This is the "Home" page of the "The Atlanta Campaign, 1864: New Hope Church, Pickett's Mill, Kolb's Farm and Kennesaw Mountain" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Atlanta Campaign, 1864: New Hope Church, Pickett's Mill, Kolb's Farm and Kennesaw Mountain   Tags: atlanta campaign, battle of kennesaw mountain, battle of kolb's farm, cavalry operations, pickett's mill, sherman  

This guide covers print and electronic resources available for the study of the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain and the Atlanta Campaign, 1864. It includes resources for the study of New Hope Church, Pickett's Mill and Kolb's Farm and other related actions
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/atlantacampaign Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Professional Papers

Davis, James P. General William Tecumseh Sherman's Georgia Campaigns: Lessons Learned for the Operational Commander. Ft. Belvoir: Defense Technical Information Center, 2001. http://handle.dtic.mil/100.2/ADA393369.

Elam, Mark G. Transforming under fire: the Atlanta campaign of 1864. Fort Leavenworth, KS : U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, n.d. http://cgsc.contentdm.oclc.org/u?/p4013coll3,98.

Houchens, Harry W.  The Making of General John B. Hood: A Study of Command. Carlisle Barracks: Army War College, 1993.  http://www.dtic.mil/get-tr-doc/pdf?AD=ADA264613

Hoyt, Michael L. Maneuver Warfare and General W.T. Sherman's Atlanta Campaign. Newport, RI: Naval War College, 1997.http://www.dtic.mil/get-tr-doc/pdf?AD=ADA330419

Hughes, Michael J. Sherman's 1864-65 Campaigns: Strategic Analysis and Lessons for Today. Newport, RI: Naval War College, 1994. http://www.dtic.mil/get-tr-doc/pdf?AD=ADA283708.

Kincaid, Gerald A.  The Confederate Army, a Regiment: An Analysis of the Forty-Eighth Tennessee Volunteer Infantry Regiment, 1861-1865.   Fort Leavenworth, KS: Army Command and General Staff College, 1995.http://www.dtic.mil/get-tr-doc/pdf?AD=ADA299772

Leach, Robert M.  The Role of Union Cavalry During the Atlanta Campaign. Fort Leavenworth, KS: U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, 1994. http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/tr/fulltext/u2/a284554.pdf

McDonnell, Kevin M. General Sherman's Application of Mass and Maneuver During the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain. Ft. Belvoir: Defense Technical Information Center, 1996. http://handle.dtic.mil/100.2/ADA307413.

Palmer, James T. Battle Command in the 1864 Campaign for Atlanta. The Emergence of William Tecumseh Sherman As a Strategic Leader. Ft. Belvoir: Defense Technical Information Center, 1996. http://handle.dtic.mil/100.2/ADA309383.

 Powers, George W.  The Civil War Campaigns of 1864: Operational and Tactical Defeat Leading to Strategic Victory.  Fort Leavenworth, KS: Command and General Staff College, 1988. http://www.dtic.mil/get-tr-doc/pdf?AD=ADA194885

 

      
     

    The Atlanta Campaign, Staff Ride Books, Ebooks and Audiobooks

    Ebooks and Audiobooks available for authorized patrons of the US Army Soldier Support Institute.

    For ebooks and audiobooks from EBSCOhost, please contact SSI Librarian for access options.

    Cover Art
    The Battles of New Hope Church - Russell Blount
    Call Number: 975.8373 Blount 2010
    ISBN: 9781589807488
    Publication Date: 2010-03-31
    When Union General William T. Sherman marched toward Atlanta in 1864, he found himself face to face with Joseph E. Johnston's Army of Tennessee, entangled in an untamed wilderness that came to be known as the Hell Hole. During the week-long ordeal of virtually continuous fighting at New Hope Church and nearby Pickett's Mill and Dallas, a new era of trench warfare was introduced and Sherman's and Johnston's strategies for the remainder of the Atlanta Campaign were forged. In this examination of a series of actions in Paulding County, Georgia, maps pinpoint battle locations while photographs capture the sites of conflict and portray the brave men who served on both sides of the War Between the States"--P. [4] of cover.

    Cover Art
    The Battle of Pickett's Mill - Brad Butkovich
    Call Number: 973.7371 B888
    ISBN: 1626190429
    Publication Date: 2013-04-09
    This an account of the Battle of Pickett's Mill, which was fought during the Atlanta Campaign of 1864 on May 27 along the New Hope Church Line in Paulding County, Georgia.

    Cover Art
    The Battle of Kennesaw Mountain - Daniel J. Vermilya
    Call Number: 973.7371 Vermilya 2014
    ISBN: 9781626193888
    Publication Date: 2014-04-08
    The war in 1864 -- The campaign begins -- June 1864 -- The Kennesaw line -- The Army of the Tennessee attacks -- The Army of the Cumberland attacks -- A failed assault -- On to the Chattahoochee -- "But the war goes steadily on."

    Cover Art
    Decision in the West: the Atlanta Campaign of 1864 - Albert Castel
    Call Number: 973.7 C348
    ISBN: 070060748X
    Publication Date: 1992-11-02
    Multiple copies available.

    Castel gives a full and balanced treatment to the operations of both the Union and Confederate armies from the perspective of the common soldiers as well as the top generals. He offers new accounts and analyses of many of the major events of the campaign, and, in the process, corrects many long-standing myths, misconceptions, and mistakes. In particular, he challenges the standard view of Sherman's performance.

    Cover Art
    Guide to the Atlanta Campaign: Rocky Face Ridge to Kennesaw Mountain (U.S. Army War College Guides to Civil War Battles) - Jay Luvaas (Editor); Harold W. Nelson (Editor)
    Call Number: 973.7371 G94614
    ISBN: 0700615709
    Publication Date: 2008-05-28
    Ch. 13 New Hope Church and the Dallas Line.
    Ch. 14 Pickett's Mill.
    Ch. 20 Kolb's Farm.
    "The Greatest Possible Importance: Sherman's Logistics in the Atlanta Campaign," - Jay Luvaas.

    Cover Art
    Advance and Retreat - John Bell Hood; Richard M. McMurry (Introduction by)
    Call Number: 973.73 H776
    ISBN: 0306805340
    Publication Date: 1993-08-22

    Cover Art
    Army of Tennessee - Stanley F. Horn; Albert Castel (Foreword by)
    Call Number: 973.742 H813
    ISBN: 0806125659
    Publication Date: 1993-09-15

    Cover Art
    Atlanta Will Fall: Sherman, Joe Johnston, and the Yankee heavy battalions - Stephen Davis
    Call Number: 973.7371 D264
    ISBN: 0842027882
    Publication Date: 2001-04-01
    Ch. 8 To New Hope Church and Back to the Railroad (Johnston is Turned, Again)

    Atlanta Campaign Staff Ride Briefing Book - Shanahan, Edward P.
    Call Number: 973.7378 S528
    Publication Date: October 2008
    USARC staff ride briefing book series. OCH Pub 1-2.

    Cover Art
    Atlas of the Civil War - James M. McPherson (Editor)
    Call Number: REF 973.7 A881
    ISBN: 0025790501
    Publication Date: 1994-10-01

    Cover Art
    Autumn of Glory: The Army of Tennessee, 1862-1865 - Thomas L. Connelly
    Call Number: 973.7 C752
    ISBN: 0807104450
    Publication Date: 1971-02-01

    Cover Art
    Battle Maps of the Civil War - Harold Holmquest
    Call Number: REF 973.70223 H747
    ISBN: 1881325466
    Publication Date: 2000-10-01

    Cover Art
    The Bonfire: The Siege and Burning of Atlanta - Marc Wortman; Anthony Heald (Narrated by)
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost Audiobook -- SSI Collection
    ISBN: 9781433279805
    Publication Date: 2012-01-01

    The Campaign for Atlanta and Sherman's March to the Sea - Theodore P. Savas (Editor); David A. Woodbury (Editor)
    Call Number: 973.7 C186
    ISBN: 1882810260
    Publication Date: 1995-03-01
    Vol. I and II. Essays on the American Civil War in Georgia, 1864.

    "The Forgotten 'Hell Hole': The Battle of Pickett's Mill," by Jeffrey Dean -- p. 343-373. Maps include: Phase I May 27, 1864; Phase II, May 27, 1864; Phase III, May 27, 1864; Phase IV, May 27, 1864.


    Two copies of available at SSI Library.

    Cover Art
    The Campaign for Atlanta and Sherman's March to the Sea, Volume 1 - Theodore P. Savas; David A. Woodbury
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection
    ISBN: 9781940669052
    Publication Date: 2013-09-25
    Essays on the 1864 Georgia Campaigns. Volume One.
    Chapters include: A Reappraisal of the Generalship of John Bell Hood in the Battles for Atlanta and
    Feeding Sherman’s Army: Union Logistics in the Campaign for Atlanta

    The Campaign for Atlanta - William R. Scaife
    Call Number: 973.7371 S278c
    ISBN: 0961950889
    Publication Date: 1993-01-01

    Cover Art
    The Civil War in Georgia - John C. Inscoe (Editor)
    Call Number: Online EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection
    ISBN: 9780820341385
    Publication Date: 2011-09-01
    Section 2 contains discussion of the Battle of Pickett's Mill and the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain. Contains discussions of military support, such as hospitals, industry and manufacturing.

    Cover Art
    Days of Glory: The Army of the Cumberland, 1861-1865 - Larry J. Daniel
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection
    ISBN: 9780807131916
    Publication Date: 2006-09-01
    Part 6 discusses the Emergence of General Thomas. See: 21. The Atlanta Campaign: "A Spirit of Jealousy." Book also discusses the battle of New Hope Church.

    Cover Art
    The Destructive War - Charles Royster
    Call Number: 973.7 R892
    ISBN: 0679738789
    Publication Date: 1993-01-11
    Ch. 7. The Battle of Kennesaw Mountain.

    Cover Art
    Echoes of Battle - Larry M. Strayer (Editor); Richard A. Baumgartner (Editor)
    Call Number: 973.7371 S913
    ISBN: 0962886602
    Publication Date: 1991-05-01

    Cover Art
    Fighting Joe Hooker - Walter H. Hebert; James A. Rawley (Introduction by)
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection.
    ISBN: 9780803273238
    Publication Date: 1999-10-01
    Chapter 20: The Atlanta Campaign.

    Cover Art
    John Bell Hood: The Rise, Fall, and Resurrection of a Confederate General - Stephen. M. Hood
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection
    ISBN: 9781611211405
    Publication Date: 2013-05-19

    Cover Art
    Joseph E. Johnston: a Civil War Biography - Craig L. Symonds
    Call Number: 973.73092 Symonds
    ISBN: 9780393311303
    Publication Date: 1994-06-17
    His feud with Jefferson Davis ensured the collapse of the Confederacy's western campaign in 1864 and made Johnston the focus of a political schism within the government.

    Cover Art
    Kennesaw Mountain June, 1864 - Richard A. Baumgartner
    Call Number: 973.738 B348
    ISBN: 1885033257
    Publication Date: 2000-03-01
    Multiple copies are available in the SSI Library.

    Cover Art
    Kennesaw Mountain: Sherman, Johnston, and the Atlanta Campaign - Earl J. Hess
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection 973.737 K2964
    ISBN: 9781469602110
    Publication Date: 2013-04-22
    Copies available online: audio-book and ebook in the SSI Library's EBSCOhost collection.

    Cover Art
    Marching Through Georgia - Lee B. Kennett
    Call Number: 973.7 K36
    ISBN: 0060168153
    Publication Date: 1995-02-01
    Treats the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain, see ch. 9, "The Battle."

    Cover Art
    Sherman Invades Georgia - John R. Scales
    Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection
    ISBN: 9781591148159
    Publication Date: 2006-09-01
    Chapters include: Organizations and Operations in Civil War; Combat Functions; Campaign and Styles of Warfare; Comparison and Analysis of Courses of Actions; Missions, Sherman's Considerations, Enemy Capabilities.

    Cover Art
    Sherman's Battle for Atlanta - Jacob D. Cox; Brooks D. Simpson (Introduction by)
    Call Number: 973.7378 C877
    ISBN: 030680588x
    Publication Date: 1994-08-22

    Cover Art
    Sherman's Horsemen: Union Cavalry Operations in the Atlanta Campaign - David Evans
    Call Number: 973.737 E92
    ISBN: 0253213193
    Publication Date: 1999-03-22

    Cover Art
    Sherman: a soldier's passion for order - John F. Marszalek
    Call Number: 973.73092 M374
    ISBN: 0809327856
    Publication Date: 2007-11-08

    Cover Art
    Sherman's March Atlanta to the Sea - Time-Life Books Editors (Editor)
    Call Number: 973.7378 N526
    ISBN: 0809448122
    Publication Date: 1999-05-01

    Cover Art
    Tennessee's Forgotten Warriors: Frank Cheatham and his Confederate Division - Christopher Losson
    Call Number: 973.7 L881
    ISBN: 0870496158
    Publication Date: 1990-02-01

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip