Mission: The U.S. Army Soldier Support Institute Library promotes the instructional and professional development of the USASSI Soldiers, students, staff and faculty. The Library fully supports the SSI mission of building adaptive leaders and capabilities across the Human Resource and Finance Management domains; promotes research, intellectual inquiry and lifelong learning.
SSI Library extends use privileges to SSI and Fort Jackson Soldiers and Civilians. Common Access Card/Military ID is the library card for authorized patrons of the SSI Library.
WIFI: See librarian for password for WIFI. The WIFI is "free" (i.e., the government pays for it) to authorized patrons, but requires a password which the librarian puts on each device.
Patrons may check-out materials for 1 month period.
Renewals are granted for most materials.
Coffee: You may bring your coffee or tea in the library. Please use containers with lids. If coffee/tea is spilt, please let the librarian know, so the spill can be cleaned up promptly.
Dewey Decimal System: The Library uses the Dewey Decimal System for shelving classification. However, many required readings have been conveniently located on the professional reading list shelves; these titles include Staff Ride and Battle Analysis materials and US Army Chief of Staff and SSI Commander's reading lists.
Eating in the Library: Yes, patrons may eat and drink in the library; however patrons must take out whatever they carry in.
Interlibrary Loan services utilize OCLC for borrowing materials from other libraries. Borrowed materials must be returned promptly. ILL cannot be guaranteed as the holding institutions determine whether or not they will loan their materials. All ILL complies with federal copyright law.
Library Reservations: To reserve space in the library, please utilize SSI Sharepoint calendar, available on Executive Services Sharepoint page. The librarian approves space reservations through Sharepoint.
Professional Reading Programs: The library maintains print and ebook/audiobook copies of the Chief of Staff's Reading List (current year and prior) and the SSI Commander's reading lists.
Staff Ride/Battle Analysis Materials:
The SSI Library maintains multiple copies of specific resources to support Staff Rides and Battle Analyses for SSI and other Fort Jackson units. These resources include the Staff Historian's Staff Ride books, required readings and supplemental materials. Print materials may be checked out for the standard period (1 month) and renewed. Electronic editions may be located on SSI Library's Ebrary, EBSCOhost, and SharePoint sites.
The SSI Library's Sharepoint site offers selected full-text Army publications and oral history materials.
Check the Libguides or SSI Online Catalog for links and descriptions.
Special Collections, i.e. Soldier Support Institute, AG and Finance Historical Materials have been maintained to support historical studies, battle analyses, and reflect prior years studies from the schools at Fort Benjamin Harrison.
Contact the Staff Historian directly for access to his archives. Staff Historian's archives will not be released without his prior authorization.
Study Rooms: The library has 2 study rooms. Additionally the library offers space on both sides of the stacks where Soldiers may meet and collaborate. Talking is allowed in the library -- However, please be kind and remember your neighbor may be studying quietly too.
Online catalog and electronic resources
SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.
EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.
EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons
Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications
Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources : MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.
Books 24x7: Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.
Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.
Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.
DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.
Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.
Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.
MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.
Safari Ebooks: Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.
Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.
US Army Soldier Support Institute Library
10,000 Hampton Parkway
Fort Jackson, SC 29207-7050
Librarian Office: 803-751-8229
Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 800-1300; 1400-1700
Friday: 0800-1130; 1200-1600
Closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and Training and Federal Holidays.