This is the "Home" page of the "Battle of Antietam and the Maryland Campaign, 1862" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Battle of Antietam and the Maryland Campaign, 1862  

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2015 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/antietam Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Professional Papers and Journal Articles

 

Print and Ebooks

For Ebooks -- EBSCOhost and EBRARY-- SSI Library Collection. Contact SSI Librarian for access options.

Center for Military History -- open access.

Cover Art
100 Decisive Battles: From Ancient Times to Present - Paul K. Davis
Call Number: 904.7 D263 Circulation Desk
ISBN: 0195143663
Publication Date: 2001-06-14
Each entry provides the name and date of the battle, the commanders, size of the opposing forces, casualties, battle plan, and military action.

American Military History - Office of the Chief of Military History
Call Number: 355.00973 A512 and Online -- Center for Military History
Publication Date: Center for Military History, 1989
"Lee invades Maryland." Provides a cogent and concise description of the battle, including organization, troop strength and casualties.

ONLINE ACCESS: Center for Military History.

Cover Art
American Military History: The United States Army and the Forging of a Nation, 1775-1917 - Richard Winship Stewart (Editor); Center of Military History (U.S. Army) Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: 355.00973 A512 and Online - Center for Military History
ISBN: 9780160723629
Publication Date: 2005-05-20
Just as the history of an active organization inevitably expands, so too has this new edition under the oversight of general editor Richard W. Stewart. Revised to reflect the challenging period of expanding roles and missions and of fundamental organizational change in the Army during the post-Vietnam years through the Global War on Terrorism, the resulting two volumes are highly readable and graphically handsome with many colorful maps and illustrations of period artwork and military artifacts that enhance the narrative. The first volume traces the evolution of the Army from its birth in 1775 to the eve of World War I, covering the concept of military history, the theory and practice of war, and the American military system with European roots. Those with an interest in learning about the Army and its campaigns will enjoy having and reading these visually pleasing and instructive volumes.

Cover Art
The Antietam Campaign - Gary W. Gallagher (Editor)
Call Number: 973.7336 A6297
ISBN: 9780807858943
Publication Date: 2008-02-25
The Maryland Campaign of September 1862 ranks among the most important military operations of the American Civil War. The climactic clash came on Septmber 17 at the battle of Antietam, where more than 23,000 men fell in teh single bloodiest day of the war. Approaching topics related to Lee's and McClellan's operations from a variety of perspectives, contributors to this volume explore questions of military leadership, strategy, and tactics; the performance of untried units; the ways in which the battle has been remembered.

Cover Art
Antietam Campaign - John Cannan
Call Number: 973.7336 C224
ISBN: 0938289365
Publication Date: 1994-06-21
John Cannan places the Civil War's single bloodiest day of battle in the broader context of grand strategy and command personality.

Antietam: the Photographic Essay of America's bloodiest day. - William A. Frassanito
Call Number: 779.997 F843
ISBN: 0684156598
Publication Date: 1978-01-01

Cover Art
Battle Chronicles of the Civil War - James M. McPherson (Editor); Richard Gottlieb (Editor)
Call Number: 973.73 B336, V.2
ISBN: 0029206618
Publication Date: 1989-12-01
Volume 2 describes the Battle of Antietam.
Civil War, 1861-1865 Campaigns.

Battle of Antietam: Staff Ride Guide. - Ted Ballard
Call Number: Online -- Center for Military History
Publication Date: 2006, 2008; 109 pages, maps, illustrations, further readings
The Battle of Antietam was a crucial turning point in the American Civil War. This staff ride guide examines the Maryland Campaign and Battle of Antietam, the bloodiest day in American history. On 17 September 1862, the Army of the Potomac met the Army of Northern Virginia on the rolling farmlands around Sharpsburg, Maryland. Ted Ballard has once again crafted a definitive battle guide drawing on the Official Records of the War of the Rebellion. Though neither the Union nor the Confederate side gained the decisive victory both desired, the battle provides many lessons in command and control, communications, intelligence, technology versus tactics, and the "fog of war."

ONLINE -- Center for Military History

Cover Art
The Battlefields of the Civil War - William C. Davis; Russ A. Pritchard (Assisted by)
Call Number: 973.7 D265 in Oversize and Reference
ISBN: 0806128828
Publication Date: 1996-10-15
The Battlefields of the Civil War tells the stories of thirteen of the most important battles, including First Manassas, Shiloh, Antietam, Vicksburg, Gettysburg, and the Wilderness. William C. Davis not only describes the events and outcomes of those great engagements, but also delves into the characters of the army commanders, revealing in many cases just how much their personalities influenced the actions of their subordinates - and ultimately the outcome of the battles themselves

Cover Art
Battles That Changed American History - Spencer C. Tucker
Call Number: ONLINE EBRARY SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781440828614
Publication Date: Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, 2014.
See chapter: Battle of Antietam

Cover Art
Bridge Building in Wartime: Colonel Wesley Brainerd's memoir of the 50th New York Volunteer Engineers / edited by Ed Malles. - Wesley Brainerd; Ed Malles (Editor)
Call Number: 973.7447 B814
ISBN: 0870499777
Publication Date: 1997-09-10
Personal narrative of the Civil War, including description of Antietam.

Campaigns of the Civil War. - Palfrey, F. W.
Call Number: 973.73 C186 v. 5
Publication Date: Broadfoot Pub. Co., 1989. original copyright Charles Scribner's, 1882.
volume 5. Antietam and Fredericksburg. Chapter III: Antietam.

Cover Art
From Cedar Mountain to Antietam - Edward J. Stackpole; Willaim C. Davis (Foreword by); D. Scott Hartwig (Commentaries by)
Call Number: 973.73 S775
ISBN: 0811724387
Publication Date: 1993-02-01

Cover Art
The Civil War - Stephen W. Sears (Editor)
Call Number: 973.78 .S42 2012
ISBN: 1598531441
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Robert E. Lee: Special Orders No. 191, September 9, 1862 -- George W. Smalley: Narrative of Antietam, September 17, 1862 -- Rufus R. Dawes: from Service with the Sixth Wisconsin Volunteers -- Alpheus S. Williams to Irene and Mary Williams, September 22, 1862 -- David L. Thompson: With Burnside at Antietam -- Samuel W. Fiske to the Springfield Republican, September 20, 1862 -- Clifton Johnson: from Battleground adventures -- Mary Bedinger Mitchell: A woman's recollections of Antietam.
George B. McClellan to Mary Ellen McClellan, September 20, 1862

Cover Art
Clouds of Glory: the Life and Legend of Robert E. Lee - Michael Korda
Call Number: 973.73092 Korda 2014 and Audio CD Audio CD 973.73092 Korda 2014
ISBN: 0062116290
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Michael Korda paints a vivid and admiring portrait of Lee as a brilliant general, a devoted family man, and principled gentleman who disliked slavery and disagreed with secession, yet who refused command of the Union Army in 1861 because he could not "draw his sword" against his beloved Virginia. Well-rounded and realistic, Clouds of Glory analyzes Lee's command during the Civil War and explores his responsibility for the fatal stalemate at Antietam, his defeat at Gettysburg (as well the many troubling controversies still surrounding it), and ultimately, his failed strategy for winning the war. As Korda shows, Lee's dignity, courage, leadership, and modesty made him a hero on both sides of the Mason-Dixon Line and a revered American icon who is recognized today as the nation's preeminent military leader

Cover Art
Commanding the Storm - John Richard Stephens
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780762782239
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
The Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) in the words of the following commanders: Longstreet, McClellan, Hood, Lee, Meade, Hooker,

Cover Art
Crossroads of Freedom - Antietam - James M. McPherson
Call Number: 973.7336 MCP 2002
ISBN: 0195135210
Publication Date: 2002-09-12
In this book, prize winning author James M. McPherson tells the story of the battle of Antietam - the turning point of the whole Civil War, and the bloodiest day in American history. In a concise narrative, McPherson takes readers through the events leading up to Antietam, and through the savage fighting of the battle itself. The final chapters will discuss the aftermath of the battle and why it truly was a pivotal moment in American history.

Cover Art
An Encyclopedia of Battles: Accounts of over 1,560 Battles from 1479 BC to the Present - David Eggenberger
Call Number: 904.7 E29
ISBN: 0486249131
Publication Date: 1985-09-01
Each entry includes dates, strategic situations, military leaders, troop numbers, tactics, casualties and military and political consequences of the battles.

Cover Art
Field Armies and Fortifications in the Civil WarL the Eastern campaigns, 1861-1864 - Earl J. Hess
Call Number: 973.73 Hess 2005
ISBN: 0807829315
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
See chapter: Second Manassas, Antietam, and the Maryland Campaign

"The eastern campaigns of the Civil War involved the widespread use of field fortifications, from Big Bethel and the Peninsula to Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Charleston, and Mine Run. While many of these fortifications were meant to last only as long as the battle and often were not detailed in official records, Earl J. Hess argues that their history is deeply significant. Even before the onset of trench warfare at the Wilderness in May 1864, the Civil War saw more use of fieldworks than did any previous conflict in Western history."

Cover Art
Fighting Joe Hooker - Walter H. Hebert; James A. Rawley (Introduction by)
Call Number: Online -- EBSCOhost -- SSI Collection
ISBN: 9780803273238
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
See Chapter 9, The Antietam.

Ebook available online from EBSCOhost SSI Collection.

Cover Art
The Gleam of Bayonets: the Battle of Antietam and Robert E. Lee's Maryland Campaign September 1862 - James V. Murfin; James I. Robertson (Introduction by); Scott Hartwig (Foreword by)
Call Number: 973.7336 M975
ISBN: 9780807130209
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
"The Maryland Campaign. . . was an event of high drama, full of twists and turns, triumph and tragedy, dramatic personalities, brave men, near disasters and great irony, such as might have been created by a writer of fiction. And it all took place over a period of sixteen days, from September 4 to September 20, 1862." From the Forward.

Cover Art
A Gunner in Lee's Army: the Civil War Letters of Thomas Henry Carter - by Thomas Henry Carter ; edited by Graham T. Dozier.
Call Number: Audio CD 973.782092 Carter 2014
ISBN: 9781483017778
Publication Date: Blackstone Audio, Inc., [2014]
During the war, Carter wrote more than one hundred revealing letters to his wife, Susan, about his service. His interactions with prominent officers--including Lee, Jubal A. Early, John B. Gordon, Robert E. Rodes, and others--come to life in Carter's astute comments about their conduct and personalities. Combining insightful observations on military operations, particularly of the Battles of Antietam and Spotsylvania Court House and the 1864 Shenandoah Valley Campaign, with revealing notes on the home front and the debate over the impressment and arming of slaves, Carter's letters are particularly interesting because his writing is not overly burdened by the rhetoric of the southern ruling class. Here, Graham Dozier offers the definitive edition of Carter's letters, meticulously transcribed and carefully annotated

Cover Art
Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam - Stephen W. Sears
Call Number: 973.7336 S439
ISBN: 0618344195
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
A definitive study of the climactic and pivotal battle of Antietam offers a vivid account of the two armies, the soldiers and officers, and the bitter, bloody campaign and analyzes the impact of Antietam on the Civil War as a whole.

Cover Art
Leadership and Command in the American Civil War - Steven E. Woodworth
Call Number: ONLINE EBSCOhost SSI Collection
ISBN: 9781940669076
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Retired Army officer Marion V. Armstrong reexamines the controversial command decisions made by Federal II Corps commander Maj. Gen. Edwin V. Sumner at Antietam, that led to the slaughter of one of his divisions in the West Woods and a series of bitter recriminations that echo to this day.

Cover Art
Lee's Terrible Swift Sword - Richard Wheeler
Call Number: 973.73 W564
ISBN: 0060166509
Publication Date: 1992-06-01
From Antietam to Chancellorville, this is an eyewitness account of the man himself, his ambitious and powerful successes against a poorly led foe which helped to promote an overconfidence that he could go North again, to Gettysburg, and win.

Cover Art
Lincoln and His Generals - T. Harry Williams
Call Number: 973.741 W727
ISBN: 9780307741967
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
See chapter: President Lincoln and General McClellan on Antietam Battlefield

Cover Art
Robert E. Lee's Civil War - Bevin Alexander
Call Number: 973.7 A374
ISBN: 155850849x
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
See chapter: Antietam

Examines the military genius of Robert E. Lee and evaluates the performances of the generals from the North and South, including the military strategies used in the Civil War.

Cover Art
The U. S. Army War College Guide to the Battle of Antietam - Jay Luvaas; Harold W. Nelson
Call Number: 973.7336 U84
ISBN: 0060971606
Publication Date: 1988-08-01
The fateful days of September 4 through September 19, 1862, marked one of the most critical moments in American history. To understand the battle of Antietam and the related battles of the Maryland Campaign, it is necessary to know the background conditions of both armies, the events preceding America's bloodiest day and the thought processes of the leaders of both armies.

Cover Art
The Warrior Generals: Combat Leadership in the Civil War - Thomas B. Buell
Call Number: 973.713 B928
ISBN: 0517595710
Publication Date: 1997-02-25
The Warrior Generals examines three pairs of generals from the Union and Confederacy, at three levels of command, each of whom met repeatedly in battle: Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee; George H. Thomas and John B. Hood; and Francis C. Barlow and John B. Gordon. Interweaving the stories of these six men, Buell creates a sweeping panorama of the Civil War. He argues that Union generals had the edge in strategic thinking, preparation, and the use of innovative tactics. In particular, he questions Lee's reputation as a military genius and suggests that Thomas, the "Rock of Chickamauga," was the greatest general in the war.

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip