This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Chancellorsville, May 2-3 1863." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Chancellorsville, May 2-3 1863.  

Described as "Lee's finest hour," American Military History, Washington, D.C.: CMH, 1989.
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/chancellorsville Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Professional Papers and Journal Articles

 

Print Books, Audiobooks and EBooks on Chancellorsville

Ebooks are available for authorized patrons of the US Army Soldier Support Institute Library. See Librarian for access options to EBSCOhost and Ebrary Collections.

Cover Art
American Military History: The United States Army and the Forging of a Nation, 1775-1917. - Richard Winship Stewart (Editor); Center of Military History (U.S. Army) Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: 355.00973 A512
ISBN: 0160723620
Publication Date: 2005-05-20; 1989 edition.
Ch 11. The Civil War, 1863. See Chancellorsville, "Lee's Boldest Risk." "Hooker was a general who could effectively lead a body of troops under his own eyes, but could not use maps and reports to evaluate or controls situations..." p. 246, American Military History, 1989 edition.

Cover Art
Battle Chronicles of the Civil War - James M. McPherson (Editor); Richard Gottlieb (Editor)
Call Number: 973.73 B336
ISBN: 0029206618
Publication Date: 1989-12-01
vol. 3. 1863: An overview - Northern Winter of Despair - Battle of Chancellorsville - Battle of Gettysburg - "Our Other Late Successes" - Struggle for Vicksburg - Vicksburg: A gallery of rare photographs - Special Portfolio of Maps of the Vicksburg Campaign - Summer of Souther Despair - Battle of Chickamauga - Battles for Chattanooga --

Cover Art
Battle Tactics of the Civil War - Paddy Griffith
Call Number: 973.73 G853
ISBN: 0300042477
Publication Date: 1989-09-10
"Was the Civil War really the birthplace of modern battlefield tactics? Paddy Griffith argues that despite the use of new weapons and of trench warfare techniques, the Civil War was in reality the last Napoleonic-style war. Rich in description and analysis, this book will be of interest both to military historians and to Civil War buffs."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
The Battlefields of the Civil War: the bloody conflict of North against South told through the stories of its great battles, illustrated with collections of some of the rarest Civil War historical artifacts - William C. Davis; Russ A. Pritchard (Assisted by)
Call Number: OVERSIZE 973.7 D265
ISBN: 0806128828
Publication Date: 1996-10-15

Cover Art
Battles That Changed American History - Spencer C. Tucker
Call Number: 355.00973 Tucker 2014
ISBN: 9781440828614
Publication Date: Jan 2014
Battle of Chancellorsville

Cover Art
Brave Decisions: Moral Courage from the Revolutionary War to Desert Storm - Harry J. Maihafer
Call Number: 355.00973 Maihafer 1995
ISBN: 0028811089
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
Ch. 5. Decision at Chancellorsville -- T. J. Stonewall Jackson.

Cover Art
Chancellorsville - Stephen W. Sears
Call Number: 973.733 Sa39c
ISBN: 9780395877449
Publication Date: 1998-06-22
Introduction -- Revolt of the generals -- General Lee knows his business -- Joe Hooker takes command -- Highest expectations -- My plans are perfect -- Army on the March -- Day of decisions -- To repulse the enemy -- My troops will move at once -- They were flying in great disorder -- Fate of Stonewall Jackson -- Most terribly bloody conflict -- Cavalcade of triumph -- Calling upon general Sedgwick -- Time the Yankees were leaving -- Epilogue: Wages of victory and defeat -- Armies at Chancellorsville -- Casualties at Chancellorsville -- Romances of Chancellorsville -- Acknowledgments -- Notes -- Bibliography -- Index. One of the most dramatic battles of the Civil War, Chancellorsville was Robert E. Lee's masterpiece. Outnumbered two to one, Lee violated a cardinal rule of military strategy by dividing his small army, sending Stonewall Jackson on his famous twelve-mile march around the Union flank. Charging out of the Wilderness with Rebel yells, Jackson's troops destroyed one entire corps of the Union army, and Lee drove the rest across the Rappahannock River. Lee's great victory came at great cost, however: Jackson, making a night reconnaissance, was accidentally shot by his own troops and died eight days later. And ironically, the momentum of Lee's greatest triumph pushed him to launch an aggressive campaign that led to his greatest defeat, at Gettysburg. Drawing on a wealth of new sources, including personal accounts by soldiers on both sides, Stephen Sears has written the definitive book on Chancellorsville.

Cover Art
Chancellorsville and Gettysburg - Abner Doubleday
Call Number: 973.73 C186
ISBN: 9781501012716
Publication Date: c. 1885
Campaigns of the Civil War vol. 6

Cover Art
Chancellorsville: The Battle and its Aftermath - Gary W. Gallagher
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection -- 973.734 Gallagher
ISBN: 9780807822753
Publication Date: 1996-05-27
A variety of important but lesser-known dimensions of the Chancellorsville campaign of spring 1863 are explored in this collection of eight original essays. Departing from the traditional focus on generalship and tactics, the contributors address the campaign's broad context and implications and revisit specific battlefield episodes that have in the past been poorly understood. Chancellorsville was a remarkable victory for Robert E. Lee's troops, a fact that had enormous psychological importance for both sides, which had met recently at Fredericksburg and would meet again at Gettysburg in just two months. But the achievement, while stunning, came at an enormous cost: more than 13,000 Confederates became casualties, including Stonewall Jackson, who was wounded by friendly fire and died several days later.

Chancellorsville : Lee's greatest battle - Edward J. Stackpole
Call Number: 973.734 Stackpole 1958
Publication Date: 1958
Lucid account characterized by clear writing, competent evaluations, unevolved description, and fascinating personality appraisals.

Cover Art
Chancellorsville Campaign: March-May 1863 - David G. Martin
Call Number: 973.7 M379
ISBN: 0938289063
Publication Date: 1991-11-21
Chancellorsville has long been considered Lee's greatest battlefield success; The Chancellorsville Campaign is the most serious treatment of the entire campaign in over thirty years.

Cover Art
The Civil War - A Narrative: Volume 2, Fredericksburg to Meridian [sound recording] / by Shelby Foote. - Shelby Foote; Grover Gardner (Read by)
Call Number: Audio CD 973.7 Foote 1989, 2008
ISBN: 0786191023
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
This, the second volume is dominated by the near continual confrontation of great armies. The Army of the Potomac, under Burnside, once again attempts to take Richmond, resulting in the bloodbath at Fredericksburg. Then, under Joe Hooker, they try again, only to be repulsed at Chancellorsville when Stonewall Jackson turns his flank--a victory for the South, but a bitter one, and one paid for by the death of Lee's foremost lieutenant.

Cover Art
Clouds of Glory: The Life and Legend of Robert E. Lee - Michael Korda
Call Number: 973.73092 Korda 2014
ISBN: 9780062116291
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Glory : Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville

Cover Art
Commanding the Storm: Civil War Battles in the Words of the Generals Who Fought Them - John Richard Stephens
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection --
ISBN: 9780762782239
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
The Battle of Chancellorsville --Lee: The Perfect Battle -- Early : Stonewall Jackson Is Shot -- Side Box: Surgery and Medicine -- Hooker: The Problem with Chancellorsville -- Meade: “I Am Sorry for Hooker” -- Hancock: “The Wheel of Fortune” .

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War - David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler
ISBN: 039304758X
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
Chancellorsville, Battle of, 2-3 May 1863. See pg. 392-398.

Cover Art
Field Armies and Fortifications in the Civil War: the Eastern campaigns, 1861-1864 - Earl J. Hess
Call Number: 973.73 Hess 2005
ISBN: 0807829315
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
See the chapter on: Chancellorsville

"The eastern campaigns of the Civil War involved the widespread use of field fortifications, from Big Bethel and the Peninsula to Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Charleston, and Mine Run. While many of these fortifications were meant to last only as long as the battle and often were not detailed in official records, Earl J. Hess argues that their history is deeply significant. Even before the onset of trench warfare at the Wilderness in May 1864, the Civil War saw more use of fieldworks than did any previous conflict in Western history."

Cover Art
Fighting Joe Hooker - Walter H. Hebert; James A. Rawley (Introduction by)
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection --
ISBN: 9780803273238
Publication Date: 1999-10-01

Cover Art
Grant and Lee: A Study in Personality and Generalship - J. F. C. Fuller
Call Number: 973.7 F966
ISBN: 0253202884
Publication Date: 1982-10-01
Grant's first move on Vicksburg - Jackson's attack at Chancellorsville - Stuart's position at Chancellorsville - Sedgwick's attack at Chancellorsville

Cover Art
Great Commanders and Their Battles - Anthony Livesey; John Hackett (Foreword by)
Call Number: 5.48 Livesey
ISBN: 0025734105
Publication Date: 1987-11-01
Robert E. Lee - Battle of Chancellorsville

Cover Art
How America Fought Its Wars: Military Strategy from the American Revolution to the Civil War - Victor D. Brooks; Robert Hohwald
Call Number: 355.02 B873
ISBN: 1580970028
Publication Date: 1999-03-21

Cover Art
Intelligence and Military Operations - Michael I. Handel (Editor)
Call Number: 355.3432 Handel
ISBN: 0714633313
Publication Date: 1990-07-01
see chapter: Role of Intelligence in the Chancellorsville Campaign, 1863

Cover Art
Lee's Terrible Swift Sword: From Antietam to Chancellorsville, An Eyewitness History - Richard Wheeler
Call Number: 973.73 Wheeler 1992
ISBN: 9780785817123
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
From Antietam to Chancellorville, this is an eyewitness account of the man himself, his ambitious and powerful successes against a poorly led foe which helped to promote an overconfidence that he could go North again, to Gettysburg, and win.

Cover Art
Rebel Yell: the Violence, Passion and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson - S. C. Gwynne
Call Number: 973.73092 Gwynne 2014
ISBN: 9781451673289
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Stonewall Jackson has long been a figure of legend and romance. As much as any person in the Confederate pantheon, even Robert E. Lee, he embodies the romantic Southern notion of the virtuous lost cause. Jackson is also considered, without argument, one of our country's greatest military figures. His brilliance at the art of war tied Abraham Lincoln and the Union high command in knots and threatened the ultimate success of the Union armies. Jackson's strategic innovations shattered the conventional wisdom of how war was waged. He was so far ahead of his time that his techniques would be studied generations into the future. In April 1862, Jackson was merely another Confederate general in an army fighting what seemed to be a losing cause. By June he had engineered perhaps the greatest military campaign in American history and was one of the most famous men in the Western world. He had, moreover, given the Confederate cause what it had recently lacked -- hope -- and struck fear into the hearts of the Union. Gwynne delves deep into Jackson's private life, including the loss of his young beloved first wife and his regimented personal habits. It traces Jackson's brilliant twenty-four-month career in the Civil War, the period that encompasses his rise from obscurity to fame and legend; his stunning effect on the course of the war itself; and his tragic death, which caused both North and South to grieve the loss of a remarkable American hero.

Cover Art
Rebels Resurgent: Fredericksburg to Chancellorsville - Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: 973.733 G659
ISBN: 0809447487
Publication Date: 1999-05-01

Cover Art
Robert E. Lee's Civil War - Bevin Alexander
Call Number: 973.7 A374
ISBN: 155850849x
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
see chapter 9: Chancellorsville

Cover Art
Stonewall Jackson: The man, the Soldier and the legend. - James L. Robertson, Jr.
Call Number: 973.7092 Robertson 1997
ISBN: 0028646851
Publication Date: 1997-02-18
See Ch. 23, The Greatest March.

Cover Art
Third Alabama!: the Civil War memoir of Brigadier General Cullen Andrews Battle, CSA - Brandon H. Beck (Editor, Introduction by); Cullen Andrews Battle
Call Number: 973.7461 T445
ISBN: 0817310010
Publication Date: 2000-01-10

Cover Art
U. S. Army War College Guide to the Battles of Chancellorsville and Fredericksburg - Jay Luvaas (Editor); Harold W. Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: 973.733 G9461
ISBN: 0700607854
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
The battles of Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville, 1862-63, were remarkable in several respects. Both revealed the problems of mounting a serious attack at night and provided the first examples of the now-familiar trench warfare. Fredericksburg featured street fighting and river crossings under fire. Chancellorsville was marked by Stonewall Jackson's death and the rare instance of mounted cavalry attacking infantry. In addition, the latter battle also demonstrated in striking fashion the profound influence of the commander on the battle. The Union committed more soldiers, supplies, money, and better equipment than did the Confederacy, and yet Lee won.
Eyewitness accounts by battle participants make these guides an invaluable resource for travelers and nontravelers who want a greater understanding of five of the most devastating yet influential years in our nation's history. Explicit directions to points of interest and maps—illustrating the action and showing the detail of troop position, roads, rivers, elevations, and tree lines as they were 130 years ago—help bring the battles to life. In the field, these guides can be used to recreate each battle's setting and proportions, giving the reader a sense of the tension and fear each soldier must have felt as he faced his enemy.

Cover Art
The Union Sixth Army Corps in the Chancellorsville Campaign - Philip W. Parsons; Mac Wyckoff (Foreword by)
Call Number: 973.733 Parsons 2006
ISBN: 0786425210
Publication Date: 2006-09-19
"This military history focuses on the battlefield engagements of the Union's Sixth Army Corps on May 3 and 4, 1863. Compiled from contemporary accounts and a variety of postwar histories, it examines the role that the Sixth Army Corps and its commander, Major General John Sedgwick, played in the Chancellorsville Campaign"--publisher description.

Cover Art
The Warrior Generals: Combat Leadership in the Civil War - Thomas B. Buell
Call Number: 973.713 B928
ISBN: 0517595710
Publication Date: 1997-02-25
Part IV: Eastern theater, 1863 -- Chancellorsville.

Cover Art
Yours to Reason Why: decision in battle - William Seymour
Call Number: 355.4 Seymour 1982
ISBN: 0312898304
Publication Date: 1982-07-01
See chapters: American Civil War : background to Chancellorsville -- The Battle of Chancellorsville : 30 April-6 May 1863

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip