This is the "Home" page of the "SSI Commander's 2017 Professional Reading Program " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SSI Commander's 2017 Professional Reading Program   Tags: professional reading program; cohesive teams; chief of staff's reading list  

To promote leader and organizational agility and the building of cohesive and durable teams by giving time to reading, critical thinking, and discussing themes common to the military profession.
Last Updated: Mar 22, 2017 URL: http://ssi.army.libguides.com/SSICommanders2017 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reading Program Texts -- Online options

SSI Library EBSCOhost database: http://search.ebscohost.com  -- available to SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Channel:  available to SSI authorized patrons on Fort Jackson.

Safari Books Online : available to DoD employees.

 

Cover Art
The Echo of Battle : the Army's Way of War - Brian McAllister Linn
Call Number: 355.033573 LINN
ISBN: 0674033523
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
'In the face of radically new ways of waging war, Brian Linn surveys the past assumptions and errors that underlie the army's many visions of warfare up to the present day. He explores the army's forgotten heritage of deterrence, its long experience with counter-guerrilla operations, and its successive efforts to transform itself." -- from the book jacket.

Cover Art
The Net Delusion : The Dark Side of Internet Freedom - Evgeny Morozov
ISBN: 9781586488758
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
Login to Safari Books Online. Register at site to access ebook copy.

Cover Art
The Psychological Effects of the Vietnam War - Josh Hochgesang, Tracye Lawyer, Toby Stevenson
From: Ethics of Development in a Global Environment (EDGE). War & Peace: Media and War.

 

Reading Progam Texts -- Print copies

Cover Art
Grey Eminence : Fox Conner and the art of mentorship - Edward Cox
Call Number: U53.C568 C69 2011
ISBN: 9781581072037
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
To those who have heard of him, Fox Conner's name is synonymous with mentorship. He is the "grey eminence" within the Army whose influence helped to shape the careers of George Patton, George Marshall, and most notably, President Eisenhower. Most of what is known about Conner comes from stories about his relationship with Eisenhower. Despite a distinguished military career that spanned four decades, Conner's life and his service to the Army and the nation are revealed primarily through passing references in the memoirs of other great men. A study of Conner's life and his method for identifying talented subordinates and developing them for future strategic leadership positions offers contemporary readers a highly salient example to emulate. This book combines existing scholarship with long-forgotten references and unpublished original sources to achieve a more comprehensive picture of this dedicated public servant. The portrait that emerges provides a four-step model for developing strategic leaders that still holds true today. First and foremost, Conner became a master of his craft through a process of personal and professional self-development as a lifelong learner. Second, he recognized and recruited talented subordinates. Third, he encouraged and challenged those protégés to develop their strengths and overcome their weaknesses. Finally, he wasn't afraid to break the rules of the organization to do it.

Cover Art
The Echo of Battle : the Army's Way of War - Brian McAllister Linn
Call Number: 355.033573 LINN
ISBN: 9780674026513
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
'In the face of radically new ways of waging war, Brian Linn surveys the past assumptions and errors that underlie the army's many visions of warfare up to the present day. He explores the army's forgotten heritage of deterrence, its long experience with counter-guerrilla operations, and its successive efforts to transform itself." -- from the book jacket.

Cover Art
The Net Delusion - Evgeny Morozov
Call Number: 303.48 Mor
ISBN: 9781610391061
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Argues that people must stop thinking of the Internet and social media as instant cures for repression, and asserts that, in some cases, these technological advances can even be used to threaten democracy.

Online catalog and electronic resources

SSI Library Catalog  

SSI Library Sharepoint site pages. Contact SSI Knowledge Manager for authentication to Sharepoint.

EBSCOhost SSI Collection: Ebooks; Audiobooks; Academic Search Complete available for SSI authorized patrons.

EBRARY SSI Collection: for SSI authorized patrons

Army Heritage & Education Center Digital Archive: Army historical images, bibliographies and historical military publications

Army Libraries Catalog and Online Resources :  MWR and Army consolidated library catalog, including research databases. Register at MWR libraries to access online resources.

Army Logistics University Library

Army Publishing Directorate:

Books 24x7:  Includes leadership and professional development titles. Army E-Learning access to ebooks and related content.

Center for Army Lessons Learned : Call Handbooks, Combat Studies Institute materials and Military Review journal articles.

Center for Military History: Unit History and Battle Analysis materials.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library

Doctrine Publications Search - CAC: Combined Arms Center

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center Professional papers, battle analyses, research reports, index to military literature.

Jane's Sentinels, news and security reports via Intelink.

Joint Electronic Library (DTIC): Joint Publications; Doctrine; Lessons Learned; Joint Force Quarterly journal.

MCoE HQ Donovan Research Library -- Research library online resources include bibliographies, battle analysis material, digital collections.

Open Source.gov

Safari Ebooks:  Register through AKO My Library or OpenSource. Safari offers a Safari to Go app that works with Android, Apple iOS and Blackberry devices.

U.S. Army Chaplain School and Center Library

Warrior Reference Library: from the Combined Arms Center.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip