G. Hackett argues that from the 1730s through the early twentieth century the religious worlds of an evolving American social order broadly appropriated the beliefs and initiatory practices of this all-male society.

Cover Art
Spirits Rejoice! Jazz and American Religion - Jason C Bivins
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780190230913
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
First meditations -- Procession of the great ancestry : traditions jazz and religious -- Shadows on a wall : jazz narrates American religions -- Urban magic : jazz communitarianism -- The magic of Juju : improvising ritual -- The Tao of mad Phat : jazz meditation and mysticism -- Other planes of there : jazz cosmologies and metaphysics -- Spirits rejoice! : beyond religion.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip